Page 1 of 1

does exetel provide mobile phone updates

Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:04 am
by dallas.g
I have a samsung GS2, and it's stock gingerbread, alot of providers including optus, who I thought was the mobile provider which exetel buys service from.

seeing as optus won't push/OTA an ICS update to my phone will exetel?

I know I can do this myself, but i've never done it, and thought a quicker way is to get it pushed like everyone else.

is this possible?

Re: does exetel provide mobile phone updates

Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:44 am
by Meshal S
Hi there,

As Exetel's service runs on the Optus network, this is not possible - therefore, you will have to check with the mobile handset manufacturer as to how you can manually obtain these updates.

Re: does exetel provide mobile phone updates

Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 10:20 am
by dallas.g
sorry saying it isn't possible is not a satisfactory response without explaining why.

why it is not possible?, other telco's provide updates to their customers, optus does this and you utilise the optus network.

I just don't understand.

Re: does exetel provide mobile phone updates

Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:46 pm
by felix
dallas.g wrote:seeing as optus won't push/OTA an ICS update to my phone will exetel?
you answered that yourself. Exetel use Optus infrastructure and as such buy a subset (or whole set) of their services. If ICS push out isnt in the catalog, they can't do it.

Would be different if Optus did it but Exetel didn't.

Re: does exetel provide mobile phone updates

Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 3:18 pm
by James
dallas.g wrote:sorry saying it isn't possible is not a satisfactory response without explaining why.

why it is not possible?, other telco's provide updates to their customers, optus does this and you utilise the optus network.

I just don't understand.
Didn't you say Optus won't do this? If Optus won't, then they definitely won't allow other providers using their network.

Re: does exetel provide mobile phone updates

Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:30 pm
by dallas.g
the reason optus wont push it to me is because I am not a customer of theirs, not because they dont do it, as far as I am aware customers of optus with gs2s have recieved the ICS update via optus OTA updates.

so if they have the facilities to do so why can exetel not do the same ?

sorry if how I worded it seemed to confuse people.

Re: does exetel provide mobile phone updates

Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:09 pm
by shoner
dallas.g wrote:the reason optus wont push it to me is because I am not a customer of theirs, not because they dont do it, as far as I am aware customers of optus with gs2s have received the ICS update via optus OTA updates.

so if they have the facilities to do so why can exetel not do the same ?

sorry if how I worded it seemed to confuse people.
We understand your situation, however Exetel does not offer all the services and plans that Optus offers. At the moment the service that you are requesting is not offered, may be in the future, the management would negotiate with optus into offering this. For the time being I would suggest that you update your software manually.

Re: does exetel provide mobile phone updates

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:40 pm
by IanS
dallas.g wrote:the reason optus wont push it to me is because I am not a customer of theirs, not because they dont do it, as far as I am aware customers of optus with gs2s have recieved the ICS update via optus OTA updates.

so if they have the facilities to do so why can exetel not do the same ?

sorry if how I worded it seemed to confuse people.
Do they? I'm on Optus & I have my SGS2 set to "Auto update" (settings > About phone > Software update > Auto update)

There's an option on the Software update menu "Push message" and in fine print it says "You can receive software update information via push messages after signing in to Google account". Don't think it has anything to do with Optus.

Re: does exetel provide mobile phone updates

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:35 am
by ozkidzez91
Just flash a custom rom, you'll be happier. You can even just manually flash a stock optus rom, they're available all over the net.

Re: does exetel provide mobile phone updates

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:23 pm
by samarium
If you want an OTA update, why not find a mate with an Optus plan, and swap the SIM temporarily, do the update, then swap back.

Or get a $2 SIM, and a days data, and do the OTA that way.

Or do as suggested above, don't use OTA, download one of the many stock ROMS, and upgrade with Kies, Odin or Heimdall.