Modem won't connect at 8192

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
crmay1
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:51 pm
Location: N/A

Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by crmay1 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 8:12 pm

Hi All,

I've been on the 8.5M plan for possibly over a year and most of the time I was getting 7.5 and occasionally ~8.5M downloads. In the last month my connection speed has dropped significantly, initially I thought it was the new OS (Win 7) but I've since had a look at the modem and it will only connect at 384 / 2336. I can't pin point the exact day this started happening and I've tried removing all the other appliances on the phone line with no success. I'm not suggesting this is an Exetel issue as I guess things could have happened with the phone line or modem, so I'm really posting just to ask for possible solutions?

I have an ADSL2 plan due to be activated very soon and have ordered a new modem, but now I'm concerned I won't get any improvement in speed. I'm about 1.5K as the crow flies from the exchange. I have a SpeedTouch 530 modem at present. It doesn't have many configuration options from what I can tell and is ready for replacement.

Cheers,
Craig

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by Dazzled » Tue Sep 28, 2010 8:36 pm

Welcome to the forum. To make it easier for people to make some suggestions, could you please go to the modem DSL Connection page, Details, and post the Link Information listed there (attenuation, SN margin, etc)? This gives a picture of the state of the connection.

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by CoreyPlover » Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:22 pm

crmay1 wrote:I've tried removing all the other appliances on the phone line with no success. I'm not suggesting this is an Exetel issue as I guess things could have happened with the phone line or modem, so I'm really posting just to ask for possible solutions?
Such a sudden deterioration of sync speed is usually a sign of external interference, either from a faulty filter, or on the line itself (like corrosion, loose connection, etc). The issue is that, even at a much reduced 2336kbps sync, this may still be considered "acceptable" relative to industry standards.

I would suggest listening for any audible static on the phone line itself. If there is static, then it indicates a line fault and your phone provider (Telstra) can do a line test, will likely identify the source of the static and fix it, and your sync will improve again.

If there is no static, you probably want to wait until the ADSL2+ changeover and if the slow speeds persist, lodge a fault with Exetel (see sig). Highlight the sudden drop in sync speed before the change over and ask them if they can perform a line test for you. Sometimes the remote line test will reveal an anomaly and they can get it fixed for you. Other times you might need to consider taking a punt on an arranged technician visit, where a technician will come out to your house and physically test your line and (and optionally your primary wall socket). Again, if they find a fault, they fix it no charge. But if no fault is located they charge for the call out ($210 I think).
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

MCCMikey
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:24 pm
Location: Guyra, NSW
Contact:

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by MCCMikey » Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:38 pm

You can also try unplugging assorted appliances :) I have a portable CD burner, and when I plug it in it drops my ADSL out intermittently. (SNR drops to about 5-7dB instead of 13dB.)

crmay1
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:51 pm
Location: N/A

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by crmay1 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:32 pm

Hi Dazzled,

I'm a newbee and not sure where to find the page you are talking about. Can you please provide a URL?

Hi Corey,

There is one other option I have not tried .. but unable to test right now. I'm sure it was over a month ago.. but my wireless stopped working.. so I physically connected to my wireless router. To do this I had to connect through another phone port that was closer to my PC. I'm unable to debug the two connections without moving a significant amount of hardware .. but it might be this port. The two changes don't reconcile but it is possible. I can check tomorrow and physically move the hardware.

Hi MMC,

I have tried disconnecting every piece of hardware including fiters from the line before asking in this forum.

Cheers,
Craig

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by Dazzled » Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:48 pm

In your browser, go to http://192.168.1.254. The default user is Administrator, with a blank password, if you haven't changed it. On the sidebar: select Broadband Connection. This in turn gives DSL Connection->Details.

crmay1
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:51 pm
Location: N/A

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by crmay1 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:00 pm

Hi Dazzled,

This might be a start:


Statistics

Line Status
Enabled


Bandwidth Up/Down (Kbit/sec)
384 / 2336


Uptime
00:49:14


kBytes Tx/Rx
614 / 3052



Interface
PPPoA_1

IP Addresses/Netmasks
58.96.86.227/32


Primary DNS
220.233.0.3


Secondary DNS
220.233.0.4



The modem seems its made for novice users. I don't think i I can much more of the info you request.

Thanks again,
Craig

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by Dazzled » Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:10 pm

In my Thomson book that's like the Internet Service page (modem versions 5 & 6). What version is your Speedtouch 530?

crmay1
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:51 pm
Location: N/A

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by crmay1 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:18 pm

Not sure if this is what you need but its all I can find.....
Software Release
4.2.3.0.0


Board Name
ADNT-Q


Serial Number
0412GGEFT


Product Code
35720410

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by Dazzled » Wed Sep 29, 2010 7:15 am

In my book that's the page Speedtouch->Information. I think some early models might use Advanced Topics > Diagnostics > WAN section > DSL for the line status.

crmay1
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:51 pm
Location: N/A

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by crmay1 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 8:41 pm

Hi Again,

I've changed the phone port and now have slightly higher speeds but still not 8192. I now have 864 / 7616 but only getting 3M on speed tests.

I think this is the information you want.

DSL Flavour = ADSL over POTS
Reserved Bandwidth (kbit/s) up/down = 864 / 7616
Uptime = 00:54:14
kBytes Tx/Rx = 4536 / 44118

Properties
Output Power (dBm) up/down = 12 / 20
Attenuation (dB) up/down = 20 / 36
Noise Margin (dB) up/down = 9 / 12
Vendor Id (local/remote) = ALCB / BDCM


Statistics
Loss of signal (local/remote) = 0 / 0
Loss of power (local/remote) = 0 / 0
Loss of framing (local/remote) = 0 / 0
Errored Seconds (local/remote) = 4 / 3
Loss of link (remote) = 0


Cheers,
Craig

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by Dazzled » Wed Sep 29, 2010 8:57 pm

That's what was needed. It shows you have an average condition line without obvious troubles, but at its length (as indicated by attenuation) you won't quite achieve the full 8192 kbps downstream. That requires a short line. Could you run a test on http://speedtest.net/?

If your line isn't likely to be 2.5 km long, please say so.

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by jokiin » Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:04 pm

crmay1 wrote: Reserved Bandwidth (kbit/s) up/down = 864 / 7616
sure your change over hasn't happened already, 864 up would seem to suggest an ADSL2 profile already, maybe time to look at an ADSL2 compatible modem

crmay1
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:51 pm
Location: N/A

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by crmay1 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:10 pm

Hi Dazzled,

Speed test as follows:
ping 35
download 3.41
upload 0.65

Hi Jokin,

The ADSL2+ change went through today however a month ago I was getting 7-8M using the same equipment. I'm hoping my modem will arrive tomorrow.

Cheers,
Craig

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Modem won't connect at 8192

Post by jokiin » Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:13 pm

crmay1 wrote:
The ADSL2+ change went through today however a month ago I was getting 7-8M using the same equipment. I'm hoping my modem will arrive tomorrow.

Cheers,
Craig
ok, that explains the difference in your upload, is a Telstra based ADSL2 service you're on or one of the others?

could just be that your modem doesn't support the required profile which I guess is not unexpected

Post Reply