Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Queries, errors or glitches regarding Exetel's public web site
ExetelVoice
Exetel Staff
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:43 pm

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by ExetelVoice » Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:20 pm

whitty,

Could you please send your mobile service number to voice@exetel.com.au and refer to this post.

PaulT
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 2:22 pm

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by PaulT » Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:43 pm

Hi there.

A google search for "wireless exetel" gives as the second match the Exetel "Wireless FAQ" with the link http://www.exetel.com.au/c_wireless_faq.php . I can't navigate to that link from within Exetel's website so I suspect those plans are no longer active.

I've come across other such inactive pages on Exetel's website by a search of google. You might want to consider a broader review of all the scripts/pages on your website to ensure they refer to current offers.

Paul T

gong_guy
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:06 am

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by gong_guy » Wed Dec 29, 2010 9:12 pm

Minor issue

This page and drop down menus to access it describe ADSL2 services which are not longer offered (Telstra)

http://www.exetel.com.au/a_plan_pricing_new.php

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by ForumAdmin » Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:32 pm

gong_guy wrote:Minor issue

This page and drop down menus to access it describe ADSL2 services which are not longer offered (Telstra)

http://www.exetel.com.au/a_plan_pricing_new.php
Thank you; the Telstra ADSL services have now been replaced with new plans.

pjce
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Western Sydney

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by pjce » Thu Dec 30, 2010 2:24 pm

Hi All,

I tried to see what other adsl1 plans are currently available and to see if any might suit my needs but I'm unable to get a listing of the current plans in the members area.

All i see when i goto
Manage Services, ADSL - Change Service is:

Change Plan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Useful ‘Add On’ Bonus Packs

Any thoughts? I have looked all through the members area for a new location to change my plans but can't find the page...

Thanks,
Phil

lordvader
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 7:23 pm

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by lordvader » Fri Dec 31, 2010 10:44 am

The webmail.exetel.com.au site seems to be returning 500 errors ...

FYI :)

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by CoreyPlover » Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:11 am

http://www.exetel.com.au/a_plan_pricing_adsl2_new.php shows the "Naked" ADSL2+ plans as being OT200, OT200/19 and OT200/35 when they should be called OCV200, OCV200/19 and OCV200/35 as shown on https://www.exetel.com.au/adsl2_new_ser ... e_form.php.

This error should be fixed *really* quickly because otherwise these plans clash pretty disastrously with the "ADSL2+ Telephone", "ADSL2+ Telephone with CAP19" and ""ADSL2+ Telephone with CAP35" tabs.
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

autron
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 7:24 am
Location: Geelong

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by autron » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:10 pm

CoreyPlover wrote:This error should be fixed *really* quickly because otherwise these plans clash pretty disastrously with the "ADSL2+ Telephone", "ADSL2+ Telephone with CAP19" and ""ADSL2+ Telephone with CAP35" tabs.
Has the website been hacked? When I try and looked at the application pages for the OT ADSL2+ plans I get only old plans and an agent code:

https://www.exetel.com.au/nf_adsl2_full ... _code=V007
https://www.exetel.com.au/adsl2_full_sp ... _code=V007

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by CoreyPlover » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:51 pm

autron wrote:Has the website been hacked? When I try and looked at the application pages for the OT ADSL2+ plans I get only old plans and an agent code:

https://www.exetel.com.au/nf_adsl2_full ... _code=V007
https://www.exetel.com.au/adsl2_full_sp ... _code=V007
All of the "Order" links on the exetel site, as well as those two you've posted, seem to display fine for me.
It is just the name appearing on "Naked" ADSL2 tab of http://www.exetel.com.au/a_plan_pricing_adsl2_new.php that seem to be in error.
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

autron
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 7:24 am
Location: Geelong

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by autron » Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:43 pm

CoreyPlover wrote:All of the "Order" links on the exetel site, as well as those two you've posted, seem to display fine for me.
Maybe for you, but there is definitely a problem as they display OTL and OT-Special plans for me. Cookies were cleared, site accessed from Google. Didn't this come up once before? Whose agent code is that? Note that it goes straight to the application pages and bypasses the availability checker.

These are the plans it shows:

OT-SPECIAL 1 $60.00 $60.00 Included Included 50 GB + $1.00/GB thereafter 180 GB + $1.00/GB

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by CoreyPlover » Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:45 pm

Perhaps you can outline exactly which link(s) you're clicking on so that someone from Exetel can see if they can replicate your issue. Because when I go to http://www.exetel.com.au > Residential > "ADSL2 (400 exchanges)" link > Any of the "Order" buttons (let's say the OT200 one on the "ADSL2+Telephone" tab) it goes to an availability checker and clicking on the "Clicking here" link takes me to an order form (in this case, https://www.exetel.com.au/adsl2_full_bu ... e_form.php) which displays all of the OT plan options correctly.

You're not doing a Google search for a particular search terms and then clicking one link that takes you to an online form, are you? Because by doing that you risk being hyperlinked straight to an old page which Exetel might have unlinked but for which Google's trawling bots haven't yet updated. Can you confirm what navigation path you take from Exetel's main site at http://www.exetel.com.au yields the incorrect application page?
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

autron
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 7:24 am
Location: Geelong

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by autron » Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:06 pm

CoreyPlover wrote:Perhaps you can outline exactly which link(s) you're clicking on so that someone from Exetel can see if they can replicate your issue. Because when I go to http://www.exetel.com.au > Residential > "ADSL2 (400 exchanges)" link > Any of the "Order" buttons (let's say the OT200 one on the "ADSL2+Telephone" tab) it goes to an availability checker.

You're not doing a Google search for a particular search terms and then clicking one link that takes you to an online form, are you? Because by doing that you risk being hyperlinked straight to an old page
No, it does it from the front page www.exetel.com.au. I don't even know if Google is relevant, it's just normally I type the website name (exetel) in the address box and the browser uses google to return the first hit (effectively completing the address).

I can't work out what happens exactly but the plan page gets different links on it. The plans themselves and the date of the page (2/1/11) are correct but the order links don't go to the availability checker, they go to old plans like:
https://www.exetel.com.au/nf_adsl2_full ... _code=V007

autron
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 7:24 am
Location: Geelong

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by autron » Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:16 pm

Here look at the page code that comes up for the order page:

Code: Select all

  <td nowrap="nowrap" class="plan_name">OCV200</td>
                <td>$60.00</td>
                <td>$60.00</td>
                <td>Included</td>
                <td>No Mobile</td>

                <td>N/A</td>
                <td>200 GB</td>
                <td>12 Months</td>
                <td>$780</td>
                <td><a href="https://www.exetel.com.au/adsl2_full_special/residential_online_form.php?agent_code=V007" class="order_btn" target="_blank"><!-- --></a></td>
        </tr
You can see the correct plan name is there (OCV200) but the order link is not to the availability checker. The date on the page is correct:

Code: Select all

<h1>Exetel's Residential Premium ADSL2 Services <span>(Via Optus/AAPT)</span> (2/1/11)</h1>
When I follow the order links I get offered the old plans like OT-SPECIAL and OTL:

Code: Select all

<td align="left" nowrap="nowrap"><input name="plan" value="OT-SPECIAL1" onclick="enableADSLMobilePlan(this.form)" type="radio"> OT-SPECIAL 1</td>

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by ForumAdmin » Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:27 pm

I've asked a sysadmin to reply

raymond
Exetel Staff
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 2:46 pm

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by raymond » Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:59 am

CoreyPlover wrote:Perhaps you can outline exactly which link(s) you're clicking on so that someone from Exetel can see if they can replicate your issue. Because when I go to http://www.exetel.com.au > Residential > "ADSL2 (400 exchanges)" link > Any of the "Order" buttons (let's say the OT200 one on the "ADSL2+Telephone" tab) it goes to an availability checker and clicking on the "Clicking here" link takes me to an order form (in this case, https://www.exetel.com.au/adsl2_full_bu ... e_form.php) which displays all of the OT plan options correctly.
THis has been corrected.

Post Reply