Page 7 of 10

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:52 am
by CoreyPlover
trev wrote:
["op",4.22,12.2,50,"12:00 to 24:00","00:00 to 12:00",0]
Logging on to My Exetel now gives the above string on the page and nothing else - AGAIN.
This is related to my post above (see viewtopic.php?p=308234#p308234)

It is because the site is somehow remembering the last URL sent via jquery and redirecting you there. (Honestly, I don't even now how the coders managed to achieve such a feat. It should be simple: "After login, redirect browser to the Dashboard URL"; why try to do anything more fancy than this?). If needed, you can refresh the page with the correct base URL and you will get to your dashboard.

Bugs like this should not continue for over 2 weeks on a live web site and it is VERY disheartening to see Exetel's professional reputation get destroyed by such a poor migration of their "new and improved" website. I don't think I have ever witnessed a worse web site "upgrade".

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:10 am
by Dazzled
More fundamental than jquery bugs, is the resort to so much javascript at all. It's inviting chaos, both now and at maintenance time. Javascript bugs break whole sites, as we are seeing, and few sites cannot be done entirely in html and perhaps some server side scripting.

Testing javascript needs browsers, and that means much more than a couple of versions of IE on modern desktop high-end hardware running Windows. It can kill low memory performance. It can be argued that an important site like an ISP's should even work well indeed in a text-only browser.

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 8:42 pm
by Chris T
It has been my opinions for many years that most web designers / coders are like children given with a bag of toys, they have to play with every available items. Lynx is still my favourite web browser but with increasing number of websites using graphics and flash to display text, without the ALT= tag, together with the unnecessary use of javascripts, I found it harder and harder to browse with Lynx.

There are accessibility guidelines for websites, please think about visual impair people when you plaster your websites with graphics and flash.

Chris.

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:09 pm
by Dazzled
Interestingly the home page and the login page work in Lynx, as indeed they should. That's the end of the line though.... we get eternally stuck on "Redirecting to Members Facility..."

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:32 pm
by CLoSeR
The Monthly Progress Bar has reset early and is reporting progress of day 1/28 for period (2014-02-28 to 2014-03-28), this is not right for Mobile Broadband customers which have quota allocated per calendar month different to ADSL accounts.

The Quote Usage bar has not reset and is displaying usage for February as expected.

Edit: Furthermore, I had requested a plan change from the 20GB plan to the 10GB plan and I have just received an SMS stating I've reached 80% of my allowance for the month. I guess this is the result of my plan change being implemented and the quota being dropped from 20GB to 10GB before the start of the calendar month.

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:26 pm
by IanS
Well according to my Exetel bill for 1/3/14, I didn't make any VoIP calls???

Oh silly me, I used the New user facilities to view my invoice, with the new & improved invoice with no call listing

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:07 pm
by Ziege Mitfahrer
I just got a historical whopper of a VOIP bill, but there's no way to check it.
For heaven's sake, Exetel, this is something you need to fix NOW.
You can't charge for something and keep the details "secret".

Please don't appologise for the inconvenience or tell me that you'll pass it on to the developers.
This "stuff" has been going on for a month and it's disgraceful.
Just listen to your big green box and "Get Things Done".

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:00 pm
by saadbafik
Ziege Mitfahrer wrote:I just got a historical whopper of a VOIP bill, but there's no way to check it.
For heaven's sake, Exetel, this is something you need to fix NOW.
You can't charge for something and keep the details "secret".

Please don't appologise for the inconvenience or tell me that you'll pass it on to the developers.
This "stuff" has been going on for a month and it's disgraceful.
Just listen to your big green box and "Get Things Done".
Hi ,

As discussed I have escalated this with our developers under reference 7645014, we will update you as soon as we have an update on this.

We highly regret any inconvenience caused.

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:37 pm
by IanS
For some users, this new site will be completely alien, then add to the fact that not everything is working or displaying correctly, then why have it online?

Don’t you think it’s about time to put the old user facilities back online, before you start driving away customers?

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:59 pm
by Arshad Hassim
Hi Ziege,

https://www.exetel.com.au/members/

For now (since your issue has been escalated to our developers) Use the above link to log into your old members portal, once done, go over to the "view usages" tab -- > VoIP -- > Put in the time frame for which you have been charged --- Export, a spread sheet should open up with the calls made and charges incurred for the specified time slot.

Hope the above should be useful until your issue is sorted out.

cheers,

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 6:30 pm
by James
IanS wrote:For some users, this new site will be completely alien, then add to the fact that not everything is working or displaying correctly, then why have it online?

Don’t you think it’s about time to put the old user facilities back online, before you start driving away customers?
What isn't working for you IanS?

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 6:55 pm
by Dazzled
Now that I can get in in FF (but still not in Opera) I would prefer the phone usage info to be laid out more compactly as it once was. This sort of material should print off in a sensible listing format. I'd be happy if all the various usage lists were simple graphic-free text

Anyway, month after month I get a VoIP pack VP1. The user facility says I haven't one.

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:20 pm
by IanS
James wrote:
What isn't working for you IanS?
What I'm saying James, is for people that aren't technically minded (for instance my 68 year old cousin) she would be totally distraught with the current user facilities. People don’t like change at the best of times, let alone a change that doesn’t work properly or gives reduced functionality to what was previously used.

Don't you think it would be better, when implementing such a major change to a user facility, that you place a message on the forum asking for "beta" testers to evaluate the new site? Or at least allow all users to logon, and then prompt for the "old site" or the "new site", at least until the new site is proven 100%.

This would also reduce numerous enquiries that you help desk is probably dealing with at the moment.

My current issue is with the monthly invoice not showing itemised VoIP calls (both HTML & PDF formats), but logging on to the old site, the calls are listed. I always scrutinise your invoice, because in the past I’ve been billed where I shouldn’t have & at times you don’t bill me for items you should (another freebie this month!)

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:27 pm
by James
IanS wrote:
James wrote:
What isn't working for you IanS?
What I'm saying James, is for people that aren't technically minded (for instance my 68 year old cousin) she would be totally distraught with the current user facilities. People don’t like change at the best of times, let alone a change that doesn’t work properly or gives reduced functionality to what was previously used.

Don't you think it would be better, when implementing such a major change to a user facility, that you place a message on the forum asking for "beta" testers to evaluate the new site? Or at least allow all users to logon, and then prompt for the "old site" or the "new site", at least until the new site is proven 100%.

This would also reduce numerous enquiries that you help desk is probably dealing with at the moment.

My current issue is with the monthly invoice not showing itemised VoIP calls (both HTML & PDF formats), but logging on to the old site, the calls are listed. I always scrutinise your invoice, because in the past I’ve been billed where I shouldn’t have & at times you don’t bill me for items you should (another freebie this month!)
The new members area is simpler than the old one, so it should be easier to use.

What have we not charged you for?

Re: New website glitches

Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 8:31 pm
by IanS
James wrote: The new members area is simpler than the old one, so it should be easier to use.
Tried looking for your SMS usage?... It’s not on the “Services & Usage” tab, like you’d think it would, but under the “Premium VAS” tab, then “SMS Usage” tab. Compared with the old site, it was on the home page, click “(view)”, then “search” & there’s your usage & you didn’t have to search for anything, it’s right under your nose!

Have you tried to reset your VoIP password? It asks you to enter you old password! WTF? I don’t know the old password, that’s why I’m here (it’s just dots in the ATA password field). Tried clicking the ? buttons next to the field tags, but they don’t do anything!!!!

Where's the links to the to log or check the status of a Help Desk ticket?

Why do I need "Wireline Meter" & "Mobile Meter" on the dashboard, when I don't have these services with Exetel? - just extra clutter I suppose.

Why is screen sized so big, I hate having to scroll up & down just to view a dashboard

James wrote: What have we not charged you for?
It's itemised on my bill, have a look for yourself... better use the old facilities though!