FireFox Usage Meter

Queries, errors or glitches regarding Member facilities
CheeseOnToast
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 12:26 am
Location: Wollongong

Post by CheeseOnToast » Fri Oct 01, 2004 1:10 am

just when i thought FF could not get any better... awesome! :D :D :D

pongie

Post by pongie » Tue Oct 05, 2004 11:00 am

Gidget wrote:Oh I see - sorry :oops: I didn't realise they were two different pages.

You could ask the NetUsage author to do a wireless version too - he's pretty amenable to requests.

Cheers

Gidget
It's been a while and I have yet to heard from the author... busy maybe...

All I can do is patiently wait I guess....

pongie

Post by pongie » Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:37 am

and the wait is over!!!

It's done guys and it works!!!

Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1813
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Post by Gidget » Mon Nov 01, 2004 1:23 am

Thanks for the update, Pongie.

Cheers

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

DKt-SONIC
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:51 pm
Location: Northern Beaches, Sydney
Contact:

purely out of interest

Post by DKt-SONIC » Mon Nov 01, 2004 7:59 am

well i think this would be cool, you know how you have usage query.... yeah you know it's coming. What if we could actually make a query!
like for instance how cool would something like
select sum(download) from
select sum(usage.peak) as download from usage union
select sum(usage.offpeak) as download from usage
but then i'm probably dreaming
throw new OutOfMemoryError();

pongie

Post by pongie » Mon Nov 01, 2004 11:44 am

Potentially not a good idea if everyone just went select * from ....

Too much load for the server??

Mr Creosote
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 8:07 pm
Location: Blue Mountains

Post by Mr Creosote » Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:29 am

I've downloaded the latest version of this extension, and running it on FF 1.0PR. The tooltip pop-up reports a usage amount, but the main display shows NaN%, and I'm not getting the colours shown on the extension's home page.

I found it works if I put in my usage limit manually using the prferences, but implication is that this should have been automatic ??
Stress is a genetic disorder.....you get it from your kids !

Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1813
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Post by Gidget » Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:46 am

Hi Mr Creosote

The Net Usage extension is working correctly.

The reason you have to record your usage limit manually is because Exetel doesn't include this information on its usage page.

The extension author explains that Exetel users have to enter their usage limit and starting day manually, on this page
http://netusage.mozdev.org/isps.html

Since you only need to do this once when you first install the extension (or change your plan) it is no great hardship.

Cheers

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

Mr Creosote
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 8:07 pm
Location: Blue Mountains

Post by Mr Creosote » Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:53 am

Thanks Gidget - didn't see that page. :oops:
Stress is a genetic disorder.....you get it from your kids !

carbon based
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 3:17 am
Location: Sydney

firefox usage meter

Post by carbon based » Sat Jan 01, 2005 4:58 pm

Hi
The start day of usage month for exetel, would it be entered as a 1 and when clicking on the percentage it will not log in, it will however retrieve the info if i'm already logged in. The password n details are correct.
Tah heaps
Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent and reboot. Order shall return.

Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1813
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Post by Gidget » Sat Jan 01, 2005 5:11 pm

Hi carbon based

Yes, the start day is entered as "1".

What version of the usage meter and of Firefox are you using? I used to have occasional problems retrieving the usage (often had to click on the meter twice in a row because the first click failed). Since I've had the combination of Net Usage Meter 0.6.1 and Firefox 1.0 (using Windows XP Pro) I haven't had any problems at all.

Cheers

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

carbon based
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 3:17 am
Location: Sydney

firefox usage meter

Post by carbon based » Sat Jan 01, 2005 5:26 pm

hi Gidget
I'm using FF 1.0 on xp homeless sp1
If i click on the bar it seems to update ok meaning no warnings but no login if i click on the percentage. Is this normal?
Thanks again
Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent and reboot. Order shall return.

Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1813
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Re: firefox usage meter

Post by Gidget » Sat Jan 01, 2005 5:34 pm

carbon based wrote: If i click on the bar it seems to update ok meaning no warnings but no login if i click on the percentage. Is this normal?
Thanks again
Hi carbon based

I believe this behaviour is expected - mine does the same thing. If you click on the % sign it takes you to your current month's usage page if you are already logged in to your member's facilities, other wise it takes you to the log-in page.

Cheers

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

carbon based
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 3:17 am
Location: Sydney

Post by carbon based » Sat Jan 01, 2005 5:41 pm

Thanks heaps for the lightning reply.
you mentioned "Net Usage Meter 0.6.1" is that the exetel usage meter by Andrew Burns (google didn't find it)
Tah
Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent and reboot. Order shall return.

Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1813
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Post by Gidget » Sat Jan 01, 2005 5:46 pm

Hi carbon based

The correct name is Net Usage Item (my bad for calling it Net Usage Meter :oops: ).

It is available here.

Cheers

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

Post Reply