Slow ASDL in North Sydney

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
Post Reply
ravingcow
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 9:09 pm

Slow ASDL in North Sydney

Post by ravingcow » Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:37 pm

Like other users who have recently posted in this forum, my connections speeds have come to a crawl.

The DSL line looks fine:

Code: Select all

Line Mode             ADSL2+           Line State  Show Time
Line Power State      L0               Line Up Time    00:01:45:43
Line Coding Trellis   On               Line Up Count   1

Statistics            Downstream        Upstream
Line Rate             12550 Kbps         812 Kbps
Attainable Line Rate  14736 Kbps        1020 Kbps
Noise Margin           12.3 dB          18.8 dB
Line Attenuation       29.0 dB          13.8 dB
Output Power            0.0 dBm         12.5 dBm
But Exetel's speed test (http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/dsl) is currently clocking me in at 912kbps:
Your current bandwidth reading is:

912.50kbps

which means you can download at 114.06 KB/sec. from our servers.
SpeedTest.net is less kind, rating me at only 0.47Mbps (http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3778363183).

These results were all taken during an isolation test. (i.e., nothing but my ADSL modem was connected to the line). The modem sync is stable, and the modem's ADSL Bit Error Rate (BER) test doesn't show any problems (no bit errors over a 2 minute test).

Any idea what might be going on?

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Slow ASDL in North Sydney

Post by ShaminG » Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:52 pm

ravingcow wrote:Like other users who have recently posted in this forum, my connections speeds have come to a crawl.
Could you please conduct few speed tests via http://speedtest.nsw.exetel.com.au/ and post the results into the thread viewtopic.php?f=284&t=41345&p=311032#p311032 so we can have this investigated further. Try the test both in the morning and afternoon and update us with the results.

Chibrichish
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:09 pm
Location: NSW

Re: Slow ASDL in North Sydney

Post by Chibrichish » Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:14 am

Interesting that there are 3 people with download speeds of 0.47Mbps last night from speedtest.net

ravingcow
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 9:09 pm

Re: Slow ASDL in North Sydney

Post by ravingcow » Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:57 pm

I've set up a script to run the SpeedTest application every 30 minutes (both on Exetel's hosted version of SpeedTest and the public network of SpeedTest servers).

I'll post graphs once I have 24 hours worth of data.

KavindaS
Exetel Staff
Posts: 2715
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Slow ASDL in North Sydney

Post by KavindaS » Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:19 pm

ravingcow wrote:I've set up a script to run the SpeedTest application every 30 minutes (both on Exetel's hosted version of SpeedTest and the public network of SpeedTest servers).

I'll post graphs once I have 24 hours worth of data.
Thanks. We will gather all the information and investigate further.

evansm
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:02 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Slow ASDL in North Sydney

Post by evansm » Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:09 pm

I've actually started a new thread related directly to all speed issues and am urging anyone having issues to post the results there - ideally using ongoing speed tests from the web site http://testmy.net/ as that site allows automatic speed testing every 15 mins and logs it all so it can be accessed as a table with a graph giving a clear indication of speed changes throughout the day....

If you are willing to help build a case I posted the details in the thread as below:-

viewtopic.php?f=284&t=41348

Thanks.....

ravingcow
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 9:09 pm

Re: Slow ASDL in North Sydney

Post by ravingcow » Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:53 pm

I have put up a graph of the results and a basic analysis at:

viewtopic.php?p=311106#p311106

In short, everything has been running smoothly over the past 48 hours, so there is nothing to see in the graphs.

Next time the problem comes up again, I will start logging once more.

Post Reply