New website glitches

Queries, errors or glitches regarding Exetel's public web site
Ziege Mitfahrer
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 11:23 pm

Re: New website glitches

Post by Ziege Mitfahrer » Wed Feb 12, 2014 12:30 am

“Who is Gertrude? Click and find out”
No offence to Gertrude… I’m sure she’s very nice…
but I get suspicious when I see similar pop-ups on a website.
I really do appreciate all that she does for Exetel (and therefore me)…
but I don’t need to know that she’s a Pisces who likes horse-riding, meeting people and long walks on the beach.

“Australia's best kept secret” is whatever is on that photo, behind the massive green banner.

“It's 0:27 am and you're in the right place”
No it’s not… No I’m not.
It’s 12:27am and I can’t find what I’m looking for.

“No BS. No fuss. Just what you need when you need it. Until now”
Couldn’t have said that better myself.

“Thanks for visiting. We know you have other things to get on with today.”
No, not really. Just thought I’d spend the day finding my usage stats.

“Exetel. Get Things Done”
Yes, please. Take the new site down. Stick the old one back up. Have a little re-think.

thomashouseman
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Toongabbie
Contact:

Re: New website glitches

Post by thomashouseman » Wed Feb 12, 2014 6:51 am

Terrible site.

VOIP password reset now asks for your old password (Which was auto-generated as complex by Exetel) and won't allow you to reset it unless you have it.

Phone book page won't allow you to edit entries.

I find it mildly offensive that the front page has "BS" on it. I know you're trying to be "trendy", but really all it does is make me cringe.

T.

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: New website glitches

Post by James » Wed Feb 12, 2014 12:35 pm

thomashouseman wrote:Terrible site.

VOIP password reset now asks for your old password (Which was auto-generated as complex by Exetel) and won't allow you to reset it unless you have it.

Phone book page won't allow you to edit entries.

I find it mildly offensive that the front page has "BS" on it. I know you're trying to be "trendy", but really all it does is make me cringe.

T.
If you find it offensive, you can just use hte old site.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New website glitches

Post by Dazzled » Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:19 pm

James, could we prominently publish the location of the old site please.

I still can't login, even from the alternate page. Please look at:

Code: Select all

	<body onload="auto_login()">
		<div>Redirecting to Members Facility...</div>
		<div style="display: none;">
				<form action="https://www.exetel.com.au/myexetel/index.php/login/user_login" method="post"  id="login_form">
							<input name="username" id="username" type="hidden" value="XXXXXXXXX" />
							<input name="password" id="password" maxlength="35" type="hidden" value="XXXXXXXX"  />
							<!--button id="login_btn" type="button" >Login</button-->
				</form>
		</div>
	</body>    
<script >
	function auto_login(){
		document.getElementById('login_form').submit();
	}
</script>

thejeg

Re: New website glitches

Post by thejeg » Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:26 pm

Dazzled wrote:James, could we prominently publish the location of the old site please.
Hi Dazzled,

There is a link on the bottom of the new web site which will re-direct you to the old website.

Or alternatively click on http://www.exetel.com.au/oldweb/index.php

Regards,
Tj

IanS
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 11:32 pm
Location: Newcastle

Re: New website glitches

Post by IanS » Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:24 pm

thejeg wrote:
Dazzled wrote:James, could we prominently publish the location of the old site please.
Hi Dazzled,

There is a link on the bottom of the new web site which will re-direct you to the old website.

Or alternatively click on http://www.exetel.com.au/oldweb/index.php

Regards,
Tj
Could we also have a link to the old user facilities. I'm still having issues with the new user facilities

thejeg

Re: New website glitches

Post by thejeg » Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:33 pm

IanS wrote:Could we also have a link to the old user facilities. I'm still having issues with the new user facilities
Hi IanS,

You may use https://www.exetel.com.au/members/ to access your member facility in the old format.

Hope this Helps!

Regards,
Tj :)

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New website glitches

Post by Dazzled » Wed Feb 12, 2014 8:10 pm

Theje I found the link to the old site in the code - it should be to the left of "f", but it is off screen and invisible.

Regarding https://www.exetel.com.au/members/, at least it works in Firefox, but not in some other browsers, particularly some version of Opera (The main members' page is entered, but selecting subsequent pages goes to a fresh login in a rather circular manner) This error has been around for a long time and is unrelated to the new site.

The image for annual usage on the members home is not currently displayed.

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: New website glitches

Post by James » Wed Feb 12, 2014 8:18 pm

Dazzled wrote:Theje I found the link to the old site in the code - it should be to the left of "f", but it is off screen and invisible.

Regarding https://www.exetel.com.au/members/, at least it works in Firefox, but not in some other browsers, particularly some version of Opera (The main members' page is entered, but selecting subsequent pages goes to a fresh login in a rather circular manner) This error has been around for a long time and is unrelated to the new site.

The image for annual usage on the members home is not currently displayed.
Why not use, IE, FF, Safari, or Chrome?

http://www.w3schools.com/browsers/browsers_stats.asp

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New website glitches

Post by Dazzled » Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:10 pm

IE James? Windows isn't fit to be used online. I keep an old one for only testing - it has no online ability.

Validated standards compliant coding, though, will work correctly on any system, with a minor allowance for some old IE errors..

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Re: New website glitches

Post by CLoSeR » Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:02 am

Was using the new member facilities and it logged me out.. Tried logging in again and after the redirecting message I am only presented with the following text.

"No messages."

Also, I found that usage data for Mobile Broadband plan is not displayed when you go navigate as below:

"Service & Usage" menu bar button

"Usage" button next to Broadband Service details.

Everything displayed after clicking Usage is blank.. no data. Usage data is displayed fine when presented in the MyExetel Dashboard home view.

Edit: This is the url with my service number hashed where usage data does not work.

https://www.exetel.com.au/myexetel/mobi ... _hspa/0401######
Last edited by CLoSeR on Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Re: New website glitches

Post by CLoSeR » Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:06 am

The new homepage look and feel needs some work, what's the point of showing staff member faces if most of them are obscured by the giant green text box?

Edit: oh ok.. I worked out how to get rid of it. ;) Nice photo btw James.
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Re: New website glitches

Post by CLoSeR » Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:13 am

Another new site glitch.. tried loggin in with ADSL acccount details.


Redirecting.... trying to open page "https://www.exetel.com.au/myexetel/serv ... _dashboard"

THEN

"["op",0,0,null]"
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: New website glitches

Post by ShaminG » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:30 am

CLoSeR wrote: Redirecting.... trying to open page "https://www.exetel.com.au/myexetel/serv ... _dashboard"

THEN

"["op",0,0,null]"
Our development team will look into reported errors and will be rectified in due course. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to you.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: New website glitches

Post by Dazzled » Fri Feb 14, 2014 2:47 pm

James, when I strip away the green overlay........
How do you lot keep your desktops so pristine?

Post Reply