New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Web hosting, FTP/database access, mirror services and hosted blogs
SysAdmin

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by SysAdmin » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:31 pm

leigh308 wrote:I suspect that the issue is that the address is temporary.home.exetel.com.au/websitename but you can apparently only create home.exetel.com.au/websitename unless wysiwyg is not true.
I think if the server demands temporary as a prefix and the form only allows the original we're screwed for the moment...it will always return creation failed. Not exactly the cleverest if this is the case..
In all honesty I wish I knew what you just said so that I could give a proper reply. :) Could you please clarify?

Andrew

VK
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 10:38 pm

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by VK » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:39 pm

OK, I created a web space but now I am unable to log on to the ftp server:

Code: Select all

>ftp home.exetel.com.au
Connected to oh.exetel.com.au.
220 ProFTPD 1.2.10 Server (home.exetel.com.au) [220.233.0.13]
User (oh.exetel.com.au:(none)): fw_XXXXX
331 Password required for fw_XXXXX.
Password:
530 Login incorrect.
Login failed.
ftp> bye
221 Goodbye.
I even reset the password using the web interface but it did not help.

exeusersh
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:44 pm
Location: Cumbalum NSW

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by exeusersh » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:43 pm

I created my new webspace on the temporary server.
I received the confirmation email.
I ftp'd into the temporary server with new username + password, and left an index.html on the server.
When I go to the web address, the browser gets a 404 NOT FOUND error.

http://temporary.home.exetel.com.au/plinthe/index.html

Could you please check that the user directory for fw_plinthe matches the web config.

SysAdmin

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by SysAdmin » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:49 pm

exeusersh wrote:I created my new webspace on the temporary server.
I received the confirmation email.
I ftp'd into the temporary server with new username + password, and left an index.html on the server.
When I go to the web address, the browser gets a 404 NOT FOUND error.

http://temporary.home.exetel.com.au/plinthe/index.html

Could you please check that the user directory for fw_plinthe matches the web config.
Fixed.

Andrew

SysAdmin

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by SysAdmin » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:50 pm

VK wrote:OK, I created a web space but now I am unable to log on to the ftp server:

Code: Select all

>ftp home.exetel.com.au
Connected to oh.exetel.com.au.
220 ProFTPD 1.2.10 Server (home.exetel.com.au) [220.233.0.13]
User (oh.exetel.com.au:(none)): fw_XXXXX
331 Password required for fw_XXXXX.
Password:
530 Login incorrect.
Login failed.
ftp> bye
221 Goodbye.
I even reset the password using the web interface but it did not help.
You're connecting to the wrong server. Connect to temporary.home.exetel.com.au during the crossover period.

Andrew

jaxexodus
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by jaxexodus » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:56 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to find activate in the member tools area, but the "Web Space Configuration" page source ends with

Code: Select all

<h2>Your Web Space Details</h2>
    
<table border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0">
	
I imagine there should be more than this on the page ....
LIttle help would be nice

J

SysAdmin

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by SysAdmin » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:00 pm

jaxexodus wrote:Hi,

I'm trying to find activate in the member tools area, but the "Web Space Configuration" page source ends with

Code: Select all

<h2>Your Web Space Details</h2>
    
<table border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0">
	
I imagine there should be more than this on the page ....
Indeed there should. I have just tried to duplicate this and failed. Can you PM me your SN and I'll try as you, just in case there's something strange?

Andrew

VK
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 10:38 pm

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by VK » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:00 pm

You're connecting to the wrong server. Connect to temporary.home.exetel.com.au during the crossover period.
That worked fine, thanks.

Mulder
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 7:54 pm

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by Mulder » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:13 pm

So let me get this right. If I do nothing now come the cut off date all the stuff I have now on the server will be erased. After that date I can reload any web site I have to the new server and not change any settings in my FTP that exist now. Other wise I have to change FTP settings now then change them back to what they are now in 2 weeks.
Is this correct? If so I may just wait 2 weeks because I cant get any of the new setting to work and cannot migrate anything to the new server. No matter what settings it wont allow me to log in.
DMP

sunnybear
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:19 pm
Location: Malbourne

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by sunnybear » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:16 pm

hi
it's now working with creating new web name and i am able to log on to the ftp temproary.home.exetel.com.au as well

however, i can't FXP the file from the old one to the new one, i copy and paste the transfer logs below.
i am not quite often use FTP, not sure where it went wrong

Code: Select all

[L] CWD /
[L] 250 CWD command successful
[L] PWD
[L] 257 "/" is the current directory
[R] CWD /
[R] 250 CWD command successful
[R] PWD
[R] 257 "/" is current directory.
[R] PASV
[R] 227 Entering Passive Mode (220,233,0,13,192,66).
[L] PORT 220,233,0,13,192,66
[L] 200 PORT command successful
[L] STOR xmlrpc.php
[L] 425 Unable to build data connection: Connection refused
[L] Transfer Failed!
[L] PASV
[L] 227 Entering Passive Mode (220,233,0,59,219,34).
[L] Opening data connection IP: 220.233.0.59 PORT: 56098
[L] LIST -al
[L] 150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for file list
[L] 226 Transfer complete
[L] List Complete: 322 bytes in 0.92 seconds (0.3 KB/s)
[R] PASV
[R] 227 Entering Passive Mode (220,233,0,13,183,117).
[R] Opening data connection IP: 220.233.0.13 PORT: 46965
[R] LIST -al
[R] 150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for file list
[R] 226 Transfer complete.
[R] List Complete: 1 KB in 0.78 seconds (2.4 KB/s)
Transfer queue completed
1 File failed to transfer
thanks

PS, oh btw, i tried to upload files from my local driver, it was fine. just these two severs dont seem to be connected somehow

jate
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by jate » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:57 pm

Hi,

I'm not very techy, but I manage to set up my wordpress blog using the SQL DB on my account previous, do I have to "move" anything for all my old posts not to be lost? I dont want to come Sep 21st when the migration period is over to find all my posts have been deleted.

Any advice would be great.

Thanks

phelum
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Sydney 2074
Contact:

.htaccess problem

Post by phelum » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:01 pm

I've just copied my site to the new server but any access results in error 500. The problem seems to be caused by my having an .htaccess file. Even if this file is empty the error still occurs. Renaming or removing the file solves the problem.

I've tried different permissions (e.g. 0600, 0644) but this doesn't make any difference.

Has anybody got a site with .htaccess working on the new server? If so, what permissions or tricks did you use?

Thanks,
-- Steven Saunderson

peterbell
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 11:58 am

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by peterbell » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:27 pm

What is the URL for the mysql manager on the temporary server?

Thanks

Peter.

Snow Gun
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by Snow Gun » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:28 pm

Am I correct in assuming, that all I need to do is copy my site (via ftp) to my machine, then copy it back again to the new server, then do the same with the Database (using myphpadmin or whatever it is??)??

peterbell
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 11:58 am

Re: New home.exetel.com.au server now available for use

Post by peterbell » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:33 pm

jate wrote:Hi,

I'm not very techy, but I manage to set up my wordpress blog using the SQL DB on my account previous, do I have to "move" anything for all my old posts not to be lost? I dont want to come Sep 21st when the migration period is over to find all my posts have been deleted.

Any advice would be great.

Thanks
The easiest was would be to copy all the files from the old server to the new server, update the database access information, and then export the database using the php mysql management interface, and import it into the new server.

This is the approach I'm taking with the database I use.

Peter.

Locked