Page 1 of 1

Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:27 pm
by ttac
I'm on the Granville (NSW) exchange and speed is very slow at the moment, d/l 0.13MB/s and u/l .59MB/s. Anyone else having a problem out here? Was dropping out a lot since about 5pm. The dropouts have stopped but now very slow. Yesterday had a lot of dropouts at about 6pm but the speed improved to about 7MB/s later during the night. Currently
d/s u/s
Noise Margin 33 13
Output power(dBm) 41 24
Attenuation(dB) 124 156

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:52 pm
by Dazzled
The margin is excessive and the attenuation reading is so high I'm surprised anything works. Either the modem has failed or there is a line problem, which could include your home installation. Exetel support can look at your line. Try running the modem in isolation to see if anything changes, to be sure it's not at home. Make sure the modem cable to the wall point is short.

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:53 pm
by rukshani
ttac wrote:I'm on the Granville (NSW) exchange and speed is very slow at the moment, d/l 0.13MB/s and u/l .59MB/s. Anyone else having a problem out here? Was dropping out a lot since about 5pm. The dropouts have stopped but now very slow. Yesterday had a lot of dropouts at about 6pm but the speed improved to about 7MB/s later during the night. Currently
d/s u/s
Noise Margin 33 13
Output power(dBm) 41 24
Attenuation(dB) 124 156
An Exetel support engineer will look in to this soon.

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:54 pm
by stevecJ
ttac wrote:I'm on the Granville (NSW) exchange and speed is very slow at the moment, d/l 0.13MB/s and u/l .59MB/s. Anyone else having a problem out here? Was dropping out a lot since about 5pm. The dropouts have stopped but now very slow. Yesterday had a lot of dropouts at about 6pm but the speed improved to about 7MB/s later during the night. Currently
d/s u/s
Noise Margin 33 13
Output power(dBm) 41 24
Attenuation(dB) 124 156
Hi,

I have checked your connection and it appears to be more stable at the moment. I have done a port rebuild and few changes to the line, so therefore could you please run a speed test via 'www.exetel.com.au/speed' and check whether there is an improvement.

Your ticket reference number is #4776749.

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:01 pm
by ttac
I did an isolation test and also tried another modem. Right now I have nothing at all. The modem won't even sync (using 3G right now on an iPad).

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:38 pm
by stevecJ
ttac wrote:I did an isolation test and also tried another modem. Right now I have nothing at all. The modem won't even sync (using 3G right now on an iPad).
Hi ttac,

Could you please recheck the connection as I could see your modem connected at the moment and there is an improvement in the speed as well.

Please monitor this for the next 24 hours.

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:38 pm
by ttac
It's better now. Got cut off while speaking to the Exetel operator but it appears to be ok now. Thanks

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:45 pm
by stevecJ
ttac wrote:It's better now. Got cut off while speaking to the Exetel operator but it appears to be ok now. Thanks
No worries. Please monitor the connection further and let us know if the dropouts persist :)

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:49 pm
by ttac
Speed from Exetel speed test is now 5150 kbps.
Modem stats now are:

d/s u/s
Data rate(Kbps) 6144 775
Noise Margin 6 14
Output power(dBm) 39 22
Attenuation(dB) 124 203

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:52 pm
by ttac
Down to 493.90kbps from Exetel speed test now. Everything has slowed down again.
Getting a bit frustrating.

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:04 pm
by ttac
Virtually unuseable now

Downstream Upstream
Data rate(Kbps) 128 438
Noise Margin 7 11
Output power(dBm) 42 27
Attenuation(dB) 124 145

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:36 pm
by stevecJ
ttac wrote:Virtually unuseable now

Downstream Upstream
Data rate(Kbps) 128 438
Noise Margin 7 11
Output power(dBm) 42 27
Attenuation(dB) 124 145
Hi,

I cannot see your modem connected at the moment. However another rebuild has been done to the connection so therefore could you please restart the modem and check the speed.

Also I have already arranged one of our support engineers to contact you tomorrow in order to discuss this further.

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:52 pm
by ttac
Thanks for your help. It's syncing again but still very slow. I can't even run the Exetel speed test. Modem stats now are:

Downstream Upstream
Data rate(Kbps) 146 586
Noise Margin 18 17
Output power(dBm) 40 23
Attenuation(dB) 124 156

Is there any indication of what is wrong? Everything was fine up until last night. I've done an isolation test (unplugged everything except the modem), have switched to a brand new modem too.
Is it possible to do what was done last night but have it permanent? It appears to resort back to poor performance again the next day.

Cheers

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:55 pm
by rukshani
ttac wrote:Thanks for your help. It's syncing again but still very slow. I can't even run the Exetel speed test. Modem stats now are:

Downstream Upstream
Data rate(Kbps) 146 586
Noise Margin 18 17
Output power(dBm) 40 23
Attenuation(dB) 124 156

Is there any indication of what is wrong? Everything was fine up until last night. I've done an isolation test (unplugged everything except the modem), have switched to a brand new modem too.
Is it possible to do what was done last night but have it permanent? It appears to resort back to poor performance again the next day.

Cheers
A support supervisor will look in to this.

Re: Slow ADSL2+

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:41 pm
by stevecJ
ttac wrote:Thanks for your help. It's syncing again but still very slow. I can't even run the Exetel speed test. Modem stats now are:

Downstream Upstream
Data rate(Kbps) 146 586
Noise Margin 18 17
Output power(dBm) 40 23
Attenuation(dB) 124 156

Is there any indication of what is wrong? Everything was fine up until last night. I've done an isolation test (unplugged everything except the modem), have switched to a brand new modem too.
Is it possible to do what was done last night but have it permanent? It appears to resort back to poor performance again the next day.

Cheers
Hi,

As per the telephone conversation you had with one of our support engineers on Saturday, Please monitor the service further and let us know if the issue persist.