Created new webspace, but getting errors

Web hosting, FTP/database access, mirror services and hosted blogs
Post Reply
Cexitime
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:14 am
Location: Wilton, NSW, Australia, Earth, Solar System.

Created new webspace, but getting errors

Post by Cexitime » Sat May 01, 2010 6:38 pm

Hi,

I've created a webspace and I've currently uploaded a photo slideshow I wish to use to keep people up to date on my current project car.

However I keep getting a 500 internal server error on the webspace, I've tried uploading just a html file with the contents being just test, with the appropriate html tags, and I'm still receiving it, Am I missing something that I'm suppose to do, I have tried setting permissions to 705 but its still not working.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Created new webspace, but getting errors

Post by Dazzled » Sat May 01, 2010 8:01 pm

The server has found a "generic" error, but won't give an outsider on the web any specifics. Does your index.html include any server side scripting (eg php)? Are you trying to do i/o in an area you have no rights for? Most slideshows are scripted. Does any directory contain a .htaccess file? Permissions are ok.

PS A copied script may use file references with wrong assumptions. To check out the correct values for this site, particularly for a php script, put the following one line file on your site, as phpinfo.php, permission 705, and point your browser to it.

Code: Select all

<?php phpinfo(); ?>

Cexitime
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:14 am
Location: Wilton, NSW, Australia, Earth, Solar System.

Re: Created new webspace, but getting errors

Post by Cexitime » Sat May 01, 2010 8:30 pm

Hi,

It does have a htaccess file, permission is set to 705

Tried running that script, but I just get the same error.

Maybe I should try a different one >.<

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Created new webspace, but getting errors

Post by Dazzled » Sat May 01, 2010 8:58 pm

I was thinking that the server may have refused an htaccess direction, as well as the possibility of a php error. Unfortunately for us, the logs are readable only to Exetel. Sysadmin is usually prompt to help with these problems when he gets in.

I'm not sure what you meant though, did you run the phpinfo.php file? - it should work. http://php.net/manual/en/function.phpinfo.php
Last edited by Dazzled on Sat May 01, 2010 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cexitime
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:14 am
Location: Wilton, NSW, Australia, Earth, Solar System.

Re: Created new webspace, but getting errors

Post by Cexitime » Sat May 01, 2010 9:01 pm

No the getinfo wouldn't work, it would just appear with the same error,

I've also just realised I can't access https://mydbadmin.home.exetel.com.au with the information I was given, Tried resetting the password it also didn't work.

lingg
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 8:52 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Created new webspace, but getting errors

Post by lingg » Mon May 03, 2010 9:06 am

Cexitime wrote:No the getinfo wouldn't work, it would just appear with the same error,

I've also just realised I can't access https://mydbadmin.home.exetel.com.au with the information I was given, Tried resetting the password it also didn't work.
As I can see your gallery is up and running, I guess it's all good now?

For more information about free web space setup and file permission, please visit:

http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=221&t=28399

Cexitime
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:14 am
Location: Wilton, NSW, Australia, Earth, Solar System.

Re: Created new webspace, but getting errors

Post by Cexitime » Mon May 03, 2010 12:56 pm

Hi

I changed the gallery over to a different one, not what I wanted to do, but it'll work the same after some configuration.

But thanks anyway :D

Post Reply