Page 1 of 1

Changing Wholesaler

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 12:35 pm
by JJDisco
So For a ridiculously long time I've been getting excellent speed most through the day (12-18 Mbps) and then as the day goes on drops to between 1-3 Mbps. I've been speaking to some parents at the school my kids attend and have worked out that those on the Optus DSLAM have generally similar experiences and those on a Telstra DSLAM have minimal changes to their download speeds. Basically my connection struggles to view low quality Youtube videos and at times struggles with streaming Spotify.

From memory I'm on the Optus DSLAM and want to know how I could switch to Telstra if that is the case.

Re: Changing Wholesaler

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 1:23 pm
by devindag
JJDisco wrote:So For a ridiculously long time I've been getting excellent speed most through the day (12-18 Mbps) and then as the day goes on drops to between 1-3 Mbps. I've been speaking to some parents at the school my kids attend and have worked out that those on the Optus DSLAM have generally similar experiences and those on a Telstra DSLAM have minimal changes to their download speeds. Basically my connection struggles to view low quality Youtube videos and at times struggles with streaming Spotify.

From memory I'm on the Optus DSLAM and want to know how I could switch to Telstra if that is the case.

Please note that I have dropped an email to your nominated email account with reference number 9160385

Kindly respond to us via email or call us and quote that reference number to assist you further on the matter.

Re: Changing Wholesaler

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:01 pm
by Lavec
I have the same issue on Optus DSLAM. Is it possible for me too to switch to Telstra?

Re: Changing Wholesaler

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 3:30 pm
by JJDisco
Hi Lavec. I was told that there was an issue with the Optus DSLAM and Optus don't have any planned resolution for it. That might be different for you at your location. However, to switch to Telstra I was told I had to cancel my contract and then reapply and ask for the Telstra DSLAM but that they couldn't guarantee any better service. I'm currently asking parents of my kids friends who they are with and their download experiences to make a better choice.

Hope that's somewhat helpful

Re: Changing Wholesaler

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:32 pm
by devindag
Lavec wrote:I have the same issue on Optus DSLAM. Is it possible for me too to switch to Telstra?
Please note that you need to get in touch with our residential sales team to further discuss the matter. You may contact them and discuss further.

Re: Changing Wholesaler

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:01 pm
by remosha
Lavec wrote:I have the same issue on Optus DSLAM. Is it possible for me too to switch to Telstra?
Hi Lavec,

We could look into the possibilities. Could you please email residentialsales@exetel.com.au copying the Forum URL.

Regards,
Remosha

Re: Changing Wholesaler

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 11:15 am
by sato74
Sorry to Hi-jack this thread JJDisco
I am currently in the same position as you wanting to change to the Telstra network.
When I first signed up to Exetel I had to have a Telstra number which I did but now I know I'm on the Optus network because of the lack in performance and My Exetel account has it stating in the service plan I'm on the Optus network.
I noticed that my speed dropped and even with talk's to support nothing has changed because I'm at a great distance from the exchange and the Optus network is no where as reliable as Telstra's.
Also out of curiosity, I have noticed on the whirlpool forums that Exetel have been issuing emails to client's stating change of plan due to network change from Telstra to Optus! Why was I not given the same courtesy?
I have tried to churn to AusBBS but as I'm on the optus line they won't supply ADSL to me even with me asking Exetel Provisioning (9337312) for the correct Phone and Billing account numbers.
How am I able to get back on the Telstra network with minimal problems as I am unhappy with the performance that the Optus line is supplying?
Regards
Kyle

Re: Changing Wholesaler

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:37 pm
by NIrmitha
sato74 wrote:by sato74 on Sun Aug 09, 2015 11:45 am
Sorry to Hi-jack this thread JJDisco
I am currently in the same position as you wanting to change to the Telstra network.
When I first signed up to Exetel I had to have a Telstra number which I did but now I know I'm on the Optus network because of the lack in performance and My Exetel account has it stating in the service plan I'm on the Optus network.
I noticed that my speed dropped and even with talk's to support nothing has changed because I'm at a great distance from the exchange and the Optus network is no where as reliable as Telstra's.
Hi sato74,
I have created a helpdesk ticket and sent you an email containing some troubleshooting.
Please reply to us with the requested information. (Your ticket ID: 9344991)

Re: Changing Wholesaler

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 4:36 pm
by harsch
i also tried, unsuccessfully, for a telstra swap but over the last month or so adsl2 over the ashmore qld exchange has improved dramatically.
maybe it's whinge n win but congestion is down heaps and download speeds back to 1.1 MB/s.

Re: Changing Wholesaler

Posted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 9:12 am
by angelos
harsch wrote:i also tried, unsuccessfully, for a telstra swap but over the last month or so adsl2 over the ashmore qld exchange has improved dramatically.
maybe it's whinge n win but congestion is down heaps and download speeds back to 1.1 MB/s.
That sounds good. Please let us know if something comes up but glad to hear things have improved.