Member Facilities Apparent HTTPS Error

Queries, errors or glitches regarding Member facilities
Post Reply
User avatar
csouter
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Homebush West, NSW, Australia

Member Facilities Apparent HTTPS Error

Post by csouter » Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:55 pm

Hi, all!

In the last few days, the "https://" Padlock icon for the Member Facilities in Google Chrome has been showing as crossed out.

Clicking on the icon produces a report which states, among other things that the connection is encrypted with obsolete cryptography.

I tried to attach a screenshot of the report, but I got an error message: "Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached."

Could someone please investigate and report back ASAP?

Could someone also please explain what the board attachment quota is, and how I could have reached it? (I don't remember ever having uploaded any attachments before).
Thanks and regards
Christopher Souter
(Sydney, NSW, Australia)

kookaburra2
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:00 pm
Location: Gold Coast

Re: Member Facilities Apparent HTTPS Error

Post by kookaburra2 » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:49 am

At http://www.itcs.umich.edu/web/chrome41.php it says: "Sometime in Spring 2015, Google Chrome version 42 (available in beta as of March 2015) is expected to be released. This version of Chrome flags as insecure sites with SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) certificates that use SHA-1 instead of SHA-2."
Chrome version 42 was released a few days ago.
Exetel: Are you using SHA-1 still?

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5997
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Member Facilities Apparent HTTPS Error

Post by Dazzled » Fri Apr 17, 2015 12:08 pm

You can read the whole connection certificate data using openssl s_client if you have it installed. Use the -showcerts argument.

If you are only interested in ssl3, use -ssl3. You will get a handshake failure message.

Post Reply