Usage meter too high

Queries, errors or glitches regarding Member facilities
Post Reply
jhall006
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Sydney

Usage meter too high

Post by jhall006 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 8:33 pm

Hi exetel,

Are you able to look into my usage meter? I've been an exetel user for ages and never had this problem until we recently opened a new account, 0280849580

I am getting peak download usages far in excess of what we are actually using - 1,170MB and 700MB with just web browsing? No videos, no youtube, no downloads. Just ebay, and some university PDFs that don't exceed 5mb.

Our router isn't broadcasting the SSID and it requires a password as well, so I doubt anyone else is using it.
I have automatic updates off and no programs running in the background, other than a gmail notifier.

What's going on here?

Thanks very much, please let me know.

User avatar
stevecJ
Forum Admin
Posts: 1040
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:48 am

Re: Usage meter too high

Post by stevecJ » Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:12 pm

jhall006 wrote:Hi exetel,

Are you able to look into my usage meter? I've been an exetel user for ages and never had this problem until we recently opened a new account, 0280849580

I am getting peak download usages far in excess of what we are actually using - 1,170MB and 700MB with just web browsing? No videos, no youtube, no downloads. Just ebay, and some university PDFs that don't exceed 5mb.

Our router isn't broadcasting the SSID and it requires a password as well, so I doubt anyone else is using it.
I have automatic updates off and no programs running in the background, other than a gmail notifier.

What's going on here?

Thanks very much, please let me know.
Hi,

I checked your usage and re calculated it since 1st of March and there is no issues with the recorded usage.

If you still have any further concerns, it's best to open a ticket so that can be investigated further. You may use the link in my signature to open a ticket.
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

jhall006
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Usage meter too high

Post by jhall006 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:50 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the quick reply.
It's very strange, I have now added MAC address specific wireless filters to be 100% sure that no one else has access.

I will try lodging a ticket as I don't believe anyone else has access and when we were with Exetel on our prior plan (10GB) we never even came close to using it, and we had the same usage patterns as we do now.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Usage meter too high

Post by Dazzled » Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:55 pm

If you use Windows, run a malware check as well, to be certain nobody else is using your box. Netstat is always worth checking out too; it's available for all operating systems, and shows all connections being made to the outside by that computer. The Windows version is discussed here http://commandwindows.com/netstat.htm

jhall006
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Usage meter too high

Post by jhall006 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:03 pm

Hi Dazzled,
Thanks for the reply and the tip.
I only installed Windows 7 a couple of weeks ago, and we've got AVG installed and have never had Malware before (pretty careful), but I'm totally baffled by this.

The only difference to the past when our usage practices were the same, and usage meter seemed to reflect accurate figures, is that we now also have a Mac laptop and although I've got software updates switched off, I'm not as familiar with these as windows based systems. Tomorrow I'm going to just use the Macbook and see if that gives any ideas.

jhall006
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Usage meter too high

Post by jhall006 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:15 pm

Is the off peak and peak time indicated correct in my members area?
It says peak is 12.00 to 24.00, but when I view the plan in the residential area of the website it says peak is 9am to 1am?

User avatar
stevecJ
Forum Admin
Posts: 1040
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:48 am

Re: Usage meter too high

Post by stevecJ » Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:27 pm

jhall006 wrote:Is the off peak and peak time indicated correct in my members area?
It says peak is 12.00 to 24.00, but when I view the plan in the residential area of the website it says peak is 9am to 1am?
Hi,

According to your service, the correct Peak/Off peak time frames are as follows.

Peak Period : 12:00 to 24:00
Offpeak Period: 00:00 to 12:00
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

jhall006
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Usage meter too high

Post by jhall006 » Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:20 am

Thank you for that.
I can't solve this, I had the macbook on for 10 minutes this morning and opened SMH, ebay and facebook and it used 10MB - that definitely doesn't seem right.

If I was to upgrade my plan to allow for 10GB peak and 10GB off peak, would my peak and off peak times stay the same as they are now, or be adjusted to the new 9-1 times?

thanks

EromalR
Exetel Staff
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: Usage meter too high

Post by EromalR » Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:55 am

jhall006 wrote:Thank you for that.
I can't solve this, I had the macbook on for 10 minutes this morning and opened SMH, ebay and facebook and it used 10MB - that definitely doesn't seem right.

If I was to upgrade my plan to allow for 10GB peak and 10GB off peak, would my peak and off peak times stay the same as they are now, or be adjusted to the new 9-1 times?

thanks
You are currently in a new plan called OT-5, where the peak and off-peak time should be 9am-1am and 1am - 9am. This has now been adjusted in your members facility.

jhall006
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Usage meter too high

Post by jhall006 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:51 pm

Dear EromalR,
I'm sorry but I signed up to a plan with peak and off peak being 12-2400.
Can you really adjust my peak and off peak period without my consent?

This sounds like a breach of contract.
Please revert my settings back to the appropriate times that I signed up for:
Peak Period : 12:00 to 24:00
Offpeak Period: 00:00 to 12:00

I have also had the entire days usage allocated to peak, when it should not have been allocated to peak before 12pm.

Please also adjust accordingly.

Thank you.

Post Reply