Page 1 of 2

ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:34 pm
by kjd
G'day everyone,

Just got switched over to ADSL 2+

Getting
DownStream Connection Speed 7298 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed 1020 kbps

Which I thought 7.2mb was a bit slow as I'm only 1.5km from exchange.

I also ran speedtest.net and got this:
Image
Which is way slower than the downstream connection speed.

So I am assuming I have something not set correctly with my modem:
Netgear DGN2000
Multiplex Method: LLC-Based
VPI 8
VCI 35
PPOA (PPP over ATM)
I also power cycled my modem

Can anyone see something that is clearly wrong? or is there a tweak I can do?
Thanks.

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:48 pm
by kjd
Did another powercycle and it came up better:
DownStream Connection Speed 12879 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed 1020 kbps

That said I cannot download any faster than 1.3mbps (bits not bytes)

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:55 pm
by Anthonyeveritt
Kjd,

I have the same problem here!!

I have tried everything as far as new modems, filters etc.

My modem syncs at 24000/1020~ish and my downloads are no better than adsl 1 speeds.

Uploads seem to be on par for ADSL2+.

Im thinking that Telstra is doing something wrong when setting them up.

Just logged a fault with exetel this morning

Will let you know how I go.

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:56 pm
by CoreyPlover
What speed do you get if you try a few actual downloads rather than a speedtest site? For example, 2-3 concurrent downloads from microsoft.com

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:58 pm
by kjd
Thanks Anthony, will be interesting to see if we can sort this out.

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:02 pm
by Anthonyeveritt
kjd,

Does your account page still show all of your old account details etc??

Mine still does.

I wonder if that has any links to how exetel allocate bandwidth etc??

Hmmm curious

Anthony

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:07 pm
by kjd
CoreyPlover wrote:What speed do you get if you try a few actual downloads rather than a speedtest site? For example, 2-3 concurrent downloads from microsoft.com
3 files from http://mirror.exetel.com.au/pub/gentoo/ ... rrent-iso/
added up to about 170kb/s

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:09 pm
by kjd
Anthony,

It still says PENDING but my syncs are at far greater speeds,

I've been told by Jason M to check QoS in my router which I did and nothing was enabled, he also said to try a 15min powercycle of the modem which I'm about to try right now. See you in 15-20mins.

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:05 pm
by kjd
A 15 min powecycle seemed to do the trick:

Image
Thanks everyone Anthony give it a go.

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:10 pm
by Anthonyeveritt
Yeah,

I can remember when telstra had 256, 512 & 1500 plans, all modems would sync at 1500 down stream but would only download at the users plan speed.the upstream rate was always accurate though.

You could always tell a user plan by looking at the upstream link speed e.g 1500/128 would equal a 512 connection and 1500/64 would equal a 256 connection. It was obviously telstras accounts system that was determining the downstream bandwidth

Anthony

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:13 pm
by Anthonyeveritt
Kjd,

Just finished my short novel of a post :D

Just saw your results!! :)

I am currently stuck at work until 5pm :(

I now remember that trick , it resets the port at the exchange I believe.

Will try it the second I get home

Anthony

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:16 pm
by Anthonyeveritt
Interesting that exetels standard "have you checked this this & thins email" doesn't mention that
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your e-mail.

In order to investigate the slow speed issue effectively could you please let us know whether you are accessing the connection wirelessly? If so could please connect it through an Ethernet cable and re-run the test: www.exetel.com.au/speed

If the speed hasn’t improved into acceptable limits the next thing we could do is to log this case with the supplier. A technician is required to attend and check the exchange up to your property for further investigation. There is however a charge of $110.00 if they deemed that there is nothing wrong with in the infrastructure. However if our supplier find’s that there is a problem with the infrastructure then the problem would rectified and there are no charges.

If you feel that you’ve gone through all the necessary testing and wish to have a technician attend the matter please fill in the template below:

Modem tried on another line or Alternative Modem Tried: Yes / No
Length of cable between modem and telephone wall socket:  Less than 2m only
Foxtel Installed: Yes / No
Back to base Alarm Installed: Yes / No
Completed Isolation test : Yes / No
(all devices removed from all sockets within the premises, and the modem connected to the first socket, using a 1 - 2m cable)
Sync Speed of Modem when Isolated (as above): (Refer to modem manual to obtain this).

Speeds received from http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/: (is this close to sync speed)
Customer uses P2P: Yes/ No
Speeds received when testing the computer to modem only, with wireless disabled: (Check http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/)
Computer free of Viruses / P2P: Yes / No
Are usage graphs topping out when speeds are slow (check https://www.exetel.com.au/members/a_network.php ): Yes / No

Oh well will see when I get home

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:07 pm
by Dazzled
Anthonyeveritt, it's one of those things that broadband users are often just assumed to know..... When your modem is switched off for about 20 minutes, it's long enough to be noticed by the periodic check that is made in the exchange, and the DSLAM will be reset. When your modem comes back up it negotiates afresh with the reset DSLAM. This is sometimes all that is needed when trouble occurs.

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:12 pm
by Anthonyeveritt
Dazzle,

Yeah just my own stupid fault :D

I make this recommendation times a day!!! Can't believe I forgot it.

Must be a sign of old age ( say this while im only 22) ;).

I only mention it for the more Non technically inclined.

One must always applaud exetels back up support

Thanks for the reply.

Anthony

Re: ADSL2+ Telstra Sync & Modem Settings

Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:23 pm
by Anthonyeveritt
Well got home from movies and after 3 hours of the modem and phone being unplugged............

Image

still crap!

heres hoping Telstra finds the problem