ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
kjd
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:55 pm

ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by kjd » Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:34 pm

G'day everyone,

Just got switched over to ADSL 2+

Getting
DownStream Connection Speed 7298 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed 1020 kbps

Which I thought 7.2mb was a bit slow as I'm only 1.5km from exchange.

I also ran speedtest.net and got this:
Image
Which is way slower than the downstream connection speed.

So I am assuming I have something not set correctly with my modem:
Netgear DGN2000
Multiplex Method: LLC-Based
VPI 8
VCI 35
PPOA (PPP over ATM)
I also power cycled my modem

Can anyone see something that is clearly wrong? or is there a tweak I can do?
Thanks.

kjd
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:55 pm

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by kjd » Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:48 pm

Did another powercycle and it came up better:
DownStream Connection Speed 12879 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed 1020 kbps

That said I cannot download any faster than 1.3mbps (bits not bytes)

Anthonyeveritt
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: Tea Gardens

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by Anthonyeveritt » Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:55 pm

Kjd,

I have the same problem here!!

I have tried everything as far as new modems, filters etc.

My modem syncs at 24000/1020~ish and my downloads are no better than adsl 1 speeds.

Uploads seem to be on par for ADSL2+.

Im thinking that Telstra is doing something wrong when setting them up.

Just logged a fault with exetel this morning

Will let you know how I go.

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:56 pm

What speed do you get if you try a few actual downloads rather than a speedtest site? For example, 2-3 concurrent downloads from microsoft.com
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

kjd
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:55 pm

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by kjd » Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:58 pm

Thanks Anthony, will be interesting to see if we can sort this out.

Anthonyeveritt
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: Tea Gardens

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by Anthonyeveritt » Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:02 pm

kjd,

Does your account page still show all of your old account details etc??

Mine still does.

I wonder if that has any links to how exetel allocate bandwidth etc??

Hmmm curious

Anthony

kjd
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:55 pm

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by kjd » Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:07 pm

CoreyPlover wrote:What speed do you get if you try a few actual downloads rather than a speedtest site? For example, 2-3 concurrent downloads from microsoft.com
3 files from http://mirror.exetel.com.au/pub/gentoo/ ... rrent-iso/
added up to about 170kb/s

kjd
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:55 pm

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by kjd » Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:09 pm

Anthony,

It still says PENDING but my syncs are at far greater speeds,

I've been told by Jason M to check QoS in my router which I did and nothing was enabled, he also said to try a 15min powercycle of the modem which I'm about to try right now. See you in 15-20mins.

kjd
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:55 pm

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by kjd » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:05 pm

A 15 min powecycle seemed to do the trick:

Image
Thanks everyone Anthony give it a go.

Anthonyeveritt
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: Tea Gardens

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by Anthonyeveritt » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:10 pm

Yeah,

I can remember when telstra had 256, 512 & 1500 plans, all modems would sync at 1500 down stream but would only download at the users plan speed.the upstream rate was always accurate though.

You could always tell a user plan by looking at the upstream link speed e.g 1500/128 would equal a 512 connection and 1500/64 would equal a 256 connection. It was obviously telstras accounts system that was determining the downstream bandwidth

Anthony

Anthonyeveritt
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: Tea Gardens

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by Anthonyeveritt » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:13 pm

Kjd,

Just finished my short novel of a post :D

Just saw your results!! :)

I am currently stuck at work until 5pm :(

I now remember that trick , it resets the port at the exchange I believe.

Will try it the second I get home

Anthony

Anthonyeveritt
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: Tea Gardens

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by Anthonyeveritt » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:16 pm

Interesting that exetels standard "have you checked this this & thins email" doesn't mention that
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your e-mail.

In order to investigate the slow speed issue effectively could you please let us know whether you are accessing the connection wirelessly? If so could please connect it through an Ethernet cable and re-run the test: www.exetel.com.au/speed

If the speed hasn’t improved into acceptable limits the next thing we could do is to log this case with the supplier. A technician is required to attend and check the exchange up to your property for further investigation. There is however a charge of $110.00 if they deemed that there is nothing wrong with in the infrastructure. However if our supplier find’s that there is a problem with the infrastructure then the problem would rectified and there are no charges.

If you feel that you’ve gone through all the necessary testing and wish to have a technician attend the matter please fill in the template below:

Modem tried on another line or Alternative Modem Tried: Yes / No
Length of cable between modem and telephone wall socket:  Less than 2m only
Foxtel Installed: Yes / No
Back to base Alarm Installed: Yes / No
Completed Isolation test : Yes / No
(all devices removed from all sockets within the premises, and the modem connected to the first socket, using a 1 - 2m cable)
Sync Speed of Modem when Isolated (as above): (Refer to modem manual to obtain this).

Speeds received from http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/: (is this close to sync speed)
Customer uses P2P: Yes/ No
Speeds received when testing the computer to modem only, with wireless disabled: (Check http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/)
Computer free of Viruses / P2P: Yes / No
Are usage graphs topping out when speeds are slow (check https://www.exetel.com.au/members/a_network.php ): Yes / No

Oh well will see when I get home

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by Dazzled » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:07 pm

Anthonyeveritt, it's one of those things that broadband users are often just assumed to know..... When your modem is switched off for about 20 minutes, it's long enough to be noticed by the periodic check that is made in the exchange, and the DSLAM will be reset. When your modem comes back up it negotiates afresh with the reset DSLAM. This is sometimes all that is needed when trouble occurs.

Anthonyeveritt
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: Tea Gardens

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by Anthonyeveritt » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:12 pm

Dazzle,

Yeah just my own stupid fault :D

I make this recommendation times a day!!! Can't believe I forgot it.

Must be a sign of old age ( say this while im only 22) ;).

I only mention it for the more Non technically inclined.

One must always applaud exetels back up support

Thanks for the reply.

Anthony

Anthonyeveritt
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: Tea Gardens

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Post by Anthonyeveritt » Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:23 pm

Well got home from movies and after 3 hours of the modem and phone being unplugged............

Image

still crap!

heres hoping Telstra finds the problem

Post Reply