Packet loss

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
Murphy09
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:37 pm

Re: Packet loss

Post by Murphy09 » Sun Apr 04, 2010 4:19 pm

Yep, I have raised a ticket. I will message you the ticket number.

I'm not sure if this is affecting all PowerTel users. Somehow I doubt it otherwise more noise would have been made. But there are definitely PowerTel users from all over the country that have the same problem.
Moved onto greener pastures

vert02
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:18 am

Re: Packet loss

Post by vert02 » Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:27 pm

Image

powertel glebe exchange ~11pm.

not uncommon from about 7:30pm+

Murphy09
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:37 pm

Re: Packet loss

Post by Murphy09 » Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:08 pm

See that 2nd hop in your screenshot (220.233.1.193), that is the culprit for me also! I imagine it is the PowerTel backhaul from their aggregation point to Exetel's network. It chokes whenever the network gets busy and starts dropping packets, and we can't even make it past that IP address reliably.
Moved onto greener pastures

zebra3
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 3:29 pm
Location: Magrathea

Re: Packet loss

Post by zebra3 » Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:25 pm

From some posts I can see that there maybe an issue with dropped packets on the Powertel? metwork.

My experience is that I seem to be averaging about 10% packet loss to the first hop (220.233.1.193) and that my service is starting to become almost unusable since I do a lot of VPN and SSH connections that time out at the most annoying times.

I have also noticed that at approximately 0630 to 0700 most mornings (more often than not), my router disconnects and wuill reconnect to the radius server (this also shows in the User Facility area). Too bad I can't see when this particular problem started by looking at MY logs.

I'm sure that a few weeks ago the Radius server was saying 'aapt' but now it says connecting via iiNet. ":sclarbras08.connect.com.au:PEER:IINT: iiNet PPPoE/oA -BADSL".

Before I log a support ticket, I'm going through line isolation tests whilst monitoring the situation using PingPlotter

I'm at the Sylvania NSW exchange (BYO Plan) with a good SNR good modem connection speed, but with lousy throughput, running a MTU of 1400 on the Router
Has the 'Big Zee' finally flipped?

Murphy09
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:37 pm

Re: Packet loss

Post by Murphy09 » Tue Apr 06, 2010 7:04 pm

zebra3 wrote:my service is starting to become almost unusable since I do a lot of VPN and SSH connections that time out at the most annoying times.
Members in my household were asking why the VOIP phone wasn't working well today. They were making overseas phone calls at 11am. I just looked at my packet loss stats and there was 15% packet loss all morning till midday (thanks to school holidays and inadequate provisioning) so basically told them our ISP (Exetel) was to blame. Harsh but a reality I think. We NEVER had these problems with Optus cable. Exetel I hope you are listening. :roll:
Moved onto greener pastures

Murphy09
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:37 pm

Re: Packet loss

Post by Murphy09 » Wed Apr 14, 2010 11:19 pm

zebra3 wrote:Before I log a support ticket...
Did you make any progress with this? I'm still getting the packet loss during evenings, weekend mornings, etc, i.e. all the usual "busy" times. Exetel support has been contacted many times but has failed to provide any serious response on this matter. As far as I'm concerned either their support is either really hopeless or trying to cover up something about this issue. No one has been able to get a response out of them via using mail, tickets or this forum despite it being quite widespread (for PowerTel/BYO users anyway).
Moved onto greener pastures

Rex Nebular
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Packet loss

Post by Rex Nebular » Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm

Getting packet loss today.

Ping statistics for 220.233.0.9:
Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 18, Lost = 2 (10% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 39ms, Maximum = 41ms, Average = 40ms

Tracing route to candlenut-web.exetel.com.au [220.233.0.9]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * 29 ms 46 ms 66.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.2.66]
4 * 39 ms 39 ms 1.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.2.1]
5 41 ms 40 ms 40 ms 182.31.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.31.182]

6 39 ms 40 ms 40 ms candlenut-web.exetel.com.au [220.233.0.9]

Trace complete.

Murphy09
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:37 pm

Re: Packet loss

Post by Murphy09 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:32 pm

Same problem here! I don't usually get packet loss this early in the evening, it's not even the busiest period yet. Things must be really under provisioned. :(

Ping statistics for 220.233.0.9:
Packets: Sent = 32, Received = 26, Lost = 6 (18% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 27ms, Maximum = 74ms, Average = 38ms

Edit: Rex have you raised a ticket!! I can't believe how hopeless Exetel support are... time to take it to the next level I think.
Moved onto greener pastures

Rex Nebular
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Packet loss

Post by Rex Nebular » Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:48 pm

I wonder if this has anything to do with VIC packet loss today: http://www.news.com.au/breaking-news/se ... 5856091612

jubba
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Packet loss

Post by jubba » Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:02 pm

i'm getting no packet loss. So may be local exchange thing this time around.

Murphy09
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:37 pm

Re: Packet loss

Post by Murphy09 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:17 pm

jubba wrote:i'm getting no packet loss. So may be local exchange thing this time around.
I noticed the problem an hour before I made that post, but it went away pretty much straight away after. So I'm not getting it anymore either. Weird occurrence.
Moved onto greener pastures

Rex Nebular
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Packet loss

Post by Rex Nebular » Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:30 pm

It's gone here too.

jubba
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Packet loss

Post by jubba » Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:34 pm

Murphy09 wrote:I noticed the problem an hour before I made that post, but it went away pretty much straight away after. So I'm not getting it anymore either. Weird occurrence.
that explains why i didn't notice. But anyway i'm getting packet loss now, which im pretty sure is related to congestion at the link. :(

Murphy09
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:37 pm

Re: Packet loss

Post by Murphy09 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 10:47 pm

jubba wrote:that explains why i didn't notice. But anyway i'm getting packet loss now, which im pretty sure is related to congestion at the link. :(
I'm getting some packet loss now as well.

Exetel increased their quotas today and I commented in another thread that some of us just want the congestion to go away rather than getting all-you-can-eat style "broadband". Anyway the moderator didn't take it too well and thought by censoring my post that he could cover up this issue that is so widespread on this own forum and on Whirlpool:

http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.ph ... 90#p273621

What a funny attitude. "Pointless, plain wrong nonsense." ....then why is there so many threads and posts on this "nonsense" oh moderator?
Moved onto greener pastures

Post Reply