Page 1 of 3

Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 11:52 am
by scottb721
I did several speed tests recently to compare with a historical one and was wondering if the piccy points to permanent throttling ?
http://i.imgur.com/JWSRmJe.jpg

I note the difference in server distances but I doubt that would cause such a drop.

Thanks

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 1:36 pm
by angelos
scottb721 wrote:I did several speed tests recently to compare with a historical one and was wondering if the piccy points to permanent throttling ?
http://i.imgur.com/JWSRmJe.jpg

I note the difference in server distances but I doubt that would cause such a drop.

Thanks
It appears your current sync rates suggest you are getting the correct speeds. If you feel your sync rates have reduced we can look into this as a low sync issue but basic troubleshooting has to be performed.

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 1:50 pm
by scottb721
Well I've actually been getting random disconnects for most of this year too.

I've changed modems, phone lead, bypassed the filter. Just not sure what else I can do.

FWIW, stats are
SNR Margin(Upstream) 7.0 dB
SNR Margin(Downstream) 5.75 dB
Line Attenuation(Upstream) 15.5 dB
Line Attenuation(Downstream) 22.5 dB

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:07 pm
by angelos
scottb721 wrote:Well I've actually been getting random disconnects for most of this year too.

I've changed modems, phone lead, bypassed the filter. Just not sure what else I can do.

FWIW, stats are
SNR Margin(Upstream) 7.0 dB
SNR Margin(Downstream) 5.75 dB
Line Attenuation(Upstream) 15.5 dB
Line Attenuation(Downstream) 22.5 dB

I have sent you an email with a few tests that need to be performed. Please get back to us with the results.

Your ref #8820345

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:26 pm
by scottb721
That is really weird.

There is no dial tone so I can't dial out but I can still receive calls ok.
I wonder if this has anything to do with the many visits over the last month or so that I've seen Telstra techs make to the exchange a few doors up.

Now that I think of it, my neighbours have been having much trouble getting their net on over this same period.

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:36 pm
by angelos
scottb721 wrote:That is really weird.

There is no dial tone so I can't dial out but I can still receive calls ok.
I wonder if this has anything to do with the many visits over the last month or so that I've seen Telstra techs make to the exchange a few doors up.

Now that I think of it, my neighbours have been having much trouble getting their net on over this same period.
If there is a problem with the phone you will need to get that checked with the telephone provider first. Once that is resolved and is working perfectly we can investigate the internet for you.

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:53 pm
by scottb721
Telstra have confirmed a line issue and will resolve it by 09 March.

If only I used the phone I may have picked this up ages ago.

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:34 pm
by scottb721
Had my dial tone restored today and now I'm back up to 16Mbps.

Thanks for your help.

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:41 pm
by richardk
Good to hear that you have dial tone back :)

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 8:51 pm
by scottb721
Maybe I spoke too soon.

Dial tone is back but had a couple of disconnections tonight already.

Although my router is the one set to PPPOE I'm currently trying a 2nd modem.

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:26 pm
by ShaminG
scottb721 wrote:Maybe I spoke too soon.

Dial tone is back but had a couple of disconnections tonight already.

Although my router is the one set to PPPOE I'm currently trying a 2nd modem.
As the dial tone returned today, please check with the telephony provider if telephony service is clear with no issues. If they confirm it's clear, please let us know so we can follow up the dropout fault.

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:31 pm
by scottb721
They sent me an SMS today confirming completion of the work.

I'll try the alternative modem first and see how that goes. I've already removed the filter and fitted new lead to the phone socket.

Not sure if it's due to peak usage however I note that my speed has dropped again, to around 8Mbps.

Cheers

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:08 pm
by ShaminG
scottb721 wrote:They sent me an SMS today confirming completion of the work.

I'll try the alternative modem first and see how that goes. I've already removed the filter and fitted new lead to the phone socket.

Not sure if it's due to peak usage however I note that my speed has dropped again, to around 8Mbps.

Cheers
Let's monitor the service during weekend. I hope you are trying with a borrowed or a spare modem you have. Don't go for a new one just for testing :)

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 8:30 am
by scottb721
ShaminG wrote:Let's monitor the service during weekend. I hope you are trying with a borrowed or a spare modem you have. Don't go for a new one just for testing :)
No :-) Using a spare one I have.

Speed still down below 8Mbps this morning.

Re: Does this indicate my speed has been reduced ?

Posted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:34 pm
by scottb721
Ok, my spare Billion modem had 10 hours constant connection while I was at work today. Its speed test is poor though - 29ms ping and 6-7Mbps DL.
I just plugged my original modem, Netcomm NB14, back in and the results are back to 17ms ping and 17-18 Mbps.
I'm surprised at the difference in performance. NB Both of these are being run in bridge mode.

I'll stick with the Netcomm for the moment but with the filter removed.