Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Queries, errors or glitches regarding Exetel's public web site
User avatar
stevecJ
Forum Admin
Posts: 1040
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:48 am

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by stevecJ » Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:24 pm

smithi wrote:The speed test link has been broken for something like the last week, still is today.
http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/

Whether accessed directly or from the 'useful links' dropdown on myexetel, the speed test link is just redirecting to http:/www.exetel.com.au/ ie the latest home page.

I usually just access this from:
http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/dsl/initialmeter.php

thence use the 'Retest' link as needed.

I also have this saved in my startup tabs, using the url:
http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/dsl/resu ... recorded=1

I keep this tab open usually, and use it quite frequently to check local exchange conditions, especially before larger downloads, as things vary quite a bit here according to time of day etc (like from around 8Mbps to 14Mbps)

cheers, Ian
Hi Ian,

You may use the following link to perform the speed tests.

www.speedtest.nsw.exetel.com.au
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

smithi
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:21 am
Location: Mountain Top

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by smithi » Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:26 pm

stevecJ wrote:
smithi wrote:The speed test link has been broken for something like the last week, still is today.
http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/

Whether accessed directly or from the 'useful links' dropdown on myexetel, the speed test link is just redirecting to http:/www.exetel.com.au/ ie the latest home page.

I usually just access this from:
http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/dsl/initialmeter.php

thence use the 'Retest' link as needed.

I also have this saved in my startup tabs, using the url:
http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/dsl/resu ... recorded=1

I keep this tab open usually, and use it quite frequently to check local exchange conditions, especially before larger downloads, as things vary quite a bit here according to time of day etc (like from around 8Mbps to 14Mbps)

cheers, Ian
Hi Ian,

You may use the following link to perform the speed tests.

http://www.speedtest.nsw.exetel.com.au
Hi Steve, but soirry, the link you gave doesn't work.

"Address Not Found
http://www.speedtest.nsw.exetel.com.au could not be found. Please check the name and try again."

So on a hunch I tried without the www ..
http://speedtest.nsw.exetel.com.au/

which takews me to a blank page showing only "update your client" which links to adobe.com/flashplayer

I don't (and can't) run the proprietary flash player on my present FreeBSD system.

Can you please make the speed test that's worked fine for the at least the last seven years made accessable again?

I don't mind if it's an obscure URL, but this is a serious loss of functionaliity for me. Exetel's never forced people to use flash or other non-HTML standard tools before.

cheers, Ian

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by ShaminG » Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:13 am

smithi wrote: Hi Steve, but soirry, the link you gave doesn't work.

"Address Not Found
http://www.speedtest.nsw.exetel.com.au could not be found. Please check the name and try again."

So on a hunch I tried without the www ..
http://speedtest.nsw.exetel.com.au/

which takews me to a blank page showing only "update your client" which links to adobe.com/flashplayer

I don't (and can't) run the proprietary flash player on my present FreeBSD system.

Can you please make the speed test that's worked fine for the at least the last seven years made accessable again?

I don't mind if it's an obscure URL, but this is a serious loss of functionaliity for me. Exetel's never forced people to use flash or other non-HTML standard tools before.

cheers, Ian
AFAIK there are plug-ins you can use to have the functionality.

We will see the possibilities of implementing a speed test with no flash. However, cannot provide an ETA.

smithi
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:21 am
Location: Mountain Top

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by smithi » Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:10 pm

ShaminG wrote:
smithi wrote: Hi Steve, but soirry, the link you gave doesn't work.

"Address Not Found
http://www.speedtest.nsw.exetel.com.au could not be found. Please check the name and try again."

So on a hunch I tried without the www ..
http://speedtest.nsw.exetel.com.au/

which takews me to a blank page showing only "update your client" which links to adobe.com/flashplayer

I don't (and can't) run the proprietary flash player on my present FreeBSD system.

Can you please make the speed test that's worked fine for the at least the last seven years made accessable again?

I don't mind if it's an obscure URL, but this is a serious loss of functionaliity for me. Exetel's never forced people to use flash or other non-HTML standard tools before.

cheers, Ian
AFAIK there are plug-ins you can use to have the functionality.

We will see the possibilities of implementing a speed test with no flash. However, cannot provide an ETA.
Thanks for your response, ShaminG.

As I said, I can't run flash on my present system, nor am I in a position to upgrade this system to one that can. This is my main development system; I don't have a spare computer just so I can run software that Exetel has never previously forced me to use. Even back when you had a 'flash' front page you provided a non-flash alternative.

What is the problem with just providing a link to the previous page? No 'implementing' required. I don't care whether it fits within the new website "look and feel" or any such, I just don't wish for supposed "progress" to provide, for non-micro$oft consumers, a severe regression.

"click here for the old non-flash speedtest" would do just fine. Please consider.

cheers, Ian

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by ShaminG » Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:46 pm

smithi wrote:Thanks for your response, ShaminG.

As I said, I can't run flash on my present system, nor am I in a position to upgrade this system to one that can. This is my main development system; I don't have a spare computer just so I can run software that Exetel has never previously forced me to use. Even back when you had a 'flash' front page you provided a non-flash alternative.

What is the problem with just providing a link to the previous page? No 'implementing' required. I don't care whether it fits within the new website "look and feel" or any such, I just don't wish for supposed "progress" to provide, for non-micro$oft consumers, a severe regression.

"click here for the old non-flash speedtest" would do just fine. Please consider.

cheers, Ian
We will definitely see the possibilities of none-flash version, but not in the priority list with developments. We do not force you to do a speed test using the link. If we need to get an idea on the available transfer rate, better option we recommend is to try simultaneous file transfers using our mirror.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by Dazzled » Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:55 pm

This is a valid request. There are systems that cannot run proprietary Flash. Adobe has also stopped updating for Linux. A 3 MB binary file should be maintained on a fast Exetel server specifically for speed testing using download software, NOT a browser.

The 'new' flash based test, for those that can run it, is nearer accurate than the appalling and obsolete Gambrell javascript test, which varied widely with every browser, but the download test applied to the Exetel page was better still.

User avatar
Mixer
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Sydney - Randwick

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by Mixer » Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:24 pm

In the my rolls royce user panel, the pulldown link for speed test http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/ just dumps me back to http://www.exetel.com.au. Can we have the old web site back please….
RAND-NF/20INCTEL-Draytek 2710vn

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by ShaminG » Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:10 pm

Mixer wrote:In the my rolls royce user panel, the pulldown link for speed test http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/ just dumps me back to http://www.exetel.com.au. Can we have the old web site back please
I have advised this with our development team along with the request to have a none-flash version.

tin
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 5:22 pm
Location: Northwest NSW
Contact:

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by tin » Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:38 pm

Just tried to view both residential and business plans available where I am. In both cases, I get a circle spinning in the right hand end of the text box, which presumably symbolises loading something, but nothing ever happens. Clicking "check now" simply results in a message saying ADSL is unavailable in my area, which I'm pretty sure is untrue.

I'm using Firefox 37. Can't be bothered checking it in other browsers.
The above post is copyright, may be edited at any time, and should not be taken internally. Any breach of these terms may result in legal action or a sore tummy.

User avatar
nicoler
Exetel Staff
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 12:16 pm
Location: COLOMBO

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by nicoler » Mon Apr 13, 2015 2:00 pm

tin wrote:Just tried to view both residential and business plans available where I am. In both cases, I get a circle spinning in the right hand end of the text box, which presumably symbolises loading something, but nothing ever happens. Clicking "check now" simply results in a message saying ADSL is unavailable in my area, which I'm pretty sure is untrue.

I'm using Firefox 37. Can't be bothered checking it in other browsers.
Could you please PM your complete address ( Street number, street name, suburb , state and post code)or the active telephone number in order to check service availability in your area.

nylon
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 11:10 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by nylon » Mon May 04, 2015 1:06 pm

Where has the Speed Test gone?

In 'Useful Links', the Speed Test link should go to http://www.exetel.com.au/speed/ but it only goes to the exetel homepage.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by Dazzled » Mon May 04, 2015 1:55 pm

If you have Flash installed (and a lot of devices don't) there is a speedtest at http://speedtest.exetel.com.au/

Franpa
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:44 am
Location: Australia, QLD

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by Franpa » Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:19 pm

http://www.exetel.com.au/

When you scroll down and click ADSL2+ Broadband, it will direct you to http://www.exetel.com.au/broadband/nbn instead of presumably http://www.exetel.com.au/broadband/adsl
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i7 920 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 24GB DDR3 1520MHz RAM | MSI Gamer 1070Ti 8GB | Integrated Sound Card | Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply | Exetel ZTE H268 Modem

User avatar
angelos
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1068
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:22 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by angelos » Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:07 pm

Franpa wrote:http://www.exetel.com.au/

When you scroll down and click ADSL2+ Broadband, it will direct you to http://www.exetel.com.au/broadband/nbn instead of presumably http://www.exetel.com.au/broadband/adsl
We have forwarded this to our Development team.

Apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Franpa
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:44 am
Location: Australia, QLD

Re: Report Broken Links/Failed Web Functions Here

Post by Franpa » Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:14 pm

http://www.exetel.com.au/

"Our super value broadband plans include" doesn't mention the amount of webspace included.
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i7 920 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 24GB DDR3 1520MHz RAM | MSI Gamer 1070Ti 8GB | Integrated Sound Card | Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply | Exetel ZTE H268 Modem

Post Reply