Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
seaeagle
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:30 pm
Location: Burnie

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by seaeagle » Sun Jan 31, 2016 3:25 pm

Even I have forgotten a lot of what took place here, but since the problem I have now is very much associated with my exercise getting the line analyser running, I kept going in this thread.

Having just checked line again, pulled both phones off the line, the picture is the same as above. I am a bit loath to replace the modem/rotuer the TP Link N8960N, it has been doing a great job ever since it went in, 2013 I think it was.

From what I can figure, from one phone actually working and the internet connection as well, but at reduced speed, follows the modem and phone is ok. Well I am seasoned enough to be careful saying so. Perhaps just as well, I have connected the first phone with a new filter a few times, even tried the old one but the line could not sustain the internet.

I have disconnected the phone again and ran the test. Now the bit loading has changed, two tone areas with 16 bit loading, which is very unusual. I have seen this in the last 24 hours when I was switching in and out ADSL filters, for some minutes afterwards those two 16 bit columns would show up. This time it has lasted more than 15 minutes. I will give it a break for a couple of hours and see what happens. I went looking in the modem for the forward/return loss figures but could not find them, time for a break.
Attachments
160131-17-adsl-line-test-no phones-connected-time1515.jpg
Unusual 16 bit columns
160131-17-adsl-line-test-no phones-connected-time1515.jpg (40.35 KiB) Viewed 4283 times

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6015
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by Dazzled » Sun Jan 31, 2016 6:03 pm

Could you check the BPT data in case there is a modem software problem? ADSL bits are 0 to 15.

Something you may find interesting is at http://www.atnf.csiro.au/people/atzioum ... t%2008.ppt. Ignore the middle bit about VDSL for now.

seaeagle
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:30 pm
Location: Burnie

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by seaeagle » Sun Jan 31, 2016 10:52 pm

The break got a bit longer than planned, I don't know when the two suspect 'tone' bands return to sensible bit pattern loading. Having checked just before writing this the modem back to 'normal low signal'. See attached picture.

The content of the link you gave most interesting. Have been talking to my local pc wizard friend about NBN stuff coming to Burnie and what to decide on. Presently I am just sitting put for about a year at least. However I am on the end of a long line the NBN will probably look atractive

You got me with the BPT? Is that the 'Bit Pattern Test'
Attachments
160131-18-adsl-line-test-no phones-connected-time2230.jpg
160131-18-adsl-line-test-no phones-connected-time2230.jpg (18.66 KiB) Viewed 4270 times

seaeagle
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:30 pm
Location: Burnie

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by seaeagle » Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:58 am

Checked the spectrum plot on the line this morning, with one phone connected. Same as in my last post.

Went through my recorded pictures and on Sept 18 2014 I have recorded a similar picture with the two 'high columns' which leaves me to believe it is not a new modem problem as such. :D

As I am a Telstra customer, I think I have found a tool to get a linecheck done on line, will check this out. Using Opera I find it crashes when I log in to have the trouble shooting process started.

Using Firefox I could actually get the trouble shooting program running but the step by step peetered out by no solution, I think that because the modem was not a Telstra supplied I was invited to continue anyway. I did not see any attempt to check the linespeed but it could have happened in the background. Oh well.

Edit:
Did some more close searching for the modem loss details for up and down transmissions. Finally found it under xDSL. I have recorded the page with settings for today, taken a snip of this page and attached. This confirms that the connection speed is low. The download attenuation is a a couple of dB higher than I would like at 56.5 dB
Attachments
160131-21-adsl-line-test-router-adsl-information-record-1115-snip.jpg
snip of modem setup presently
160131-21-adsl-line-test-router-adsl-information-record-1115-snip.jpg (132.14 KiB) Viewed 4259 times

seaeagle
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:30 pm
Location: Burnie

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by seaeagle » Tue Feb 02, 2016 9:22 am

The spectrum plot from the TD Link modem is unchanged this morning.
Going through the data files making up the the graphs on the pictures and found the ones for the Bit Loading with the suspect full columns. I am attaching a snippet from one of these. It appears that there is a group of tones, 3 forming the 16 bit show, and a few adjacent going above 15 and below 100, varies a bit. I have about 5 suspect pictures recorded and depends on the pictures I look at how many tones is in the 15-100 range.

I will change the modem to a NetComm but this means I will loose the spectrum tests as the NetComm does not support access to ADSL parameters needed. I have recorded some speed tests I can compare with.
Attachments
160202-24-adsl-line-test-exetel-speed-test-W8960N.jpg
now suspect TP link modem TD W8960N
160202-24-adsl-line-test-exetel-speed-test-W8960N.jpg (13.75 KiB) Viewed 4237 times
160202-23-adsl-line-test-suspect-bit-pattern-0845.jpg
from the 160131- series of pics
160202-23-adsl-line-test-suspect-bit-pattern-0845.jpg (13.05 KiB) Viewed 4246 times
Last edited by seaeagle on Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

seaeagle
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:30 pm
Location: Burnie

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by seaeagle » Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:02 pm

Well, bit of a disappointment for me when I changed modem to NetComm NB5Plus4, the download speed changed dramatically, almost 10 times as can be seen in attached speed check. I downloaded new firmware for the TP Link TD W8960N, I think I did make a successful update but the spectrum report and speed are still bad. Really starting to look like modem has been damaged or developed some problem. Since this is not a wifi router I need to find my D-Link G604T install that and check speed plus hope it can carry on for few weeks until new router can be obtained.

Should I stick with the same?
Attachments
160202-26-adsl-line-test-exetel-speed-test-D-Link-DSL-G604T-modem-3.jpg
this is a wifi router needed interim
160202-26-adsl-line-test-exetel-speed-test-D-Link-DSL-G604T-modem-3.jpg (52.86 KiB) Viewed 4237 times
160202-26-adsl-line-test-exetel-speed-test-netcomm-modem-2.jpg
160202-26-adsl-line-test-exetel-speed-test-netcomm-modem-2.jpg (53.06 KiB) Viewed 4237 times

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6015
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by Dazzled » Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:38 pm

Check your coding or use another application, such as mine or the Kitz DMT tool. (For mine just install the expect package and it should run). There are numbers there > 2**32-1, or integer overflow. If true the modem needs the firmware fixed. Bits per tone cannot exceed 15. You also look to be having line trouble but I suspect modem trouble first.

seaeagle
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:30 pm
Location: Burnie

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by seaeagle » Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:10 am

I am not quite sure what I am going to do. I installed the latest firmware I could find, successfully I think because it is the first time ever I have seen a "logout" option from the modem. The 'over run' still showed up and also the poor BPT now appearing. I will walk out on the limb and say I think the transient nature of a few tones having BPT figures over 15 may not be a problem.

I agree with you about the line trouble, QLN seems to have drifted up and I attributed this to the wet weather over the weekend. The weather have now been 'normal' for a couple of days so I would have expected and improvement.

I don't remember having tested your program, or I have not recorded anything here in the archive where I keep the record of the is forum topic. I have looked over your code and being unable to decipher most of it I think this points to me not having tried it.

Well here is a chance, presently I have installed the D-Link G604T I used before I got the TP Link W8960N. While I was visiting your program at:

https://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=284&t=40703

I noticed in the last post a hint on adsl info being in D-Link at /proc/avalanche and I have dug out a bit of information:

Code: Select all

[gert@kde64byTexstar 131113-Dazzled_Files]$ nc -t 192.168.1.1 23
����!����
BusyBox on (none) login: 
Password:

BusyBox v0.61.pre (2009.04.15-09:11+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# ls /proc/
ls /proc/
1            402          6            execdomains  loadavg      slabinfo
2            414          7            filesystems  locks        stat
232          423          avalanche    fs           meminfo      swaps
28           5            bus          interrupts   misc         sys
29           548          cmdline      iomem        modules      sysvipc
3            565          cpuinfo      ioports      mounts       ticfg
31           568          crypto       kcore        mtd          tty
37           569          devices      kmsg         net          uptime
4            570          dma          ksyms        partitions   version
400          571          driver       led_mod      self         wlan
# ls /proc/avalanche


ls /proc/avalanche
avsar_QLNpsds                 clear_eoc_stats
avsar_SNRpsds                 cpmac_config
avsar_bit_allocation_table    cpmac_link
avsar_channels                cpmac_phy_status
avsar_dsl_modulation_schemes  cpmac_set_reg
avsar_modem_stats             cpmac_stats
avsar_modem_training          cpmac_ver
avsar_oam_ping                developers
avsar_private                 eth0_rfc2665_stats
avsar_pvc_table               led_cfg
avsar_qos_enable              led_ver
avsar_rxsnr0                  myswitch
avsar_rxsnr1                  psp_version
avsar_rxsnr2                  vlynq_link
avsar_sarhal_stats            vlynq_ver
avsar_ver                     wan_bridge
# 
avsar_QLNpsds
avsar_SNRpsds
avsar_bit_allocation_table


These 3 lines look interesting, I don't think I found them a couple of years ago, or if I did found it too difficult to drag information out.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6015
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by Dazzled » Wed Feb 03, 2016 11:40 am

/proc is a virtual file system to enable you to peer into the state of the kernel. The "files" appear to be empty. To get the information in a "file", use cat, more, or less.

Take a peek at the contents to locate the needed listings.

seaeagle
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:30 pm
Location: Burnie

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by seaeagle » Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:50 am

I am mystified, I am sure that I posted about running your adsltool.sh on my KDE 64 PCLinuxOS system. This morning no sign of the post? Unfortunately I have run into a dependency problem which I do not think will be resolved anywhere soon from what I can gather googling. I have posted to my Linux forum as well.

Code: Select all

$ ./adsltool.sh 
/usr/bin/expect: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib64/libexpect5.43.so.1: undefined symbol: Tcl_CloseObjCmd
$
Did have part success with getting the bit allocation table from G604T modem. I am not confident it is complete and it shows funny double take, getting first 32 tones then having another go.

Code: Select all

# cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_bit_allocation_table

AR7 DSL Modem US Bit Allocation:
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 02 04 04 05 05 05 06 06 06 
06 06 06 06 06 06 06 06 06 05 05 05 04 04 00 00 

AR7 DSL Modem DS Bit Allocation:
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 08 0a 0b 0b 0b 0b 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 
0c 0b 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 0b 0b 0b 0a 0a 09 07 06 06 
00 06 06 09 0a 0b 0a 0b 0a 0b 0b 02 0a 0a 0a 0a 
09 09 08 07 08 06 07 08 08 08 07 05 03 04 04 03 
04 05 05 05 07 08 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 08 08 
07 07 07 06 06 05 05 04 04 04 04 03 03 03 03 02 
00 00 00 00 02 03 03 02 00 00 02 03 04 04 03 03 
00 03 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 02 02 02 03 03 
00 00 00 02 02 00 00 00 00 02 02 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
# 
When trying to get the QLN and SNR it seems to me only perhaps a headline is returned with no LF so command prompt then shown on same line. Perhaps this is correct if there is no data collected in the files.

Code: Select all

# cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_QLNpsds             

AR7 QLNpsds:# 
# 
# cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_SNRpsds

AR7 SNRpsds:# 
If I was prepared to go back onto a XP system I could use RouterTec programs, which from what I can see has been successfully used on this model router. Rather tempting but for time required. I will have to try to resist.

Note:
I think I worked out the mystery, session time out and I did not notice post not being submitted, only preview. Just happened to me. :D

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6015
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by Dazzled » Thu Feb 04, 2016 3:14 pm

Interesting that the G604T response is in hex. Since few makers publish CLI manuals, the one way to find what the modem knows about the line is to just keep trying until you find the tables. For the break at tone 32, see the Kitz reference. You are interested mainly in the second group that carries the ADSL signal.

The expect Tcl script has been used without error on several machines, although probably all are Debian based. Normally we only have to fiddle with the CLI expressions for some modems. Expect goes back 25 years and is still an elegant way to interact with text terminals. It prompts and waits as long is is needed. There are other DMT tools online. I only wrote mine because I was unimpressed by bloated attempts at cracking a very simple problem. You can use any of those if it suits.

Let's not lose sight of the underlying issue - your line isn't performing.

ymo
Posts: 295
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Wollongong NSW

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by ymo » Thu Feb 04, 2016 10:40 pm

> I am not confident it is complete and it shows funny double take, getting first 32 tones then having another go.

Code: Select all

# cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_bit_allocation_table

AR7 DSL Modem US Bit Allocation:
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 02 04 04 05 05 05 06 06 06 
06 06 06 06 06 06 06 06 06 05 05 05 04 04 00 00 

AR7 DSL Modem DS Bit Allocation:
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 08 0a 0b 0b 0b 0b 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 
0c 0b 0c 0c 0c 0c 0c 0b 0b 0b 0a 0a 09 07 06 06 
00 06 06 09 0a 0b 0a 0b 0a 0b 0b 02 0a 0a 0a 0a 
09 09 08 07 08 06 07 08 08 08 07 05 03 04 04 03 
04 05 05 05 07 08 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 08 08 
07 07 07 06 06 05 05 04 04 04 04 03 03 03 03 02 
00 00 00 00 02 03 03 02 00 00 02 03 04 04 03 03 
00 03 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 04 02 02 02 03 03 
00 00 00 02 02 00 00 00 00 02 02 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
# 
Looks all right to me:
US (upstream) Bit Allocation - bins 8 to 29 (00-1f)
DS (downstream) Bit Allocation - bins 33 to 170 (00-ff)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G.992.1#D ... n_examples

seaeagle
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:30 pm
Location: Burnie

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by seaeagle » Sat Feb 06, 2016 5:15 pm

Dazzled
Yes the hex surprised me too but I have not seen many adsl information in routers, guess I was just lucky you recommended amongst others the TP Link W8960N, very good buy. I could not help having a tinker trying to circumvent the use of the expect in your version thus trying to see if I could stumble my way through the coding and trying to understand. Have not got far as other problems lining up in the high priority queue.

I did not read the Kitz close enough and easily led I picked up from a forum somewhere somebody talking about the ADSL down stream started at 64 (I should have know better, I will claim information overload really getting to me, but might good fun)

ymo
thanks for getting me back on track, even when I first noticed there was split in the bit loading table, I thought something was wrong. Did not consider that possibly the information was given as up/down load bit pattern. I don't know how many charts I have been looking at from the program that I built with Dazzled's help which clearly indicates two groups. Anyway, much appreciated. I will remember for quite some time. :D

seaeagle
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:30 pm
Location: Burnie

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by seaeagle » Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:16 pm

Progressing rather slow here mainly a number of urgent things needing attention but I take just a bit of time to check the BPT on the stand in G604T. In the wee hours I play a bit with making a script. I am almost there but running into a problem with crlf and needing lf. The script looks like:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
#set -x

###  "only fetching crudely the bpt table, this needs some editing before saved in G604T-bpt-matrix "

###  http://www.folkstalk.com/2013/03/sed-remove-lines-file-unix-examples.html
###head -n -4 < inputfile > outputfile
###
###> sed 'Nd' file
###
###> sed '1d' file
###
###> sed 'm,nd' file
###
###> sed '$d' file
###   and more goodies

### tr -d '\15\32' < $f > $f.tr
### tr -d '\r' < input.file > output.file


(sleep 1
echo "admin"
sleep 1
echo "admin"
sleep 1

echo "cat /proc/avalanche/avsar_bit_allocation_table"
sleep 1
echo "exit" ) | nc -t 192.168.1.1 23 | tail -n +11 > "zyBits.glk"  

	###dos2unix -o zyBits
tr -d '\r' < zyBits.glk > tBits

### sed -e '1d; 3,6d; $d' < zyBits.glk > uBits

echo "Bits data recorded in    zyBits.glk or?  "
echo "zybits.glk get overwritten each time"

### below does the hex to dec transform, it works
	###for word in $(< uBits)
	###do
	###  echo "$((16#$word))" >> bp-transform.glk
	###done
The script is showing a number of commented lines, this shows the options I have available and tested.

My problem is that zyBits.glk file has the correct content (in matrix format) but the crashes with.

")syntax error: invalid arithmetic operator (error token is "

I found after a little while by googling that this is the CRLF problem. If I manually replace these with LF, which is simple in my text editor. Then it works fine.

As can be seen I am trying to automate this transformation which seems very simple, but unsuccessfully. The script runs no errors but CRLF stays.

Any hint? :D

I am now confident that I have steady BPT looking like the attached. While this is using the spreadsheet to plot at the moment the ADSL/download graph has changed from before Xmas. I am going to transfer the test program to a laptop then I can move the test to the first entry point in the house.

Getting under the house to a junction box, would allow me to get to the Telstra underground cable entry this would bypass the older section of flat cable to the entry point in the room, a section of about 7m.
Attachments
160211-36-adsl-line-test-exetel-speed-test-G610T-modem-ext-phones-BPT-graph.jpg
graph representative for Feb 2016
160211-36-adsl-line-test-exetel-speed-test-G610T-modem-ext-phones-BPT-graph.jpg (68.37 KiB) Viewed 4134 times

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6015
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Charged $220 incorrect call out fee.

Post by Dazzled » Fri Feb 12, 2016 1:50 pm

Well you got there, but the reason for the lack of bits needs to be found. Your line has a problem.

printf would make these inputs and outputs easier with more flexibility. You could send the result of tail to an input-formatted printf to write the entire list to your file. See the printf info file for the details. A loop approach like yours but with printf could be:
do
printf "%d " "0x"$var
done < converted.txt


Piping to bc with its ibase=16 argument is also a convenient way to convert input.

My old select script would have worked if you changed the cmd array to whole commands to suit your modem. It was written for the Broadcom firmware. You would then convert the hex to make gnuplot simpler.

Post Reply