HSPA FAQ

Wireless broadband over 3G/4G
ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

HSPA FAQ

Post by ForumAdmin » Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:57 pm

http://www.exetel.com.au/residential-hspa-faq.php

We will constantly update this FAQ with the most commonly asked questions.

Please post any general questions on this thread.

tin
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 5:22 pm
Location: Northwest NSW
Contact:

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by tin » Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:53 pm

* Will I still be able to use my account in GPRS only areas (at the slower GPRS speed)?

If the above is yes (which I believe it is):
* I live in a GPRS only area... Can I still sign up?
The above post is copyright, may be edited at any time, and should not be taken internally. Any breach of these terms may result in legal action or a sore tummy.

User avatar
paulp
Exetel Staff
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:13 am
Location: Sydney

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by paulp » Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:50 pm

Hi,

Yes it should work, just at a much slower speed. (around 56kbps)

I'll add more of these types of questions on the FAQ shrotly.

soulman2001au
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: melbourne

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by soulman2001au » Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:18 pm

i also have a question. i have a nokia 6300 which runs on EDGE, which i think runs at max of 384k. would i be able to use EDGE on the HSPA wireless service as opposed to 3G?

peterh_oz
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:13 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by peterh_oz » Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:04 pm

Another question ...

Do the E169's work with Ubuntu?
If yes then how much hacking etc is involved, or is it a simple setup?

Thanx

User avatar
DylanF
Exetel Staff
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by DylanF » Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:52 pm

peterh_oz wrote:Another question ...

Do the E169's work with Ubuntu?
If yes then how much hacking etc is involved, or is it a simple setup?

Thanx
Take a look at http://blog.surgeons.org.uk/2008/02/thr ... afone.html that may give you some helpers :)

closey
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: Newcastle, NSW

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by closey » Wed Oct 15, 2008 7:52 pm

peterh_oz wrote:Another question ...

Do the E169's work with Ubuntu?
If yes then how much hacking etc is involved, or is it a simple setup?

Thanx
The E169 works out of the box in the new Ubuntu Intrepid 8.10, however it is still in Beta release. The wireless broadband part of it works flawlessly in networkmanager 0.7.

closey
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: Newcastle, NSW

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by closey » Wed Oct 15, 2008 7:53 pm

soulman2001au wrote:i also have a question. i have a nokia 6300 which runs on EDGE, which i think runs at max of 384k. would i be able to use EDGE on the HSPA wireless service as opposed to 3G?
Unfortunately Optus/Exetel don't have an EDGE network, so no. You'll get GPRS speeds instead

tin
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 5:22 pm
Location: Northwest NSW
Contact:

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by tin » Thu Oct 16, 2008 10:10 am

Just a page formatting comment... Q11 (the GPRS one) isn't bolded like the rest.
The above post is copyright, may be edited at any time, and should not be taken internally. Any breach of these terms may result in legal action or a sore tummy.

ahas
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:14 am
Location: Wedderburn, Victoria

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by ahas » Thu Oct 16, 2008 10:05 pm

Could Q9 be changed to reflect that the network is dual band 900/2100 MHz rather than just 2100 Mhz?

Could the compability list refered to in Q8 be split somehow into dual band handsets & single band handsets? or even only show the dual band handsets (less confusing for those of us in country (900 MHz) areas?

The dual band handsets that I know of are:
-Nokia E71: WCDMA-HSDPA 900/2100 or 850/1900 or 850/2100 & GSM/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900 (suitable Next G-850 & Optus)
-Nokia E66: WCDMA-HSDPA 900/2100 or 850/1900 or 850/2100 & GSM/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900 (suitable Next G-850 & Optus)
-Nokia 6121 classic: WCDMA-HSDPA 900/2100 & GSM/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900
-Nokia N78: WCDMA-HSDPA 900/2100 & GSM/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900
-Nokia N96: WCDMA-HSDPA 900/2100 & GSM/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900
-Nokia 6220 classic: WCDMA-HSDPA 900/2100 & GSM/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900
-Nokia 6210 Navigator; WCDMA-HSDPA 900/2100 & GSM/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900
-HTC P6500: WCDMA-HSDPA 900/1900/2100 & GSM/EDGE 900/1800/1900
-Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1: WCDMA-HSDPA 900/1700/1900/2100 (variant: WCDMA-HSDPA 850/1700/1900/2100) & GSM/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900

uratul
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 8:28 pm
Location: Mona Vale - Sydney

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by uratul » Sun Oct 26, 2008 5:20 pm

ahas's post and my own experience with the service leads me to believe Q9 in the FA is not compete. Seemingly there are further criteria for a handset to connect to this service at 3.6Mbps?

I have a Motorola V6Maxx which I originally got from a Next G contract. It is WCDMA/UMTS 2100Mhz as far as I have read and I believe it has HSPA (since it worked fine with NextG)?

According to the FAQ Q9 and the optus coverage maps (I'm on the Northern Beaches and work in North Sydney) I should get 3G coverage however I have not been able to get anything other than GPRS (2.5G on the motorola indicator). When I stick in my Vodaphone sim it picks up 3G on the indicator no problem (don't have a data plan for that though so can't test the speed).

Anyway possibly I just have overlooked something (perhaps the v6 can only use HSPA on the 850Mhz band... or the Telstra ROM is doing something it shouldn't and I should flash it etc.) or perhaps there is another piece of criteria for the service to work at 3G speeds that my phone does not meet?

btw. I'm all for splitting the list into 900Mhz vs 2100Mhz only as the iPhone is 2100Mhz only as far as I know and wouldn't be usable in the country areas. That may confuse a lot of iPeople out there.
By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by ForumAdmin » Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:44 pm

I've asked a sysadmin to reply to you.

User avatar
paulp
Exetel Staff
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:13 am
Location: Sydney

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by paulp » Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:59 pm

Hi,

I will add this to the FAQ shortly.

The different shades of oranges depict the different bands that support 2100 or 900. Our USB sticks cater for both but it will boil down to individual hardware (usually handsets) in which most only do 2100 (CBD/METRO) and some offer the other 900MHz

uratul
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 8:28 pm
Location: Mona Vale - Sydney

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by uratul » Tue Oct 28, 2008 1:43 pm

A quick typo message

HSDPA 850/1900/2500 should be HSDPA 850/1900/2100 on the Compatibility Page
By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.

barryron
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:02 am
Location: Redhead NSW Australia

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by barryron » Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:05 pm

I have Bigpond account using a BP3 Maxon (Minimax) USB modem. Could I buy a Exetel HSPA sim card and use it in the Bigpond modem? And would there be software involved?
Barry

Post Reply