Page 2 of 4

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:43 am
by kingr
Still no connectivity outside of the exetel network here. Changing DNS hasn't helped either. news.com.au works because its using akamai which is a service exetel host. From the graphs, something happened at 8am NSW time and has been slowly ramping back up. It's not a DNS issue for me.

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:49 am
by kushil
kushil wrote:Same here
No internet to google.com.au or most sites
but exetel and news.com.au works fine
i fish a DNS server stuff up of some kind
Local South Brisbane - Tingalpa

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:51 am
by Mandella
Same @ Buderim, Sunshine Coast

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:06 pm
by Mandella
Changed dns to google's 8.8.8.8 and all works well. Must be an Exetel dns issue.

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:10 pm
by RVining
I have just logged a fault with Exetel support. I spoke with Janaka who was unaware of any issues that should be causing this, and he said that he would speak with a network technician about it. As I type this, my connectivity has returned. He called me back to confirm whether my service was restored. Excellent service, i suggest any of you still having this problem email residentialsupport@exetel.com.au or call their support number if your email is not working.

Nice work Exetel.

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:12 pm
by brucejs
Same problem here, Brisbane northside...

Is there any word from Exetel on the problem? The network status page doesn't show any "Known issues".

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:23 pm
by Shonky
Mine only started working after restarting the PPP connection on my firewall/server. So I'd suggest a restart or power cycle of your modem or whatever is doing the PPPoE side of your connection.

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:32 pm
by craigj
Still not working here, also Southside Brisbane.

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:33 pm
by kushil
OK called the support number
Nice Sri lankan dude on the line and he did something in there end and i started the Modem
presto...... everything is working again
i did mention lot of people in Brisbane having the same issue
Might want to give them a ring....

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:35 pm
by Mandella
All good now @ Buderim.

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:39 pm
by brucejs
Rang Exetel support line. They had me turn the modem off, did some magic at their end and I've just turned it back on and its working again now. Thanks Exetel :-)

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 1:18 pm
by bathuu
Service support line calling option finally gives a result. Like a guy posted above some nice Sri Lankan guy has resetted my port at their server and I got my connection back. Wow. Eventually!!! :D
So whoever is having problem don't just wait to get fixed problem, grab your phone and start calling the number below.
Phone (National): 1300 788 141 (This is an Exetel VoIP number so Exetel VoIP users can call at no charge)
http://www.exetel.com.au/contact.php

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 2:55 pm
by craigj
My Exetel VoIP doesn't work, I guess because of other internet problems :( Can't ring them up that way... but trying to email them...

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 3:12 pm
by craigj
I just emailed residentialsupport@exetel.com.au and they got back to me within about 15 minutes. They reset my port, and seems like I'm online again. Yay! :D

Re: No internet except Exetel? (BNE)

Posted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:50 am
by whynonet
Yes, I am on the same service naked ADSL2+. No access or intermitent access to sites external to Exetel. I have had no Internet access from Friday onwards. No response from Exetel. After investigating it seems to be asymetric routing issues. Notice return traffic is not being routed correctly.