Will this affect Exetel?

Open discussion regarding technological or telecommunication issues
LordS
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:56 pm
Location: Australia

Will this affect Exetel?

Post by LordS » Thu Jul 16, 2009 9:02 pm

From recollection Exetel requires customers have a telstra line before they can go naked...

Will this affect numbers?

http://apcmag.com/telstra-slugs-new-lan ... enalty.htm

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6015
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by Dazzled » Thu Jul 16, 2009 9:04 pm

It's caught gbowen444 out already. See http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=219&t=32812

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri Jul 17, 2009 12:15 am

Yeah. I think this will affect Exetel. Worst case, it will add $100 to activation costs for users. Best case...I dunno. Will be interesting to hear the options available to Exetel and new users

karLos
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:28 pm
Location: Stanmore, NSW
Contact:

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by karLos » Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:41 am

will exetel at some point not be able to do this... ?

"Providers with a full provisioning capability (such as iiNet) do not require this, and can provision naked DSL from scratch on an inactive line.”

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:25 am

iiNet operate their own infrastructure, Exetel uses Optus for Naked connections

It may be possible for providers to arrange for the provisioning of lines through the Carrier, but there is suspicion that Telstra et al place such requests at lowest priority and this causes a lot of delay in provisioning services. Hence the recommendation has previously been for users to activate the line themselves to speed up the process.

JasonM

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by JasonM » Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:29 am

There are alternatives, but these may have significant affects on activation - such as delays, or technicians activating the wrong pair into the premises and other headaches users don't need.
Much better to have the line activated and working prior to porting over.

ForumAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by ForumAdmin » Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:40 am

Exetel can provide such a service for a fee and now that Telstra has made this change we will, progressively, make it available for a fee of around $90.00

paulp
Exetel Staff
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:13 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by paulp » Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:54 am

Guys,

Further to ForumAdmin and Jason M's post, Exetel will begin to offer, for current customers the ability to relocate and reconnect without the need of activating a line with Telstra.

This will, as per mention, have a cost of $90.

Porting active telephone numbers have a much better provisioning process and timeframe where variables such as the incorrect pair, additional Optus techncian (For MDU's), qualification and priority for Telstra technicians (which means longer prov times in the order of a couple of days). However, thanks to yet another anti-competitive move from Telstra, we have to adjust for the benefit of our customers but it does mean , that technically, the possibility for hitches can arise - we grin and bear it.

Also, as Forum Admin has said, it's progressive and currently will apply to those customers with Exetel. The overwhelming majority of new customers already have active services which this does not affect.

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:06 am

paulp wrote:This will, as per mention, have a cost of $90.
$90 in addition to, or inclusive of, relocation / ADSL activation costs?

paulp
Exetel Staff
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:13 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by paulp » Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:11 am

Hi Corey,

It will ONLY cost $90 for the customer. This covers the new install cost.

gbowen444
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:55 am

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by gbowen444 » Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:52 am

When will this take effect/how do I make this happen? Obviously this is very new and the "Move ADSL" section of the user facilities still has the old process in place. I really need to do it as soon as possible as I am moving in to my place tomorrow (literally) and dont' want to be without internet and phone for longer than I need to be.

Also will this be for Naked as well as Bundled services?

paulp
Exetel Staff
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:13 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by paulp » Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:59 am

gbowen444,

We are working on this as we speak.

Form will be up on Monday, for both bundled and naked adsl2 current customers that wish to relocate.

ronenb75
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 9:31 am
Location: Belgrave South, Vic

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by ronenb75 » Fri Jul 17, 2009 1:19 pm

I must tell you - you rock!

Telstra are ass***s!
Introducing this new relocate service all through Exetel facility - makes it very easy for us.

I'm moving house in a week, and that's exactly what I needed right now. Good thing I held the Telstra activation process :D
Contrary to popular belief, UNIX is user friendly.
It just happens to be selective about who it makes friends with...

gbowen444
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:55 am

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by gbowen444 » Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:56 pm

paulp wrote: We are working on this as we speak.

Form will be up on Monday, for both bundled and naked adsl2 current customers that wish to relocate.
Thanks heaps. Super service and I will remain a happy Exetel customer. :D

karLos
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:28 pm
Location: Stanmore, NSW
Contact:

Re: Will this affect Exetel?

Post by karLos » Sat Jul 18, 2009 10:26 am

good news.

hopefully someone will bring some legal action against telstra for this.

Post Reply