Unable to access my site

Web hosting, FTP/database access, mirror services and hosted blogs
Post Reply
Macko
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Binnaway

Unable to access my site

Post by Macko » Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:24 pm

I've had a computer crash two days ago and dragged out my emergency computer. It is all set up with CuteFTP (which I was using on the old one) but when I tried accessing my website, I kept getting error messages that either the logon id or the password was incorrect. I tried both home.exetel.com.au and temporary.exetel.com.au with the same result.

I went to the utilities webpage and requested a new password for my site. I then tried the new password after a short period of time but still no luck. What do I do now? I need to post some sport results on my webpage.

SysAdmin

Re: Unable to access my site

Post by SysAdmin » Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:28 pm

Macko wrote:I've had a computer crash two days ago and dragged out my emergency computer. It is all set up with CuteFTP (which I was using on the old one) but when I tried accessing my website, I kept getting error messages that either the logon id or the password was incorrect. I tried both home.exetel.com.au and temporary.exetel.com.au with the same result.

I went to the utilities webpage and requested a new password for my site. I then tried the new password after a short period of time but still no luck. What do I do now? I need to post some sport results on my webpage.
Does the emergency computer have your service number as the login name?

Andrew

Macko
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Binnaway

Re: Unable to access my site

Post by Macko » Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:40 pm

Not sure what "service number" is but I've changed the login name to FW_BRIDGE. I did try the old login name before that, just in case.

SysAdmin

Re: Unable to access my site

Post by SysAdmin » Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:52 pm

Macko wrote:Not sure what "service number" is but I've changed the login name to FW_BRIDGE. I did try the old login name before that, just in case.
Ok. It was an idea. I've had a look and you're getting your password wrong.

Andrew

Macko
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Binnaway

Re: Unable to access my site

Post by Macko » Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:58 pm

The password is the one given to me by the automatic password changer :) I copied and pasted it.

SysAdmin

Re: Unable to access my site

Post by SysAdmin » Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:05 pm

Macko wrote:The password is the one given to me by the automatic password changer :) I copied and pasted it.
Well there's nothing that that would single you out in particular. :) I would suggest resetting the password, copying, pasting it into notepad to make sure you copied nothing but the password and then copying it into the password field.

Andrew

Macko
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Binnaway

Re: Unable to access my site

Post by Macko » Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:30 pm

That worked! Somehow it didn't accept my earlier new password but it likes this one :)
Thanks Andrew.

Post Reply