Page 1 of 1

ADSL1 To ADSL2 Offer

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:14 pm
by linuxlover
We have been on an ADSL1 plan for a while. We have often checked to see if we are able to have ADSL2 and consistently it indicates that we cannot.
However we have now received an email from Exetel pressing us to upgrade to ADSL2. The offer and suggestion would be good, however when we check, we still find that we do not have ADSL2 available to us. :?

Re: Hollow ADSL2 offer

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:17 pm
by jokiin
I think you'll find an upgrade offer has gone out to those that are on certain ADSL1 plans, it would still be subject to ADSL2 availability which the system can't determine on an individual basis for users of those plans, I think this is the case but will ask someone to confirm

Re: Hollow ADSL2 offer

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:24 pm
by lloong
Hi James, got this today. Is this legit?

You have been using an Exetel ADSL1 service for some time now and although your initial service contract period has expired you have elected to stay with Exetel as your broadband provider for which we thank you.

As an appreciation of our thanks we would like to make the following offer to you:

1. Upgrade your current ADSL1 service to an ADSL2 service of your choice at zero activation cost.

2. No new contract period - you can cancel the service with Exetel at any time

3. A $50.00 credit on your first ADSL2 bill

4. Your phone number doesn't change - but your call costs will almost certainly be much lower

ADSL2 is significantly faster than ADSL1 and because it isn't dependent on buying services from Telstra you usually get much more for your money. To see what plans are available to you please go to the Exetel User Facilities and select:

https://www.exetel.com.au/members/chang ... e_plan.php

If you decide to take up this offer simply order the ADSL2 plan of your choice from the order form you will find in the change plan function - change over will take an average of 10 working days.

This offer is valid for applications received up to 12 midnight on March 31st.

Kind Regards

Exetel Provisioning

Thanks.

Re: ADSL1 To ADSL2 Offer

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:34 pm
by lloong
Hi linuxlover, did you end up applying through exetel?

Re: ADSL1 To ADSL2 Offer

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:37 pm
by ForumAdmin
If you are on a RIM then Exetel cannot provide ADSL2.

Re: ADSL1 To ADSL2 Offer

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:37 pm
by linuxlover
Why should I apply if it is not really available?

Re: ADSL1 To ADSL2 Offer

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:43 pm
by lloong
Dunno why, somehow words like rim, sub-exchange make my blood boils.
Guess ADSl2 is out for me as long as I live here in North Lakes. QLD.
Time to pack up.

Re: ADSL1 To ADSL2 Offer

Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:41 pm
by TheBenjiManCan
I'm one of the lucky ones. :)
For a long time now, my local exchange has been Fully Utilised for Optus ADSL2. After receiving Exetel's email, I checked adsl2exchanges website, and Wow .... about 4 days ago the status for Optus changed back to Active ! .........although I won't count my chickens before they've hatched. I've been disappointed before.

But before I apply, I am curious about something.
I will want to port my PSTN # to VOIP in the process.
But under my existing ADSL1 service, I already have a VOIP number.
Shall I cancel that VOIP # BEFORE I apply for this ADSL2+ changeover ?

Re: ADSL1 To ADSL2 Offer

Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 10:01 pm
by Dazzled
TheBenjiManCan, porting PSTN to VoIP is obviously for naked services only, but unfortunately takes a while, as Telstra is involved. On the other hand your existing VoIP service will still exist on the day when the ADSL1 turns into ADSL2, and will be usable while you wait for porting. When you find that you have two VoIP accounts (ie, porting complete), cancel the old DID and reconfigure your ATA.

Re: ADSL1 To ADSL2 Offer

Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 10:17 pm
by TheBenjiManCan
Yeah. That makes sense.
I just had some recollection that users got slugged the moment a 2nd VOIP # was added to the account ???

But the way you describe the transition process, it'd be worth a couple of $ to ensure I can still make outgoing calls whilst it all gets sorted out.
Thanks.

Re: ADSL1 To ADSL2 Offer

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:34 pm
by linuxlover
:shock: :oops: :o Our service is now being shown as being ADSL2 available too.
I guess it is time to reconsider.

Re: ADSL1 To ADSL2 Offer

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:54 pm
by linuxlover
I wonder what has happened, when i follow the link in the email, it only offers ADSL1 now, yet the email indicated that the ADSL2 offer was available till the end of March.
:? :?

Re: ADSL1 To ADSL2 Offer

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:24 pm
by CoreyPlover
linuxlover wrote:I wonder what has happened, when i follow the link in the email, it only offers ADSL1 now, yet the email indicated that the ADSL2 offer was available till the end of March.
:? :?
If it was just the email that said ADSL2+ was available, then likely it was issued in error. Emails like that are subject to ADSL2+ availability based on exchange infrastructure