Page 1 of 2

No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:15 pm
by green
Hi,

My internet connection dropped out today at around 2:30pm. I have just been on the phone with the support team and have found this is because Exetel are changing wholesale providers and the service will be restored by the 13th November.

Exetel informed me of this change via email but neglected to mention that I would be without a service for 4 days. I am pretty annoyed this key piece of information was withheld from me.

The sync speed also seems a fair bit slower; I hope that improves by the time the connection is actually working again.

Has anyone else had this problem when the wholesale provider changed?

Regards,
Andrew

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:20 pm
by ShaminG
Hi Andrew,

Could you please PM me your service number so I could have a look into this.

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:32 pm
by green
ShaminG wrote:Hi Andrew,

Could you please PM me your service number so I could have a look into this.
Thanks ShaminG, I have sent you a PM.

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 9:21 pm
by ShaminG
Thanks ShaminG, I have sent you a PM.
Please let me know how you go with PPPoA/VC setup.

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 9:52 pm
by green
ShaminG wrote:
Thanks ShaminG, I have sent you a PM.
Please let me know how you go with PPPoA/VC setup.
Thanks for your follow up, it was much appreciated.

I have changed the Cisco router from PPPoE to PPPoA and I now have a connection again. Thank you.

The speed is about 20% slower so I will play with the config a little more to see if I can get it back to how it was previously.

If anyone is in a similar situation the basic config changes to move from PPPoE to PPPoA on a Cisco 800 series router is as follows:

For PPPoA
=========

interface ATM0
no ip address
atm ilmi-keepalive
pvc 0/16 ilmi
!
pvc 8/35
encapsulation aa15mux ppp dialer
dialer pool-member 1
!

For PPPoE
=========

interface ATM0
no ip address
atm ilmi-keepalive
pvc 0/16 ilmi
!
pvc 8/35
protocol pppoe
pppoe-client dial-pool-number 1
!

Regards,
Andrew

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:09 pm
by green
Would just like to post how much I appreciate the support I received from ShaminG tonight.

Not only did he respond to the post in about 5 minutes, he went out of his way to follow this up for me, rang me to discuss the possible solutions then rang me back to confirm everything was working after I had reconfigured the modem.

Great job and very much appreciated.

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:24 am
by green
Hi,

Seems I have jumped the gun thinking all my issues were resolved.

My connection works mostly but it is appalling. It drops out all the time; the modem still thinks it is connected but no data is being transmitted so I have to reset the connection.

It happened to me about 10 times in 2 hours on Saturday night and a few times last night.

Right now the connection is down. It's basically unusable for anything other than web browsing.

Also, the sync speed is 1MB slower than it was before.

Regards,
Andrew

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:06 am
by Fahim S
Hi Andrew .

We'll further investigate your issue, and get back to you through the existing help desk ticket.

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:19 am
by asankag
Hi Andrew,

We have made some changes to your line profile. Could you please monitor the connection further and let us know if you are still experiencing the issue.

Regards

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:26 am
by green
Hi,

The connection is working again, thank you.

The speed however is even worse, it's now connected at 3274kbps when it used to be around 4500.

What is causing the sudden drop in speed?

Regards,
Andrew

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:11 am
by Dazzled
Pending a reply from asankag, check your SNR (line noise) margin status. An increase provides stability but reduces the line throughput rate.

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:40 am
by asankag
Hi Andrew,

As mentioned in the email, your SNR value was very low and was causing the dropout issue. We changed the profile to make it more stable, but we could still some issues. We have escalated your issue to our supplier and we will keep you updated once we get further information.

Regards,
Asanka

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:36 am
by asankag
Hi Andrew,

Our supplier has done some changes to the line. I have sent you an email with some additional information as well.

Regards
Asanka

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:46 pm
by johnn
I have been without a phone line (Exetel is the service provider) and with no Internet or email facilities other than on Telstra 3G from my iPad). Using my mobile I have rung Exetel three times and after 30 hours I've got no help other than to tell me I'll be charged over $200 if th fault is mine. A message that th telephone line is disconnected is all I get from the phone when I try to dial a number. I've been an Exetel customer for over 8 years but I'm getting the feeling I should change my ISP as Exetel don't appear to be interested

Re: No Internet - Exetel wholesale provider migration

Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:55 pm
by udara
johnn wrote:I have been without a phone line (Exetel is the service provider) and with no Internet or email facilities other than on Telstra 3G from my iPad). Using my mobile I have rung Exetel three times and after 30 hours I've got no help other than to tell me I'll be charged over $200 if th fault is mine. A message that th telephone line is disconnected is all I get from the phone when I try to dial a number. I've been an Exetel customer for over 8 years but I'm getting the feeling I should change my ISP as Exetel don't appear to be interested
Would you be able to PM me your service number so that I can look into this .