Page 1 of 2

Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:00 am
by stevebow
Have the network graphs moved to somewhere else? They were at https://www.exetel.com.au/members/a_network.php but this now gives an error 404.

Thanks,
Steve

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:03 pm
by shoner
Hi Steve,

We apologies for the inconvenience, the Network graphs for residential services have been discontinued.

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:03 pm
by thomashouseman
Why? Are they all redlining?

It was my understanding that they were all automated and didn't need to be touched.

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 7:39 pm
by ShaminG
thomashouseman wrote:Why? Are they all redlining?

It was my understanding that they were all automated and didn't need to be touched.
This was a decision during implementation.

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 9:12 am
by tocpcs
Decision during implementation? Heh?
"We are going to implement network graphs for customers to see, and as part of that decision, remove them"?

I suggest an alternative view, the network graphs painted a reflection of Exetel's link management, and they don't want to receive the embarassment about just how overloaded at times those links actually are.

They were a handy tool to ensure the speed slow downs were easily explained "Exetel are being cheap on backhaul again". Now, it's not so easy to determine. We can assume, but not always correctly.
I'd suggest bringing them back, so users can see for themselves if a speed issue is worthy of escalating to a supplier or not.

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:51 am
by stevebow
tocpcs wrote:I'd suggest bringing them back, so users can see for themselves if a speed issue is worthy of escalating to a supplier or not.
I agree. If I was experiencing speed issues, the graphs were my first port of call. If the relevant graph was maxing out (or nearing max) then I would accept that as the reason and not take it any further. So I second the return of the graphs!

Thanks,
Steve

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:52 am
by James
Our IP and backhaul links are not "overloaded".

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:01 pm
by thomashouseman
Really, have you got a graph to show that? :P

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 1:50 pm
by tocpcs
James wrote:Our IP and backhaul links are not "overloaded".
That's great news, we'll just take your word for it!

Put em back, you'll probably get less slow speed complaints given users can see and accept the congestion is a link over capacity.

I suppose you'd conclude they were never at capacity if you believe the 10Gbps label on the page.
It capped out regularly for weeks some time ago at 4.5Gbps, which any one could logically conclude Exetel only had provisioned that much bandwidth at that point in time.

Perhaps that's your angle, i.e. that the link wasn't overloaded as it could go to 10Gbps, if Exetel ever paid the wholesaler to provide them that much, but the graph shows the obvious truth - 4.5Gbps was what was paid for.

I suppose my use of overloaded was incorrect, "insufficiently provisioned for the demand at the time intervals" - sound better?

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:01 am
by The Land of Smeg
I'm getting speed issues at different times and I really need those graphs to help isolate the issue.

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:19 am
by thejeg
stevebow wrote:Have the network graphs moved to somewhere else? They were at https://www.exetel.com.au/members/a_network.php but this now gives an error 404.

Thanks,
Steve
Exetel has tracked monitored the benefit of providing traffic graphs to its customers over the past few months and has decided that it does not benefit to the overall customer experience. If a customer is experiencing service difficulties, we encourage them to call our friendly support team to have their issues thoroughly investigated and resolved

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:12 pm
by ericb
The SMH was able to get hold of an Exetel usage graph for this article:

http://www.smh.com.au/digital-life/digi ... mdc1i.html

But Extel users aren't allowed to see them.

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:55 pm
by thomashouseman
:(

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 4:41 pm
by tocpcs
ericb wrote:The SMH was able to get hold of an Exetel usage graph for this article:

http://www.smh.com.au/digital-life/digi ... mdc1i.html
Those aren't provided by Exetel, that's the IX Australia graphs.
.. and careful how you read those. The peaks are just the instantaneous peaks for the time involved.

Re: Where are the network graphs?

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 5:13 pm
by angelos
ericb wrote:The SMH was able to get hold of an Exetel usage graph for this article:

http://www.smh.com.au/digital-life/digi ... mdc1i.html

But Extel users aren't allowed to see them.
As tocpcs said, these graphs are obtained from the following, which shows the graphs for peering through IX Australia.

Refer : http://monitor.nsw.ix.asn.au/cacti/grap ... on=preview