Optus ain't authenticating again

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
Post Reply
aussierod
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Qld

Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by aussierod » Tue Nov 08, 2016 5:14 pm

Fault ID #AF156445
Ref: 10894998

- My phone line works fine, no noise via corded phone straight into wall.
- My modern is "Showtime" sync showing up and down speeds
- I have tried spare modems, splitters and cords.
- My user name, passwords, settings haven't changed in my moderns for 5+ years

Been six days now with no internet.

Today paying through the roof for 4G mobile data instead.
$60 worth of 4G so far plus my Exetel bills.

Exetel have no idea as they, and I, are still waiting for Optus to
come to my place and waste my time telling me it's their exchange
not authenticating again.

This happened last month on the 21/10/16.

Exetel confirmed it was Optus "software" at the exchange last time.

It all magically became better after 6 hours.

Now last week 02/11/16 it has started again.

This time 6 days so far ...

No Optus technician in sight, no emails, no calls, no updates.

No residential reimbursement - gotta love that legal loop hole robbery.

When we first joined Exetel, we had Telstra as the wholesaler.
Those were happier days.

Being with Optus is doing you no reputation favors, Exetel.

ProductReview website is a horror read.

I don't blame you, Exetel.

How do we get Optus to pull their fingers out?

What happens when it's fixed this time?
Will it happen again next month?

I need someone to yell at.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2374
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by KavindaS » Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:33 pm

aussierod wrote:Fault ID #AF156445
Ref: 10894998

I don't blame you, Exetel.

How do we get Optus to pull their fingers out?

What happens when it's fixed this time?
Will it happen again next month?

I need someone to yell at.
I refer to the service issue ticket and apologies for the delay in investigation from our supplier end. According to their latest update, we should receive a feedback tomorrow on or before close of business. We cannot confirm until they provide us detail information as to why this issue happened and what fix they have applied.

If no response by tomorrow, I will escalate this Optus management and get them to find a speedy resolution.

aussierod
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Qld

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by aussierod » Thu Nov 10, 2016 12:35 pm

It's now Thursday (8 days later) and still zero contact from any Optus tech.

I'm very eager to get a Telstra port. The Asmore exchange building
is actually a Telstra building and has been for over 35 years
(I grew up across the street from it and my uncle worked there)
so for the life of me I don't know why that isn't an option anymore.

Costs or lack or ports I guess. Although, if I go join Telstra
today and start paying $70+ a month I'd get a port no problem
at the same exchange.

We used to be with Telstra at that exchange. Contrary to the stereo type,
they used to address matters quickly. Worse case, they'd
call us and let us know what was going on.

I'm running out of expensive 4G pre-paid and patience.

User avatar
shoner
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 2:50 pm

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by shoner » Thu Nov 10, 2016 12:44 pm

aussierod wrote:It's now Thursday (8 days later) and still zero contact from any Optus tech.

I'm running out of expensive 4G pre-paid and patience.
We are chasing the supplier as there has been no progress with this case. We've tried a different approche and expect and update today.
As soon as we get an update we will communicate it to you.
"Helping Making a Better World"

Log a fault ticket Here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

aussierod
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Qld

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by aussierod » Thu Nov 10, 2016 3:44 pm

Quick add on note in case it's important ..

While reading the help wiki today, I see Optus use PPPoE LLC 8/35

When we joined Exetel seven years ago, we were on Telstra,
thus have been using PPPoA VC 8/35 all this time as A. we didn't
know the difference B. were never told to change modem settings
about three years ago when we were changed over to Optus.

Wiki says it's common for the password to be the user phone number
and the first two letters of the street in uppercase.

When we joined, we had the option to select our own password.

Four days ago Exetel via sms confirmed my custom password is still current.

I've always had the user name per the wiki description. (phone_number@qld.exetel.com.au)

In the last hour I've..
- changed to PPPoE LLC 8/35
- my custom password
- phone_number@qld.exetel.com.au

Reboot, but no auth. Then tried...
- PPPoE LLC 8/35
- wiki described password
- phone_number@qld.exetel.com.au

Reboot, but no auth. Now I've gone back to..
- PPPoE LLC 8/35
- my custom password
- phone_number@qld.exetel.com.au

The wizard in my NETGEAR DGN2000 is even confused as to what line it's in sync with.

Thanks,
Rodney.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2374
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by KavindaS » Thu Nov 10, 2016 4:55 pm

aussierod wrote:
Reboot, but no auth. Now I've gone back to..
- PPPoE LLC 8/35
- my custom password
- phone_number@qld.exetel.com.au

The wizard in my NETGEAR DGN2000 is even confused as to what line it's in sync with.

Thanks,
Rodney.
Hi Rodney,

We had services authenticated with PPPoA/VCMux 8/35 which were connected with AAPT Dslams. Since your service is provisioned with an Optus Dslam, keep the configured modem on and connected with the most recently given username/password credentials, PPPoE/LLC and 8/35 for VPI VCI settings. Currently we have escalated with Optus management and waiting on their feedback.

aussierod
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Qld

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by aussierod » Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:44 pm

...day 9 .... and the weekend coming up fast.

Between the exchange and us is about 7km of copper wire, thus we're used to
the slow speeds - been like that for years.

I'm not an expert on the other stats. Anything look bad?

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 2699 kbps 700 kbps
Line Attenuation 53.5 db 29.4 db
Noise Margin 11.9 db 12.2 db

Still no word from the techs yet.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2374
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by KavindaS » Fri Nov 11, 2016 3:58 pm

aussierod wrote:...day 9 .... and the weekend coming up fast.

Between the exchange and us is about 7km of copper wire, thus we're used to
the slow speeds - been like that for years.

I'm not an expert on the other stats. Anything look bad?

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 2699 kbps 700 kbps
Line Attenuation 53.5 db 29.4 db
Noise Margin 11.9 db 12.2 db

Still no word from the techs yet.
Hi,

We have just updated you in your mobile, since our wholesales supplier has investigated your reported service issue and has resolved it. Please check the service as we could see the connection is successfully authenticated now.
Root cause - Supplier confirmed it is a provisioning / programming error which they have finally identified and fixed.

aussierod
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Qld

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by aussierod » Fri Nov 11, 2016 4:07 pm

Hi, just checked and it's back on again.

I'm not holding my breath though, as they thought they fixed
their system last month as well.

Thanks,
Rodney.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2374
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by KavindaS » Fri Nov 11, 2016 5:15 pm

aussierod wrote:Hi, just checked and it's back on again.

I'm not holding my breath though, as they thought they fixed
their system last month as well.

Thanks,
Rodney.
Hi Rodeny,

Hopefully things would be better from now on. We have highlighted that during our escalation to their management.

aussierod
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Qld

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by aussierod » Tue Nov 15, 2016 12:12 am

As of 10pm (Qld) tonight 14/11/16 it's fricked up again.

New ticket - YUV-64884-886


----------------------------
15/11/16 update: support sent an email saying it was
working again from 3.10am (I was asleep) 15/11/16

It's working at the moment. (9.00am 15/11/16)

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2374
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by KavindaS » Tue Nov 15, 2016 4:53 pm

aussierod wrote:As of 10pm (Qld) tonight 14/11/16 it's fricked up again.

New ticket - YUV-64884-886


----------------------------
15/11/16 update: support sent an email saying it was
working again from 3.10am (I was asleep) 15/11/16

It's working at the moment. (9.00am 15/11/16)
I have checked in supplier portals and there were no identified errors or reported issues in relates to this. I could see the successful session of 13 hours and 40 minutes through the radius server. Monitor the service further and let us know if the issue persists.

aussierod
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Qld

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by aussierod » Tue Nov 15, 2016 6:47 pm

KavindaS wrote:I could see the successful session of 13 hours and 40 minutes through the radius server.
I have a tablet on 24/7 that refreshes the BOM (bureau of meteorology) radar page every
couple of minutes. From a non-tech newbie pov, I would have assumed the session would have been kept alive 72+ hours since re-hook up again last Friday.

Anyway, as of 10pm last night it went off. (OK at the moment)

I pulled the modem power cord for a full 3 or 4 min reboot, yet nothing.
So I gave up after an hour and went to bed thinking about Spintel.

Be nice is services we pay for (even when broken) would just work like they used to
the prior six or so years.

Rodney.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2374
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Optus ain't authenticating again

Post by KavindaS » Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:10 pm

aussierod wrote:
KavindaS wrote:I could see the successful session of 13 hours and 40 minutes through the radius server.
I have a tablet on 24/7 that refreshes the BOM (bureau of meteorology) radar page every
couple of minutes. From a non-tech newbie pov, I would have assumed the session would have been kept alive 72+ hours since re-hook up again last Friday.

Anyway, as of 10pm last night it went off. (OK at the moment)

I pulled the modem power cord for a full 3 or 4 min reboot, yet nothing.
So I gave up after an hour and went to bed thinking about Spintel.

Be nice is services we pay for (even when broken) would just work like they used to
the prior six or so years.

Rodney.
I have detailed everything in your new ticket 10935162. Line conditions with parameters are within the specifications, which cannot confirm any issues related to the stability. As requested before, lets monitor the service further.

Post Reply