FireFox Usage Meter

Queries, errors or glitches regarding Member facilities
User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by CoreyPlover » Wed Dec 24, 2008 12:30 pm

Lukian wrote:Exetel need to make the standard usage meter (with HSPA download/upload data values available).
See http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.ph ... 53#p230253.

User avatar
vk3xem
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: HEALESVILLE
Contact:

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by vk3xem » Wed Dec 24, 2008 6:43 pm

Hopefully they will look into it in the New Year.

Merry Christmas Corey and everyone at Exetel.
The views I present are that of my own and NOT of any organisation I may belong to.

73 de Simon, VK3XEM

frugalest
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:11 am
Location: Newcastle, NSW

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by frugalest » Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:15 pm

My usage meter is set to "use smart updates". For no reason I just decided to manually check if there was an update by right-clicking and selecting "Check For New Version". And there is! Why didn't the "Use Smart Updates" tell me there was an update available?

User avatar
vk3xem
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: HEALESVILLE
Contact:

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by vk3xem » Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:24 am

frugalest wrote:My usage meter is set to "use smart updates". For no reason I just decided to manually check if there was an update by right-clicking and selecting "Check For New Version". And there is! Why didn't the "Use Smart Updates" tell me there was an update available?
Mly understanding is it only offers major update, minor updates that are of no consequence are ignored.
The views I present are that of my own and NOT of any organisation I may belong to.

73 de Simon, VK3XEM

peterh_oz
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:13 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by peterh_oz » Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:47 pm

I'm on the B09 Business plan (30Gb per month, no peak/offpeak). Yet my usage meter AND my user facilities show peak & offpeak usage. I've used 7216Mb, but am showing as 5510 peak & 1706 offpeak. Also I am showing as using 18% of my monthly usage when it is actually 24%. Again this is for both the usage meter AND my user facilities.

Can someone confirm:

1. that I have 30Gb total, not 30Gb peak + offpeak allowance?
2. that is I'm wrong re 1, then what is the offpeak allowance?
3. that if I'm right re 1, that the usage meter is incorrect (both the firefox one AND the user facilities one) and if so then when will they be fixed? Especially the user facilities.

Yes I know this could/should be posted in multiple places but I had to choose somewhere!

Thanx

User avatar
vk3xem
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: HEALESVILLE
Contact:

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by vk3xem » Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:46 am

peterh_oz wrote:I'm on the B09 Business plan (30Gb per month, no peak/offpeak). Yet my usage meter AND my user facilities show peak & offpeak usage. I've used 7216Mb, but am showing as 5510 peak & 1706 offpeak. Also I am showing as using 18% of my monthly usage when it is actually 24%. Again this is for both the usage meter AND my user facilities.
Double check the configuration for your Meter.

Right click on the Meter and select Display Text and check that you have selected Peak Percentage or Peak MB, (which ever you prefer).

Then right click the Meter again and select Preferences, then check the following settings are correct.

1. Start Day of the month is set to 1.
2. Peak Download Quota (MB) is set to 30000 MB (If you have a 30 GB quota).
3. Offpeak Download Quota (MB) is set to 0 MB.

Hopefully that will correct the Meter.
The views I present are that of my own and NOT of any organisation I may belong to.

73 de Simon, VK3XEM

peterh_oz
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:13 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by peterh_oz » Sat Jan 31, 2009 1:40 pm

vk3xem wrote:
peterh_oz wrote:I'm on the B09 Business plan (30Gb per month, no peak/offpeak). Yet my usage meter AND my user facilities show peak & offpeak usage. I've used 7216Mb, but am showing as 5510 peak & 1706 offpeak. Also I am showing as using 18% of my monthly usage when it is actually 24%. Again this is for both the usage meter AND my user facilities.
1. Start Day of the month is set to 1.
2. Peak Download Quota (MB) is set to 30000 MB (If you have a 30 GB quota).
3. Offpeak Download Quota (MB) is set to 0 MB.
That is what I have. The meter shows the same info as the exetel members facilities, which also shows peak & offpeak, but with no mention of 54Gb offpeak limit.

From usage facilities (not the meter software):

Peak - 6431.5 MB / 30000 MB (21.44%)
Offpeak - 3012.98 MB / 0 MB (0.00%)

I would prefer this to say 9444.48 MB / 30000 MB (31.48%) rather than me having to add it up to see what I've used.

I don't want to cross-post this but maybe I will need to cross post it into the user facilities forum.

BarbK
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:03 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by BarbK » Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:18 pm

I haven't been able to use any usage meter for some months now. Up to a few months back I was able to log into the usage area of exetel with just my phone number but for some reason that changed and I now have to use my phone number@vic.exetel.com.au . Since that change has happened I haven't been able to use any of the usage meters. I still keep the firefox one on because if I right click it and visit isp usage page the home page comes up straight away without having to log into it.

Anyone got any ideas on how to fix this. Would be nice to just be able to judge usage at a glance again.

User avatar
Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by Gidget » Sun Mar 01, 2009 2:07 pm

Hi Barb

I think you might be logging in using an alternative username/password combination.

I'll re-send your log-in details to your contact email address on file. Let me know how you get on.

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

BarbK
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:03 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by BarbK » Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:11 pm

Hi Gidget, thanks for the response.

Got the email from you. It says user account facility account name as my phone number but I still can't log into it using just that. Still have to log in using number@vic.exetel.com.au

User avatar
Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by Gidget » Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:28 pm

Hi Barb

What page are you logging in from? Possibilities are:
http://www.exetel.com.au/
http://www.exetel.com.au/index_alt.php (the non-Flash alternative home page)
https://www.exetel.com.au/login/
https://www.exetel.com.au/members/

Try the other ones you aren't using and see if you get the same problem.

It is also possible that your Firefox cookie for the User Facilities page has become stale or got otherwise corrupted. Try deleting your cookies.

Let me know how you get on.

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

BarbK
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:03 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by BarbK » Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:43 pm

Hi Gidget, Just deleted my cookies and tried all the pages you listed. Still can't login with just phone number. I looked at the change password section for an idea and it has my login name as number@vic.exetel.com.au

Just tried using internet explorer too, no luck.

User avatar
Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by Gidget » Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:57 pm

Hi Barb

Can you please PM me the password you are using.

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

BarbK
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:03 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by BarbK » Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:06 pm

PM sent. I think you might find two, I messed up the first one.

User avatar
Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Re: FireFox Usage Meter

Post by Gidget » Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:16 pm

No problem, PM answered and problem hopefully solved :D

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

Post Reply