Can't access internet outside exetel

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
phar4oh
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:44 am
Location: Perth

Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by phar4oh » Fri Nov 20, 2009 9:39 pm

Hi,

My ip address has changed, and now my internet is down. I logged a ticket but I just got told to check my PC settings.

This has happened to me before. I can ping and access the Exetel main page and forums but I can't ping or access any other site (Australian included)

Can you please fix it. This is the 2nd time Exetel has done this.

>Update from Exetel (emai)

"Please find that there is currently an on going network issue, and we are trying to fix it. It will be corrected probably be fixed by tomorrow"

....FYI in case anyone else is having problems... :|
Last edited by phar4oh on Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Grungast
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 11:47 am
Location: Perth

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by Grungast » Fri Nov 20, 2009 9:47 pm

Hi, I'm in the same situation as you. My IP was changed to 58.xx.xxx.xxx, now the only sites I can access are exetel ones.

Hami Erail
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Victoria

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by Hami Erail » Sat Nov 21, 2009 10:56 am

Can't access internet outside exetel

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by CoreyPlover » Sat Nov 21, 2009 2:46 pm

http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.ph ... 97#p262297 is another thread with similar issues to this one. I have bought both of these threads to the attention of Exetel engineers

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by CLoSeR » Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:12 pm

Suffering same issue for my connection on the Central Coast. Happened on the 17th, was fixed on the 18th.

Happened again lastnight.

Successfully connected to Exetel, authenticated. Unable to ping/access any internet sites. Traceroute from my Cisco Router stops at Exetel Network, tracing to my Exetel IP address from the Internet shows a routing loop is present.

Opened another helpdesk ticket ..

Code: Select all

avoca-1721>trace news.com.au
Translating "news.com.au"...domain server (220.233.0.3) [OK]

Type escape sequence to abort.
Tracing the route to news.com.au (165.69.10.27)

1 4.1.233.220.static.exetel.com.au (220.233.1.4) 32 msec 32 msec 28 msec
2 61.1.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.1.61) 28 msec 32 msec 28 msec
3 1.4.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.4.1) 32 msec 32 msec 32 msec
4 * * *
5 * * *
6 * * *
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *


avoca-1721>ping yahoo.com

Translating "yahoo.com"...domain server (220.233.0.4) (220.233.0.3) [OK]

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 69.147.114.224, timeout is 2 seconds:
.....
Success rate is 0 percent (0/5)
avoca-1721>ping 220.233.0.4

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 220.233.0.4, timeout is 2 seconds:
.....
Success rate is 0 percent (0/5)
avoca-1721>ping 220.233.0.3

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 220.233.0.3, timeout is 2 seconds:
!!!!!
Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 32/33/36 ms
avoca-1721>ping google.com

Translating "google.com"...domain server (220.233.0.3) [OK]

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 74.125.45.100, timeout is 2 seconds:
.....
Success rate is 0 percent (0/5)

Looking Glass Results - Trace to Exetel IP address from the Internet

Query: trace

Performing trace to 58.96.x.x...

1 FastEth8-1-0.sb1.optus.net.au (192.168.34.2) 3.381 ms 1.087 ms 0.972 ms
2 te3-3-3927.sg4.optus.net.au (61.88.241.255) 1.432 ms 1.205 ms 1.204 ms
3 te3-3-3927.sg4.optus.net.au (61.88.241.255) 1.243 ms 1.164 ms 1.179 ms
4 119.225.5.242 (119.225.5.242) 1.664 ms 1.570 ms 1.637 ms
5 2.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.2) 13.608 ms 13.524 ms 13.486 ms
6 4.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.4) 14.634 ms 14.868 ms 14.891 ms
7 1.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.1) 12.189 ms 12.334 ms 11.994 ms
8 2.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.2) 125.933 ms 24.495 ms 23.785 ms
9 4.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.4) 25.267 ms 25.284 ms 25.383 ms
10 1.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.1) 22.948 ms 22.493 ms 22.417 ms
11 2.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.2) 34.525 ms 34.327 ms 34.209 ms
12 4.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.4) 35.441 ms 35.437 ms 35.516 ms
13 1.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.1) 32.736 ms 32.868 ms 33.106 ms
14 2.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.2) 45.186 ms 45.131 ms 45.701 ms
15 4.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.4) 45.867 ms 46.249 ms 46.016 ms
16 1.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.1) 43.880 ms 144.596 ms 44.379 ms
17 2.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.2) 55.004 ms 55.586 ms 55.034 ms
18 4.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.2.4) 56.187 ms 56.781 ms 56.633 ms
Regards,

CLoSeR
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

doogie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Perth

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by doogie » Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:37 pm

I spoke with Himantha on the helpdesk number 1300 788 141 using a Telstra wireless usb and $20 worth of prepay and my x lite softphone.

I am now working. He tried to give me a new 56.xxxx ip address which did not work. I am now on the internet but notice that my ip address has been changed once again to 220.xxx number.

Maybe there is something wrong with the 56.xxx ip numbers.

Wanted to let other users know that at least one irritated exetel user has been fixed up. Fingers crossed it doesn't drop again.

I am seriously considering claiming a compensation from exetel billing for the cost of using the Telstra back up wireless usb in order to allow me to access the internet for work related actions. Not my fault but exetel's

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by jokiin » Sat Nov 21, 2009 4:56 pm

doogie wrote:
I am seriously considering claiming a compensation from exetel billing for the cost of using the Telstra back up wireless usb in order to allow me to access the internet for work related actions. Not my fault but exetel's
every reasonable effort is made to provide you with a working service and sometimes things can unfortunately go wrong but compensation isn't likely, when you make an average of $1 per month per service you can see how even something as small as $20 would make a customer non viable

kirkc
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:02 pm
Location: Perth

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by kirkc » Sat Nov 21, 2009 5:03 pm

Perhaps then as I mentioned in the other thread, Exetel could provide us with a "credit" against the balance sheet they use to determine whether or not we are profitable customers :P

Had there been some communication or notice from Exetel then I would not have pointlessly tied up their technical staff on & off all day yesterday (EDIT: some of whom insisted the problem must be at my end)...surely that would have helped their profitability...not to mention the almost full day I wasted. An email or a note on the faults page wouldn't cost much surely?

I understand, as I'm sure most others would, that unforseen problems will arise. What is difficult to understand is being kept in the dark.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by jokiin » Sat Nov 21, 2009 5:13 pm

kirkc wrote:Perhaps then as I mentioned in the other thread, Exetel could provide us with a "credit" against the balance sheet they use to determine whether or not we are profitable customers :P

Had there been some communication or notice from Exetel then I would not have pointlessly tied up their technical staff on & off all day yesterday (EDIT: some of whom insisted the problem must be at my end)...surely that would have helped their profitability...not to mention the almost full day I wasted. An email or a note on the faults page wouldn't cost much surely?

I understand, as I'm sure most others would, that unforseen problems will arise. What is difficult to understand is being kept in the dark.
I don't think the problems are system wide though so it may not have got to the stage where any kind of blanket notification was appropriate, my own connection and a bunch of services that I maintain which are spread across each of the connection types have all been unaffected, there may still be something in common amongst those that have been affected but it seems there are not too many so it may still be something that is under investigation

bdoorn
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:14 pm
Location: Armadale WA

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by bdoorn » Sat Nov 21, 2009 7:03 pm

I too am seemingly affected by the same issue. Everything was fine until I had to power down the modem (moving it to a different power point).

On restarting the modem I got the new IP address and now I can only access Exetel and occasionally my facebook "home" page. Can't collect mail (except from Exetel) or even go to sites like Google or yahoo.

I have always had my modem set to "Dynamic IP" but even when I change it to the new IP address (58.x.x.x) there's no difference.

Does not appear to be a DNS issue as ping does translate the addresses. It just goes nowhere (100% packet loss).

I did not make any changes to my modem settings before it all went silent and (obviously) my ADSL line is working. I just can't connect outside of the Exetel network...

Very frustrating and disappointing.

NoeIdea
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:39 pm
Location: West Aust.

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by NoeIdea » Sat Nov 21, 2009 8:25 pm

Having similar issue here in W.A. just got new connection with Exetel & can't visit any pages other than Exetel ones.
We have a 58.xx.xxx.xxx IP, I haven't put in a ticket but I did call & report a fault on the 1300 number.
Also I sent a whim on Whirlpool, to one of the Exetel reps there ( MartinV ), explaining my situation.

*EDIT* After reading the post above mine, I have found that I can get to my Facebook home page also but not to any Facebook apps. or any links from there.
Last edited by NoeIdea on Sat Nov 21, 2009 8:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

bdoorn
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:14 pm
Location: Armadale WA

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by bdoorn » Sat Nov 21, 2009 8:37 pm

I raised a support ticket. Exetel made some changes to my service and I rebooted my modem. All appears to be well now.

P.S. I too am in WA.

NoeIdea
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:39 pm
Location: West Aust.

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by NoeIdea » Sat Nov 21, 2009 8:52 pm

bdoorn wrote:I raised a support ticket. Exetel made some changes to my service and I rebooted my modem. All appears to be well now.

P.S. I too am in WA.
How long was it before you were contacted & was it by email or how?

bdoorn
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:14 pm
Location: Armadale WA

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by bdoorn » Sat Nov 21, 2009 9:07 pm

I did not time it but probably less than an hour?

Raised the support ticket online and saw the reply online.

NoeIdea
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:39 pm
Location: West Aust.

Re: Can't access internet outside exetel

Post by NoeIdea » Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:47 pm

Ok so I put a ticket in & a reply & fix was fast but instead of helping, it made my problem worse.
Now I cant access even the Exetel pages that I could before the fix was made.
I power cycled my router for about 8hrs, so that is unlikely to be the problem.
There is something at Exetel's end preventing me from getting to the internet still, I believe.

Post Reply