No dial tone. ADSL connection fine

Bundled telephone and Wireline services
Post Reply
Shogun117
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:41 am
Location: Melbourne

No dial tone. ADSL connection fine

Post by Shogun117 » Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:05 pm

Hey guys, as stated in the subject line - I've got ADSL up and running but just recently the phone line went dead. Have tried different phone ports, different filters, different handsets and isolation test to no avail.

Any insight on this would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5994
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: No dial tone. ADSL connection fine

Post by Dazzled » Fri Mar 14, 2014 7:46 pm

Your modem can get a signal. slowly, on one conductor. The phone needs the pair. Log a phone fault with your phone provider (email residentialsupport@exetel.com.au if it's a bundled service).

Shogun117
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:41 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: No dial tone. ADSL connection fine

Post by Shogun117 » Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:35 pm

Will do, thanks!

daveb
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:01 pm

Re: No dial tone. ADSL connection fine

Post by daveb » Fri Mar 28, 2014 10:35 pm

Hi - I have the same problem - adsl but no dial tone, just noise. I called 80301000 - line checks failed with splitters and filters removed from wall and I was told a technician could be sent out to check the lines up to my block of flats. I was told if they found no fault I would be charged a $200+ 'penalty' and still have the problem.

I was not too happy with this exhorbitant gamble being presented as my only recourse. Any suggestions of how best to deal with this?

daveb
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:01 pm

Re: No dial tone. ADSL connection fine

Post by daveb » Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:28 pm

okay I'll start a new topic

Post Reply