International links from Victoria

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
perceive
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:56 pm

International links from Victoria

Post by perceive » Sun Sep 04, 2011 8:08 am

Hi,

Any one else having issues with Victoria? I can see the item under the current network issues but that says router upgrade, indicating a complete service failure. Instead I have http/https failures while IMAP is working fine to overseas sites.

raywil
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 7:41 am
Location: Richmond, Vic

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by raywil » Sun Sep 04, 2011 8:15 am

Yes, there still seems to be some issues. Eg I can't browse to www.optus.com.au even through I'm on the Vic Optus ADSL2 service.

Looking the usage graph of the vic Optus to the internet, it looks a lot lower than normal.

Ray

roby
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:18 am
Location: MELBOURNE

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by roby » Sun Sep 04, 2011 8:24 am

I am having trouble getting to alot of sites this morning

Anthony Michaud
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:59 am
Location: Victoria
Contact:

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by Anthony Michaud » Sun Sep 04, 2011 8:54 am

Mostly down here. Can't connect via trace / web to a lot of sites, getting some random access to things though.

raywil
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 7:41 am
Location: Richmond, Vic

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by raywil » Sun Sep 04, 2011 8:57 am

Seems to be an issue since midnight, notice no outbound data (blue line) on the daily graph since midnight.

Imagehttps://www.exetel.com.au/members/a_mrt ... _optus.php

The usage is also lower than nornal
Image

jnicol
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:06 am

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by jnicol » Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:07 am

Me too. Can reach some sites (this one, obviously), but most sites are unreachable.

perceive
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:56 pm

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by perceive » Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:14 am

Are you all able to verify it i only http/https? I can still receive mail from my server in the US, and DNS seems fine as well.

raywil
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 7:41 am
Location: Richmond, Vic

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by raywil » Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:16 am

Trace Route to Telstra is ok, but there are issues to Optus, bit strage considering my Vic ADSL2 is on Optus.

www.telstra.com.au - ok
Tracing route to http://www.telstra.com.au [144.140.108.25]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms home.gateway [192.168.6.254]
2 16 ms 15 ms 15 ms 209.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.2.209]
3 16 ms 15 ms 30 ms 3.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.2.3]
4 16 ms 15 ms 15 ms 102.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.2.102]
5 16 ms 15 ms 17 ms 5.ge-4-0-0.GW3.MEL1.ALTER.NET [203.166.42.77]
6 17 ms 17 ms 17 ms 0.so-3-1-3.XL3.MEL1.ALTER.NET [210.80.34.209]
7 17 ms 91 ms 16 ms 0.so-2-0-0.BR2.MEL1.ALTER.NET [210.80.32.14]
8 15 ms 17 ms 15 ms GigabitEthernet4-8.lon42.Melbourne.telstra.net [139.130.248.9]
9 16 ms 16 ms 15 ms TenGigabitEthernet8-1.exi1.Melbourne.telstra.net [203.50.80.11]
10 21 ms 16 ms 17 ms telstr310.lnk.telstra.net [139.130.36.186]
11 17 ms 17 ms 15 ms 144.140.109.252

www.optus.com.au not working
Tracing route to http://www.optus.com.au [203.13.127.32]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.6.254
2 16 ms 15 ms 15 ms 209.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.2.209]
3 18 ms 15 ms 15 ms 65.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.2.65]
4 16 ms 15 ms 17 ms 98.2.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.2.98]
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.

flippit
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:56 pm
Location: Bairnsdale

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by flippit » Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:21 am

We are also having trouble here. Country Vic on ADSL2 via Telstra.

perceive
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:56 pm

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by perceive » Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:35 am

I've logged a call with the help desk... I'll guess I will just have to wait and see from here.

raywil
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 7:41 am
Location: Richmond, Vic

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by raywil » Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:40 am

I have too. I'd suggest anyone reading this with the same issue, log a call with the help desk until they reopen this post
viewtopic.php?f=296&t=38583

EroshanJ
Exetel Staff
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:26 am
Location: Australia

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by EroshanJ » Sun Sep 04, 2011 10:01 am

I have too. I'd suggest anyone reading this with the same issue, log a call with the help desk until they reopen this post
viewtopic.php?f=296&t=38583
Hi all,

We have received number of complaints regarding browsing issue. Our network engineers are investigating at the moment.

Will update once we receive an update from our engineers.

Cheers!

raywil
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 7:41 am
Location: Richmond, Vic

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by raywil » Sun Sep 04, 2011 10:19 am

The problem now seems to be resolved. Thank you.

Affinity
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:33 pm

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by Affinity » Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:47 pm

I was having problems during the night, went to bed and am okay now.

But I have a customer on a HSPA service, she can get to www.exetel.com.au but can't get to many other sites including hotmail.com -- there are timeouts.

So, is anyone else having problems with an HSPA service now?

EroshanJ
Exetel Staff
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:26 am
Location: Australia

Re: International links from Victoria

Post by EroshanJ » Sun Sep 04, 2011 1:45 pm

raywil wrote:The problem now seems to be resolved. Thank you.
Yes, I can confirm that the browsing issue has been rectified :)

Hi Affinity,
I was having problems during the night, went to bed and am okay now.

But I have a customer on a HSPA service, she can get to http://www.exetel.com.au but can't get to many other sites including hotmail.com -- there are timeouts.

So, is anyone else having problems with an HSPA service now?
Would you be able to drop an email to support with a trace rout to particular websites that you cannot access?

Post Reply