Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
Tazz
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 11:05 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by Tazz » Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:21 am

In Launceston, and I'm seeing no change to my slow speeds... :cry:

Topgunn
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by Topgunn » Fri Nov 02, 2012 10:44 am

[`[*Test Results from <a href="http://www.ozspeedtest.com/bandwidth-te ... 563197">Oz Broadband Speed Test</a>*]`]
[(----------------------------------
Test run on [*02/11/2012*] @ [*10:39 AM*])]

[(Mirror: [*Exetel*]
Data: [*3 MB*]
Test Time: [*26.71 secs*])]

[(Your line speed is [*917 kbps*] (0.92 Mbps).
Your download speed is [*115 KB/s*] (0.11 MB/s). )


Still not fixed for me yet either. This is with MTU1400, havent changed back yet.

shoner
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 2:50 pm

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by shoner » Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:09 am

Topgunn wrote:[`[*Test Results from <a href="http://www.ozspeedtest.com/bandwidth-te ... 563197">Oz Broadband Speed Test</a>*]`]
[(----------------------------------
Test run on [*02/11/2012*] @ [*10:39 AM*])]

[(Mirror: [*Exetel*]
Data: [*3 MB*]
Test Time: [*26.71 secs*])]

[(Your line speed is [*917 kbps*] (0.92 Mbps).
Your download speed is [*115 KB/s*] (0.11 MB/s). )


Still not fixed for me yet either. This is with MTU1400, havent changed back yet.
Please see forum post viewtopic.php?f=296&t=39797&p=302869#p302869 for the latest update
"Helping Making a Better World"

Log a fault ticket Here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

Topgunn
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by Topgunn » Fri Nov 02, 2012 12:09 pm

shoner wrote:
Please see forum post viewtopic.php?f=296&t=39797&p=302869#p302869 for the latest update
Thank you.
And thanks for the email from Steve the CEO! I guess that gives you guys a month to sort it out 8)

Tazz
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 11:05 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by Tazz » Fri Nov 02, 2012 1:15 pm

Update

We have just been updated - The fix did not work, our suppliers had to roll back changes and replan. We have not been updated update yet for the ETR or their next attempt to fix this issue.
Are they taking the weekend off?
Or will work on the issue continue 24/7?

Was the reason for the supplier change "cost"? if not, why was there a need to make the change? after all, we had no problems before the change!

cstone79
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 12:01 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by cstone79 » Sat Nov 03, 2012 10:21 am

I’m on the Taroona exchange and problem still not resolved for me. I get same slow speed and poor ping results as yesterday (Fri 2/11/12) with MTU set on 1390 and 1492. See Ozspeedtest results below.

Test run on Fri 02/11/2012 @ 04:16 PM
Mirror:Exetel
Data:600KB
Test Time: 13.23 secs
Your line speed is 369 kbps (0.37 Mbps).
Your download speed is 46 KB/s (0.05 MB/s).

Test run on Sat 03/11/2012 @ 09:29 AM
Mirror: Exetel
Data: 600 KB
Test Time: 16.47 secs
Your line speed is 296 kbps (0.3 Mbps).
Your download speed is 37 KB/s (0.04 MB/s).

My normal average speeds prior to this issue which started on 26/10/12 were :
DSL modem sync – 7Mbps,
Speed from exetel’s residential speed test and speedtest.net – 6Mbps down, 0.78Mbps up,
Ping from speedtest.net and DOS command– 45ms.

So whatever changes they made at 6:30am today did not fix the problem for me.

Tazz
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 11:05 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by Tazz » Sat Nov 03, 2012 10:50 am

No change here in Launceston, still slow, and I even crossed my fingers too...but it didn't work... :(

christhementalist
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by christhementalist » Sat Nov 03, 2012 10:59 am

Still slow here this morning on the Howrah exchange...I hope they're still working on it! Waiting for an update!

chronographer
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:38 pm
Location: tasmania

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by chronographer » Sat Nov 03, 2012 3:08 pm

Hi all

Still slow here in Hobart too. I changed the MTU to 1390, and that makes it usable, but not fast.

I am transferring to Internode now.

Cheerio,

Topgunn
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by Topgunn » Sat Nov 03, 2012 3:58 pm

I might lower my MTU from 1400 to 1392 if thats supposed to be the optimum for the situation.
I can browse pages and download files if I persist but things like iView and YouTube are unusable. Its a far cry from the instantaneous internet I had become accustomed to. I get Exetel trying to save a few bucks by going away from Telstra but it shouldnt come at the cost of a sub-par service. I dont like that they havent updated today after saying it should be fixed BY 6:30 this morning.
I dont see any reason to change from Exetel at the moment though. Ive got usable internet, Ive been compensated and Exetel are doing what they can to try and rectify the problems. I cant ask for any more than that really. Its just a shame that we have all become test dummies and I guess thats not on for some people and you guys have even given the option to change ISP's with no penalties, all without even being asked to do so. I had to go through hell to get any sort of resolution when I was with the dead bird and I commend Exetel for the way they have dealt with the whole thing. At the end of the day its not really their fault when the initial testing came out ok and the wholesaler says its all right to go. I cant help but think though that maybe there should have been a roll over period with more actual end user testing? It would have avoided all this and no-one would be churning away.
Anyway though I do hope Exetel/AAPT sort it out soon and Ill just keep testing and checking back for now.

Meshal S
Exetel Staff
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Colombo

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by Meshal S » Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:37 pm

We can confirm that the browsing issue caused due to MTU size has now been resolved. Customers who previously had/currently have trouble with browsing can now revert to an MTU size of 1492 and test their services. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused and are trying our best to restore services to normalcy. Customers who require assistance with problems related to this issue can call our support team or send us an email.

Meshal S
Exetel Staff
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Colombo

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by Meshal S » Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:45 pm

Any further updates on this issue can be found on:

viewtopic.php?f=296&t=39797&p=302913#p302913

Kamma
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:42 pm
Location: Hobart, Tasmania

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by Kamma » Sat Nov 03, 2012 5:25 pm

Returned my modem MTU to default setting, cycled for 20 minutes, still have a terrible connection.

Test run on 03/11/2012 @ 05:23 PM

Mirror: Exetel
Data: 3 MB
Test Time: 72.31 secs

Your line speed is 339 kbps (0.34 Mbps).
Your download speed is 42 KB/s (0.04 MB/s).

This is all with a modem sync of 5052kbps.

Tazz
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 11:05 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by Tazz » Sat Nov 03, 2012 5:51 pm

Changed my MTU back to 1492
Modem off for 20mins, then rebooted
Did a Speedtest, and the results tell the story...
I'm in Launceston, on ADSL2... :cry:
Attachments
50955880.jpg
50955880.jpg (59.4 KiB) Viewed 1278 times

christhementalist
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Changing DSL supplier in Tasmania...

Post by christhementalist » Sat Nov 03, 2012 6:42 pm

Same deal here...best speed test i got was ~1000kbps but its very inconsistent and usually around 500kbps...line sync at ~7.1Mbps. Tried various combinations of PPPoE, PPPoA and MTU's.

This really isn't good enough...surely it doesn't take this long to identify and resolve the root cause.

Post Reply