Firefox error

Queries, errors or glitches regarding Exetel's public web site
robleyd
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Murbko, SA

Firefox error

Post by robleyd » Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:15 am

Firefox is returning the following error when attempting to access the forum.
Secure Connection Failed

An error occurred during a connection to forum.exetel.com.au.
SSL received a record that exceeded the maximum permissible length.
(Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long)
Opera works, however. OS is Slackware.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Firefox error

Post by Dazzled » Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:44 am

Argggh - I went and revived a Slackware box (oldish) and had no trouble. Back to my normal machine, I can see the forum in Opera, FF, Epiphany and Konqueror.

To get a view of the handshake I ran curl --trace-ascii and noticed nothing odd. The SSL records are up to 2326 bytes.

Chris T
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 8:53 pm

Re: Firefox error

Post by Chris T » Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:04 pm

I am getting the same error on Firefox on a XP box.

Chris.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Firefox error

Post by Dazzled » Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:20 pm

Thanks Chris. The forum was migrated recently. When I tested the forum home page, all seemed well, but when Opera opens a thread, the pop up comment is different, although it still makes a connection (you may be seeing a FF response to the server config) --

[PS] I think I've got it -- use openssl s_client for a peek.
Attachments
Screenshot-1.png
Screenshot-1.png (37.97 KiB) Viewed 4679 times

User avatar
Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1811
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Firefox error

Post by Gidget » Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:01 pm

I've alerted Exetel's sys admins to this thread - I don't know whether the issue will get looked at before tomorrow morning, though.

Gidget
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

SysAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 9:36 am

Re: Firefox error

Post by SysAdmin » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:27 am

robleyd wrote:Firefox is returning the following error when attempting to access the forum.
Secure Connection Failed

An error occurred during a connection to forum.exetel.com.au.
SSL received a record that exceeded the maximum permissible length.
(Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long)
Opera works, however. OS is Slackware.
Can you send me the exact URL you're using, please?

SysAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 9:36 am

Re: Firefox error

Post by SysAdmin » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:28 am

Dazzled wrote:Thanks Chris. The forum was migrated recently. When I tested the forum home page, all seemed well, but when Opera opens a thread, the pop up comment is different, although it still makes a connection (you may be seeing a FF response to the server config)
I think your avatar (amongst possibly others) is causing this. Does this
also pop up on plain http://forum.exetel.com.au/? For me (under Opera)
it doesn't whereas on this thread I can get a similar info box due to
the mixed content (encrypted page with non-encrypted avatar).

Andrew

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Firefox error

Post by Dazzled » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:55 am

Andrew, the http: address returns a 302 redirection, eg (from curl):

Code: Select all

== Info: About to connect() to forum.exetel.com.au port 80 (#0)
== Info:   Trying 220.233.0.107... == Info: connected
== Info: Connected to forum.exetel.com.au (220.233.0.107) port 80 (#0)
=> Send header, 157 bytes (0x9d)
0000: GET / HTTP/1.1
0010: User-Agent: curl/7.18.0 (i486-pc-linux-gnu) libcurl/7.18.0 OpenS
0050: SL/0.9.8g zlib/1.2.3.3 libidn/1.1
0073: Host: forum.exetel.com.au
008e: Accept: */*
009b: 
<= Recv header, 20 bytes (0x14)
0000: HTTP/1.1 302 Found
<= Recv header, 37 bytes (0x25)
0000: Date: Tue, 05 Nov 2013 22:43:20 GMT
<= Recv header, 32 bytes (0x20)
0000: Server: Apache/2.2.22 (Debian)
<= Recv header, 40 bytes (0x28)
0000: Location: https://forum.exetel.com.au/
<= Recv header, 23 bytes (0x17)
0000: Vary: Accept-Encoding
<= Recv header, 21 bytes (0x15)
0000: Content-Length: 297
<= Recv header, 45 bytes (0x2d)
0000: Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
The browsers I mentioned, including Opera, auto redirect to https: with the same result. After disabling automatic redirection Opera displays your default page:

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//IETF//DTD HTML 2.0//EN">
<html><head>
<title>302 Found</title>
</head><body>
<h1>Found</h1>
<p>The document has moved <a href="https://forum.exetel.com.au/">here</a>.</p>
<hr>
<address>Apache/2.2.22 (Debian) Server at forum.exetel.com.au Port 80</address>
</body></html>
As per the earlier post, this popup only occurs on pages with a thread. I'm having bother finding one with no avatar to check.

SysAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 9:36 am

Re: Firefox error

Post by SysAdmin » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:02 am

Dazzled wrote:Andrew, the http: address returns a 302 redirection, eg (from curl):
Yes. That's on purpose. *ponders* Oh. I put in a http url. My bad. The redirect is not relevant. The security
related mutterings of Opera regarding the end result is, though. :)
As per the earlier post, this popup only occurs on pages with a thread. I'm having bother finding one with no avatar to check.
Well the same cert is used for the main page as a thread page. Any error regarding the
cert would be the same for either if the issue was with the cert.

You could try turning off the display of images (if you really wanted) and see how that flies.

Andrew

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Firefox error

Post by Dazzled » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:10 am

No images = no change in popup.

robleyd
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Murbko, SA

Re: Firefox error

Post by robleyd » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:11 am

A restart of Firefox seems to have resolved the problem for me.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Firefox error

Post by Dazzled » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:15 am

FF isn't complaining here either; it reports "Connection Partially Encrypted"

SysAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 9:36 am

Re: Firefox error

Post by SysAdmin » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:16 am

Dazzled wrote:No images = no change in popup.
Yeah. That's not enough it seems. Use the block content feature on both yours and
Gidget's avatar. Then you'll get a clean-secure connection (I did) in Opera.

Andrew

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Firefox error

Post by Dazzled » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:23 am

Site blocked both avatars and refreshed the page. Opera security = happy.

Blocking stopped again = Opera security warning back.

SysAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 9:36 am

Re: Firefox error

Post by SysAdmin » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:27 am

Dazzled wrote:Site blocked both avatars and refreshed the page. Opera security = happy.

Blocking stopped again = Opera security warning back.
Right, thanks. Not a cert or site problem. More of a problem with Opera in that it does not clearly
indicate why it's tossing up the security warning.

Andrew

Post Reply