1500/256 to 3810/740 speed increased? random increase?

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
Post Reply
majorlol
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 11:36 am
Location: nsw

1500/256 to 3810/740 speed increased? random increase?

Post by majorlol » Sun May 30, 2010 12:36 pm

Hey guys, I'm here to discuss about the random increase of my net.. okay right I am with a plan that is only suppose to download at 1500 and upload rate at 256. But last night I noticed my net speed increased dramatically.. double the amount? I done a test at speedtest.net and received a whooping increase of 3810/740, then I realized this isn't my net is it ? I am with the old plan TELJ, which is $55 per month and Peak Download Limit of 20GB. Oh by the way i also went over the 20GB limit by an extra 4.33GB, I am presuming this is the cause? I don't know? So if anyone knows the issue why my internet speed increase, please post :D

Cheers, Dan

oh by the way here's the test results:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/830385545.png

sable
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 9:28 am
Location: NSW

Re: 1500/256 to 3810/740 speed increased? random increase?

Post by sable » Sun May 30, 2010 1:41 pm

You have probably been migrated to ADSL2+ on AAPT infrastructure.

This has been done at no cost to you and you can remain on the plan structure and price you were on (high price as on ADSL1 Telstra Wholesale based plans) or change to any ADSL2 BYO plan as listed in your Members facility/Manage Services ADSL/Change my service.

You will find these plans will be cheaper. see ADSL2 (No telephone)

I suggest you make the change now so that it takes effect from 1 Jun

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: 1500/256 to 3810/740 speed increased? random increase?

Post by CoreyPlover » Mon May 31, 2010 1:07 pm

It is cheaper for Exetel to provide you with Powertel based ADSL2+ than Telstra based ADSL1, so they would have migrated you for free whilst retaining your TELJ pricing structure. This way everybody wins (except Telstra, yay)
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

Infusion
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 12:08 am

Re: 1500/256 to 3810/740 speed increased? random increase?

Post by Infusion » Tue Jun 01, 2010 8:13 am

Appears the same thing has happened to me.

Will I incur plan change fees and contract restart if I plan change to one of the ADSL2+ BYO plans?

sable
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 9:28 am
Location: NSW

Re: 1500/256 to 3810/740 speed increased? random increase?

Post by sable » Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:06 am

Yes to plan change fee, as far as I am aware No to new contract, if you go to change your plan it should tell you as part of the acceptance.

I don't think the BYO plans are available to you any more, check in your members facility. The new plans are designated AAx.

Mike G
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:26 am
Location: Sydney

Re: 1500/256 to 3810/740 speed increased? random increase?

Post by Mike G » Wed Jun 02, 2010 4:06 pm

Looks like I have the same 'problem', my question would be whether this is my full speed adsl2 or is it shaped?

Mike G

sable
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 9:28 am
Location: NSW

Re: 1500/256 to 3810/740 speed increased? random increase?

Post by sable » Wed Jun 02, 2010 8:39 pm

Mike G wrote:Looks like I have the same 'problem', my question would be whether this is my full speed adsl2 or is it shaped?

Mike G
You have been migrated to ADSL2 and the speed is whatever you get within the parameters of ADSL2, ie it is dependant on the line quality and distance from the exchange.

You are still on the plan that you were on before the migration took place.

You can choose to change your plan to a current AAx plan at any time and the change will take effect at the beginning of the next month. If you selected shaping on your existing plan it stays with you until you request it be removed.

Post Reply