Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
Axiste
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: Townsville

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Axiste » Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:30 pm

Done at about 9:10pm..seems about the same for me lol

Tracing route to d014.diamond.fastwebserver.de [83.136.86.14]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms <1 ms DD-WRT [192.168.1.1]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 37 ms 36 ms 35 ms 17.3.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.3.17]
4 58 ms 49 ms 50 ms PE-5018239.sglebinte01.gw.aapt.com.au [203.174.1
87.153]
5 48 ms 48 ms 47 ms te3-3.sglebdist02.aapt.net.au [203.131.60.40]
6 49 ms 48 ms 48 ms po7.sglebbrdr01.aapt.net.au [202.10.14.9]
7 49 ms 47 ms 48 ms xe7-0-0-420.sebr2.global-gateway.net.nz [202.50.
238.213]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 203 ms 252 ms 203 ms te-7-4.car2.SanJose2.Level3.net [4.59.4.93]
12 199 ms 199 ms 199 ms vlan80.csw3.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.152.190]
13 202 ms 202 ms 204 ms ae-81-81.ebr1.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.153.9]
14 270 ms 272 ms 270 ms ae-2-2.ebr2.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.135.186]
15 266 ms 270 ms 274 ms ae-82-82.csw3.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.148.42]

16 272 ms 270 ms 275 ms ae-81-81.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.134.73]

17 334 ms 334 ms 334 ms ae-41-41.ebr2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.137.65]
18 341 ms 341 ms 342 ms ae-45-45.ebr2.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [4.69.143.69
]
19 342 ms 341 ms 341 ms ae-1-100.ebr1.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [4.69.141.16
9]
20 363 ms 345 ms 347 ms ae-48-48.ebr2.Dusseldorf1.Level3.net [4.69.143.2
10]
21 344 ms 346 ms 363 ms ae-22-3205.car2.Dusseldorf1.Level3.net [4.69.161
.166]
22 393 ms 391 ms 391 ms 212.162.17.178
23 403 ms 395 ms 395 ms 62.141.47.162
24 405 ms 399 ms 405 ms d014.diamond.fastwebserver.de [83.136.86.14]

Axiste
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: Townsville

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Axiste » Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:22 pm

Ok so for about the last week (thats all I can attest to as I was away between my last post here, and a week ago) Ping to the server was back down to 340 - 350..

Then a few days ago...

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>tracert 83.136.86.14

Tracing route to d014.diamond.fastwebserver.de [83.136.86.14]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms 161.3.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.3.161]
4 50 ms 35 ms 35 ms PE-5018239.sglebinte01.gw.aapt.com.au [203.174.1
87.153]
5 47 ms 48 ms 64 ms te2-3.bqueedist02.aapt.net.au [203.131.62.24]
6 48 ms 48 ms 48 ms te0-3-1-0.bforvcore01.aapt.net.au [202.10.12.21]

7 48 ms 48 ms 48 ms te0-0-1-0.sclarcore01.aapt.net.au [202.10.10.69]

8 48 ms 48 ms 47 ms te2-2.sglebdist02.aapt.net.au [202.10.12.8]
9 47 ms 47 ms 47 ms po7.sglebbrdr01.aapt.net.au [202.10.14.9]
10 49 ms 48 ms 47 ms xe7-0-0-420.sebr2.global-gateway.net.nz [202.50.
238.213]
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 207 ms 206 ms 207 ms te-7-4.car2.SanJose2.Level3.net [4.59.4.93]
15 211 ms 203 ms 203 ms vlan90.csw4.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.152.254]
16 202 ms 203 ms 204 ms ae-91-91.ebr1.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.153.13]

17 276 ms 275 ms 276 ms ae-2-2.ebr2.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.135.186]
18 279 ms 275 ms * ae-92-92.csw4.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.148.46]

19 300 ms 299 ms 298 ms ae-91-91.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.134.77]

20 354 ms 344 ms 344 ms ae-43-43.ebr2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.137.73]
21 353 ms 352 ms 353 ms ae-46-46.ebr2.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [4.69.143.73
]
22 348 ms 348 ms 347 ms ae-1-100.ebr1.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [4.69.141.16
9]
23 355 ms 355 ms 363 ms ae-47-47.ebr2.Dusseldorf1.Level3.net [4.69.143.2
06]
24 459 ms 506 ms 487 ms ae-22-3205.car2.Dusseldorf1.Level3.net [4.69.161
.166]
25 384 ms 384 ms 384 ms 212.162.17.178
26 392 ms 390 ms 392 ms 62.141.47.162
27 393 ms 391 ms 391 ms d014.diamond.fastwebserver.de [83.136.86.14]

Trace complete.

Now theres 3 extra AAPT hops in there.. and funnily enough the day this went to crap again.. Exetel moved more of their network reliance over to AAPT!
Supposedly only customers on DSLAMS that have AAPT lines should see any difference (or supposedly shouldnt notice a difference..) And as I am on a DSLAM with ONLY Telstra Hardware in it.. I shouldnt be affected...

Whats the chances of Exetel actually getting some backhaul that is a little easier on those of us trying to connect DECENTLY outside of Aus?

Something I will add for the sake of asking.. I sync at 23669/1020 as I am only just over 300m from the Exchange as the cable runs, yet Max speed i can ever get on Speedtest is Image

Dont get me wrong, thats not exactly Horrible speed... and locally the ping is great.. but because of the direction the data is routed.. Connecting to Europe is 50ms+ worse than people not routed through AAPT!

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Dazzled » Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:00 pm

Axiste, I don't know who has the various contracts to carry data around the world, particularly in Europe, but I had another look at the route to the German server. Like the last time I looked, the problem still lies in Europe, at Dusseldorf and at 212.162.17.178, (Level 3 Communications Ltd), where there is considerable variance - certainly enough to cause latency trouble. As I said previously tracert isn't the tool to locate your problem.

Regarding the speedtest, that isn't a bad result, but for accuracy use a special purpose downloader to obtain a large file from a co-located fast Akamai server (eg Microsoft, Apple). Tests in browsers don't have the accuracy you can get from compiled code timing from the system clock. Since all downloads measured are in bytes delivered to the filesystem, you will need to allow for packet header overhead to get bits/sec through the network card.

Axiste
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: Townsville

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Axiste » Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:14 pm

As far as my Speedtest result, i managed to get it to crack 20mb download by forcing it to the Telstra server in Brisbane, so I can see that definately my results arent worth worrying about as they arent really accurate to my line speed.

As far as the traceroute, Yeah I understand that the latency appears really good until it hits out towards Germany.. but my issue is that people on ISP's other than exetel take nearly half the hops to get there and dont have that problem!

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Dazzled » Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:21 pm

It's not the hop count, it's the jitter near the destination that's hurting. If you want to get an idea of undersea cable routes, see http://www.cablemap.info/

Axiste
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: Townsville

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Axiste » Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:29 pm

Essentially its I get what I pay for.. nothing can be done to ease the situation apart from Churning away?
Because I know I can choose almost any other provider and even though the problem appears to be outside Exetel's reach.. there are plenty of other providers who dont have the same issue!

Saliya Pinto
Exetel Staff
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:08 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Saliya Pinto » Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:17 pm

Hi


We have sent you an email with couple of instructions, Please give it a try and see if it would help reduce the latency.

Axiste
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: Townsville

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Axiste » Sun Oct 28, 2012 9:17 pm

I replied by email, however I will reply here as well for the sake of anyone else who could be bothered reading.

I tried changing my MTU as suggested, down to 1400, this made no difference at all ( I have been trying connecting both through my D-Link DSL-2730B on PPPoE at 1492MTU, PPPoA also at 1492MTU, and then on my Netgear DGND3700v1 on PPPoE and PPPoA at 1458MTU as thats the Highest it allows)
My usual connection I might add is the D-Link in Bridged mode, connected to an x86 box running DD-WRT, PPPoE at 1492MTU. It is this Setup that I tried 1400MTU on.

Whilst I was still set to 1400MTU I then tried the second suggestion sent to me, which was to Log in to Member Facilities and change my IP address at Exetel.

This went through no problems, within a few minutes the DD-WRT box registered the change without any reboots, so I ran a quick test and there was no change to the Latency.
I then followed the suggestion online that when changing IP it is best to recycle the modem, so I powered off both DD-WRT and the D-Link modem. After 5 mins I then powered on the modem, waited for Line Sync, then powered up the DD-WRT box.

Everything powered up and appeared to be connected, however my partner went to login to her work website to check her Roster, which is a https connection, and the site would time out unresolved. So I logged into my Internet banking, also a secure site, and that as fine. Connecting to the website associated with the game I play revealed that it would mostly load, however some of the ads would timeout.. (not really a horrible thing i guess). I then tried Speedtest.net, and whilst it would load the website, attempting to start the test would result in an error.

Thinking this was my DD-WRT box being a pain, I connected the D-Link directly to my laptop and initiated a PPPoE connection directly from windows, (I do not run firewalls or antivirus in the background on my pc's, Firewall is done by the DD-WRT box, and when I need to virus scan, I use Malwarebytes etc to make sure nothing is in) however the results were Exactly the same, Even resolving Exetels website was near impossible. After a few disconnect / reconnect cycles I finally managed to resolve Member Services and went to Change IP again, it told me the next available IP was my previous one, so I went ahead.

Once again turned everything off, (Absolutely Everything.. Desktop, 2x Laptops, iPad3, iPhone5, Tv, PS3, DD-WRT, my Win Home Server, the Netgear DGND3700 which is setup only as an Access Point) all these had spat errors at me for various reasons when I had the new IP..

After 10 mins, I booted the D-Link still in bridge mode, once Line sync was attained I booted DD-WRT, it got a connection, showed the original IP again. I then 1 by 1 booted each other device, making sure they worked as expected before booting the net. now everything is back on, and Everything is working / resolving.

Now my latency still sucks... (I checked latency when bridged directly to the laptop and it was still just as bad! So its not my massive home network and plethora of net sucking devices that is causing the issue)

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Dazzled » Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:09 pm

Let's look repeatedly at just one European hop, 23. We get between 333 ms and 508 ms for just a few successive packets! If you keep getting too many of the 500 jobbies you will see the latency that is bothering you. Using a similar technique, MTU isn't the culprit at this hop.

Code: Select all

HPING 83.136.86.14 (eth3 83.136.86.14): S set, 40 headers + 0 data bytes
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=335.3 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=335.0 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=335.8 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=335.3 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=333.6 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=468.6 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=337.4 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=353.1 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=482.3 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=426.4 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=473.7 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=501.2 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=508.8 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166
hop=23 hoprtt=481.3 ms

--- 83.136.86.14 hping statistic ---
14 packets transmitted, 14 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 333.6/407.7/508.8 ms

Axiste
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: Townsville

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Axiste » Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:39 pm

Yup agreed, definitely a problem there.. but why then is it a problem for me and not the other non exetel aussies on the same server? We are all subject to the same 390 ping limit, and Im the only one registering a constant average 1% - 2% packet loss when logged into the Teamspeak server at that address.. along with a ping that is 50ms above theirs..

localhost
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 9:45 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by localhost » Mon Oct 29, 2012 5:34 pm

What's the first two octets of your IP address? It'll either be 58.96, 115.70 or 220.233.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by jokiin » Mon Oct 29, 2012 5:50 pm

localhost wrote:What's the first two octets of your IP address? It'll either be 58.96, 115.70 or 220.233.

Axiste (I'm assuming that's who you meant) has a 58.96.x.x address

Axiste
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: Townsville

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Axiste » Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:13 pm

Yeah, im 58.96.XX.XX

The IP it changed me to that had massive issues resolving anything was 58.96.32.125, however Im now back to the original IP I started with.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Dazzled » Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:21 pm

I'm using a differnt IP range to you Axiste, for similar latency in Europe. Things are a little brighter tonight; here's the present state:

Code: Select all

Host                                            Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
 1. Gate.home                                     0.0%   140    0.6   0.6   0.5   1.7   0.1
 2. ???
 3. 61.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au             0.0%   139   31.4  36.1  30.8 154.8  17.8
 4. PE-5017319.sclarinte01.gw.aapt.com.au        50.0%   139   32.0  35.4  31.8 101.2   9.1
 5. te3-3.sclardist01.aapt.net.au                 0.0%   139   32.5  33.8  31.0 158.3  10.9
 6. te2-1-110.sclardist02.aapt.net.au             0.0%   139   32.0  33.8  31.0 140.1   9.6
 7. te4-2.sglebdist01.aapt.net.au                 0.0%   139   31.4  36.0  31.0 206.4  18.6
 8. po6.sglebbrdr01.aapt.net.au                   0.0%   139   31.2  36.7  30.8 228.7  21.9
 9. xe7-0-0-420.sebr2.global-gateway.net.nz       2.9%   139   34.7  36.0  31.1  56.3   4.7
10. ???
11. ???
12. ???
13. te-7-4.car2.SanJose2.Level3.net               2.2%   139  182.5 193.1 180.3 351.2  31.8
14. vlan70.csw2.SanJose1.Level3.net               1.4%   139  182.2 187.3 181.5 223.7   5.9
15. ae-71-71.ebr1.SanJose1.Level3.net             1.4%   139  185.1 183.7 181.2 214.3   4.0
16. ae-2-2.ebr2.NewYork1.Level3.net               2.9%   139  250.5 252.3 248.8 312.9   7.7
17. ae-82-82.csw3.NewYork1.Level3.net             0.0%   139  251.8 255.2 249.7 291.6   6.2
    ae-72-72.csw2.NewYork1.Level3.net
    ae-62-62.csw1.NewYork1.Level3.net
18. ae-81-81.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net             1.4%   139  251.0 251.9 249.5 291.4   4.2
    ae-61-61.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net
    ae-71-71.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net
    ae-91-91.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net
19. ae-42-42.ebr2.London1.Level3.net              0.0%   138  324.3 326.5 322.9 349.8   5.6
    ae-41-41.ebr2.London1.Level3.net
    ae-43-43.ebr2.London1.Level3.net
    ae-44-44.ebr2.London1.Level3.net
20. ae-46-46.ebr2.Amsterdam1.Level3.net           1.4%   138  326.2 329.1 325.6 436.7   9.7
    ae-45-45.ebr2.Amsterdam1.Level3.net
    ae-48-48.ebr2.Amsterdam1.Level3.net
    ae-47-47.ebr2.Amsterdam1.Level3.net
21. ae-1-100.ebr1.Amsterdam1.Level3.net           0.7%   138  327.3 328.4 326.0 365.4   4.2
22. ae-45-45.ebr2.Dusseldorf1.Level3.net          2.9%   137  356.8 359.2 329.3 412.2   9.5
    ae-47-47.ebr2.Dusseldorf1.Level3.net
    ae-48-48.ebr2.Dusseldorf1.Level3.net
23. ae-22-3205.car2.Dusseldorf1.Level3.net        0.0%   137  365.3 349.0 332.8 515.2  39.3
24. 212.162.17.178                                2.2%   137  382.3 389.5 380.6 534.0  25.0
25. 62.141.47.162                                 0.7%   136  399.8 388.1 384.7 409.6   5.1
26. d014.diamond.fastwebserver.de                 0.0%   136  382.7 385.8 376.0 401.8   4.8
and the later part of a single hping with a trace running:

Code: Select all

hop=21 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.141.169 name=ae-1-100.ebr1.Amsterdam1.Level3.net
hop=21 hoprtt=327.6 ms
hop=22 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.143.198 name=ae-45-45.ebr2.Dusseldorf1.Level3.net
hop=22 hoprtt=358.1 ms
hop=23 TTL 0 during transit from ip=4.69.161.166 name=ae-22-3205.car2.Dusseldorf1.Level3.net
hop=23 hoprtt=422.4 ms
hop=24 TTL 0 during transit from ip=212.162.17.178 name=UNKNOWN   
hop=24 hoprtt=381.2 ms
hop=25 TTL 0 during transit from ip=62.141.47.162 name=UNKNOWN   
hop=25 hoprtt=387.4 ms
len=46 ip=83.136.86.14 ttl=110 id=10207 icmp_seq=9 rtt=383.8 ms
len=46 ip=83.136.86.14 ttl=110 id=12956 icmp_seq=11 rtt=390.6 ms
len=46 ip=83.136.86.14 ttl=110 id=14095 icmp_seq=12 rtt=385.5 ms

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Sending data the long way around the world?

Post by Dazzled » Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:47 am

I just repeated the hping3 exercise over the last 4 hops. The result is much the same as last night, 329ms to 398ms, mean 380 ms.

Post Reply