how can i improve my speeds

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
Post Reply
trev12
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:45 pm
Location: geelong

how can i improve my speeds

Post by trev12 » Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:41 am

i just did a check to see how far away from the exchange i am. it said i was 2.8 k away which mean by the graph provided by exetel i should be getting 5000 . at the moment im getting 3.5 the highest i can get i know it only a rough setting for the distance but at the speed im getting it more like 3.4 3.6 surely it wouldnt be that much differnce .by the grap i should at lease be getting 4500 speed .so what should i do here is my infro

Line Mode ADSL2 Line State Show Time
Line Power State L0 Line Up Time 00:01:56:52
Line Coding Trellis On Line Up Count 1

Statistics Downstream Upstream
Line Rate 3836 Kbps 614 Kbps
Attainable Line Rate 4644 Kbps 648 Kbps
Noise Margin 12.3 dB 12.8 dB
Line Attenuation 55.5 dB 33.0 dB
Output Power 0.0 dBm 13.0 dBm

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: how can i improve my speeds

Post by Dazzled » Fri Feb 19, 2010 7:07 am

2.8 km is probably as crows fly, rather than as cable runs along footpaths. On the assumption of a roughly grid-like urban street pattern, you might be looking at a run length of about 3.9 km. This is consistent with an attenuation in the 50s and the attainable rate. Some increase would come from lowering the noise margin but I wouldn't risk the drop outs myself. At 55 dB, ADSL2 is about price, not speed.

I just checked my own place in http://www.adsl2exchanges.com.au/. It got the crows' distance correct, but was short by a huge margin on the estimated cable length. Round here the cables travel on the old ridge-top roads with spurs into the various subdivisions. This reflects the way subdivisions were made a century+ ago, separated by deep gullies and purely nominal roads on paper, crossing cliffs.

trev12
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:45 pm
Location: geelong

Re: how can i improve my speeds

Post by trev12 » Fri Feb 19, 2010 8:57 am

how can u say it about price yes it the old day i agree but look at i now asdl 1 $85.00 No Limit = Unlimited No Limit = Unlimited

$50.00 70 gbytes + $0.50/GB thereafter 60 gbytes + $0.50/GB thereafter
admitly its 35 ,ore but u get unlimted

jubba
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: how can i improve my speeds

Post by jubba » Fri Feb 19, 2010 9:09 am

Have you tried an isolation test?
If you see a improvement in speed with isolation test it may be worth considering changing your filter.

trev12
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:45 pm
Location: geelong

Re: how can i improve my speeds

Post by trev12 » Fri Feb 19, 2010 9:22 am

its a brand new modem and fliter i just got it 2 weeks ago from exetel

jubba
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: how can i improve my speeds

Post by jubba » Fri Feb 19, 2010 9:26 am

hmm. there's probably nothing wrong with the filter.

But its worth to try an isolation test to see if you can get higher speeds. You don't have disconnect phone lines too long. Just around 10min. Disconnect phones, reset modem and see what sync you get, and post your sync/attenuation stats here. :)

Post Reply