Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
angelos
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1068
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:22 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by angelos » Sun Feb 22, 2015 9:31 am

scottb721 wrote:Ok, my spare Billion modem had 10 hours constant connection while I was at work today. Its speed test is poor though - 29ms ping and 6-7Mbps DL.
I just plugged my original modem, Netcomm NB14, back in and the results are back to 17ms ping and 17-18 Mbps.
I'm surprised at the difference in performance. NB Both of these are being run in bridge mode.

I'll stick with the Netcomm for the moment but with the filter removed.
Seems to be stable since last night. Please monitor the service and let us know if you have any further issues.

scottb721
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:52 pm
Location: Nelson Bay

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by scottb721 » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:52 pm

Still having disconnects. Many times tonight alone.

I've replaced the filter (although currently bypassed altogether) and new phone lead used.

My spare modem (Billion) is giving me very poor speeds so I'm not sure I should even bother giving it another go.
The Netcomm is the modem I'm normally using.

Up/Down/Ping results are,
Netcomm 17.34 Mb/s 0.82 Mb/s 17 ms
Billion 7.89 Mb/s 0.78 Mb/s 28 ms

Perhaps time to buy a new modem for testing.

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by ShaminG » Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:08 pm

scottb721 wrote:Still having disconnects. Many times tonight alone.

I've replaced the filter (although currently bypassed altogether) and new phone lead used.

My spare modem (Billion) is giving me very poor speeds so I'm not sure I should even bother giving it another go.
The Netcomm is the modem I'm normally using.

Up/Down/Ping results are,
Netcomm 17.34 Mb/s 0.82 Mb/s 17 ms
Billion 7.89 Mb/s 0.78 Mb/s 28 ms

Perhaps time to buy a new modem for testing.
When you try the Netcomm in isolation, is it dropping out. If the telephony provider confirms no issues, we are left with 2 options for dropouts,
- Arranging a ADSL linesmen to investigate any issues (incorrect call out fee of $220 involved)
- Applying the stability, but this may reduce the sync rate.

scottb721
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:52 pm
Location: Nelson Bay

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by scottb721 » Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:44 pm

ShaminG wrote: When you try the Netcomm in isolation, is it dropping out. If the telephony provider confirms no issues, we are left with 2 options for dropouts,
- Arranging a ADSL linesmen to investigate any issues (incorrect call out fee of $220 involved)
- Applying the stability, but this may reduce the sync rate.
Yes, the Netcomm connected directly you the wall socket is still getting drop outs.

I might buy a new modem first and see how that goes. At $24 a TP-LINK TD-8817 is cheap enough.
I only hope it's not my WNDR3800 router causing it.

scottb721
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:52 pm
Location: Nelson Bay

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by scottb721 » Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:46 pm

Before buying a new modem I just tried another router I've borrowed.

Still getting drop outs.

To summarise,
-replaced filter
-removed/bypassed filter
-replaced RJ11 lead
-tried 2 different modems
-tried 2 different routers

Next - will buy new modem.

shakows
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 6:11 pm

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by shakows » Wed Mar 11, 2015 7:09 pm

Its all about the chipset
Some are better at longer distance

Post the ADSL stats from both modems
May shed some light on why

scottb721
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:52 pm
Location: Nelson Bay

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by scottb721 » Wed Mar 11, 2015 7:26 pm

shakows wrote: Post the ADSL stats from both modems
May shed some light on why
My connection hasn't always been a problem. Only since the start of the year.

These are the two modems I've been trying.

Billion 7401VGPR3
Upstream/Downstream
SNR Margin : 8.5/6.40 dB
Line Attenuation : 6.5/16.0 dB

Netcomm NB14
Upstream/Downstream
SNR Margin : 6.9/6.5 db
Line Attenuation : 9.3/9.5 db

Line distance to my exchange is 196m
My network http://i.imgur.com/a9FXtAE.jpg

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2506
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by KavindaS » Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:49 pm

scottb721 wrote:
shakows wrote: Post the ADSL stats from both modems
May shed some light on why
My connection hasn't always been a problem. Only since the start of the year.

These are the two modems I've been trying.

Billion 7401VGPR3
Upstream/Downstream
SNR Margin : 8.5/6.40 dB
Line Attenuation : 6.5/16.0 dB

Netcomm NB14
Upstream/Downstream
SNR Margin : 6.9/6.5 db
Line Attenuation : 9.3/9.5 db

Line distance to my exchange is 196m
My network http://i.imgur.com/a9FXtAE.jpg
Similar drop issues during the peak times has been escalated with our Level 3 network engineers. I have added your service number to the list. We will further investigate and update.

scottb721
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:52 pm
Location: Nelson Bay

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by scottb721 » Fri Mar 13, 2015 4:37 pm

Thank you.
I look forward to hearing some feedback.

scottb721
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:52 pm
Location: Nelson Bay

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by scottb721 » Sun Mar 15, 2015 11:39 pm

Tonight seems to be the first night this year I can recall not getting disconnected.

Has something been done ?

angelos
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1068
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:22 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by angelos » Mon Mar 16, 2015 12:25 pm

scottb721 wrote:Tonight seems to be the first night this year I can recall not getting disconnected.

Has something been done ?
Nothing since the update on the following post : viewtopic.php?f=284&t=41813

Keep monitoring your service and let us know if the issue comes back.

scottb721
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:52 pm
Location: Nelson Bay

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by scottb721 » Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:38 pm

So what turned out to be the cause ?

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by ShaminG » Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:48 pm

scottb721 wrote:So what turned out to be the cause ?
We have come across few unplanned issues during past couple of months and necessary changes have been applied on at network level. Looking at the history on your issue, my suggestion is to monitor the status at this stage and let's move ahead with further investigations if any issues persists.

scottb721
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:52 pm
Location: Nelson Bay

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by scottb721 » Thu Mar 26, 2015 10:39 pm

I've not really had any issues since you've worked your magic. Just a shame I've been pulling my hair out for so long having many drop outs and lost a season in my online racing comp.

Has been frustrating indeed.

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Post by ShaminG » Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:00 pm

scottb721 wrote:I've not really had any issues since you've worked your magic. Just a shame I've been pulling my hair out for so long having many drop outs and lost a season in my online racing comp.

Has been frustrating indeed.
Unfortunately, the issue was not straight forward and we had to look into all aspects before identifying the matter. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you in this regard.

Post Reply