HSPA FAQ

Wireless broadband over 3G/4G
luddite
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 11:10 am

Re: HSPA FAQ - FreeBSD config

Post by luddite » Thu May 14, 2009 4:35 pm

Just for the record, here's my working ppp.conf for an E169 on FreeBSD 7.2

The old pppd is abandoned and the u3g/ucom driver is better in FreeBSD 8, but ...
Most of the info was cribbed from http://people.freebsd.org/~n_hibma/u3g.html

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
You can add these lines to the GENERIC config or load the modules using loader.conf
device umodem
device u3g
# IPFilter
option IPFILTER
option IPFILTER_LOG
option IPFILTER_LOOKUP
option IPFILTER_DEFAULT_BLOCK

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
# ppp.conf

default:

exetel:
set log local Phase Chat LCP IPCP CCP tun command
set device /dev/cuaU0.0
#set speed 384000
#set speed 460800
#set speed 921600
set timeout 0
set authname exetel1
set authkey fred

set dial "ABORT BUSY TIMEOUT 2 \
\"\" \
AT OK-AT-OK \
AT+CFUN=1 OK-AT-OK \
AT+CMEE=2 OK-AT-OK \
AT+CSQ OK \
AT+CGDCONT=1,\\\"IP\\\",\\\"exetel1\\\" OK \
AT+CGACT? OK-AT-OK \
AT+CGATT? OK \
AT+CGCLASS? OK \
AT+COPS? OK \
ATD*99***1# CONNECT"

set crtscts on
disable vjcomp
disable acfcomp
disable deflate
disable deflate24
disable pred1
disable protocomp
disable mppe
disable ipv6cp
disable lqr
disable echo
nat enable no
enable dns
accept dns
resolv readonly
set nbns
set ifaddr 220.233.x.x 10.64.64.64 255.255.255.255
#add default HISADDR # See ppp.link*

#EOF

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
# ppp.linkdown:

default:
shell logger "LABEL down (up UPTIME): OCTETSIN received, OCTETSOUT sent"

exetel:
shell route delete default

#EOF
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
# ppp.linkup:

exetel:
shell route delete default
shell route add default -interface INTERFACE

#EOF
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

petemoss
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:22 pm

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by petemoss » Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:19 pm

Possibly a question that is asked many times by HSPA users, and often does not get a reply , ....

"How can I improve reception with an antenna ? Where can I obtain advice about the type of antenna ?"

..could be added to the FAQ ??

bluey127
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:41 am
Location: Geelong, Victoria

Re: HSPA FAQ -Computer USB Ports

Post by bluey127 » Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:44 pm

If you have an older PC that has USB ports that are USB 1.0 only - can the HSPA service be successfully used?

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: HSPA FAQ -Computer USB Ports

Post by CoreyPlover » Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:13 pm

bluey127 wrote:If you have an older PC that has USB ports that are USB 1.0 only - can the HSPA service be successfully used?
Should work fine

USB 1.0 comes in two 'flavours'. Low speed (which is rated for 1.5Mbps transfer speeds) and Full speed (rated for 12Mbps). HSPA connects at either 3.6Mbps or 7.2Mbps so the Full speed USB 1.0 connectors will work fine. I wonder what would happen in the case of Low speed though (would packets get dropped, would it negotiate a slower speed?) Worst case I guess you can downgrade it to GPRS only, which limits the connection to dial-up speeds though this isn't really very useful. I suspect however that transfers will simply bottleneck at 1.5Mbps, with the modem automatically re-requesting dropped packets if necessary

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6002
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by Dazzled » Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:24 pm

Bluey, Upgrading a desktop box to USB2 isn't expensive (eg http://www.i-tech.com.au/products/47551 ... _USB2.aspx), provided your operating system isn't antique. PCMCIA USB 2 Cards for elderly laptops aren't much dearer if you have a slot for one.

User avatar
JeremyP
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle NSW

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by JeremyP » Wed Apr 28, 2010 5:07 pm

In regards to the USB1.0, i believe most USB 3G/HSPA modems require USB2.0 to work.

I know for certain the Haewei E169 will not work at all on a USB1.1 system and require USB2.0 to function.

User avatar
basshead
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:52 pm
Location: Sydney NSW

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by basshead » Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:49 pm

This might've already been asked before, but is a quick question I am sure someone would be able to answer quite simply...

Will the HSPA SIM work on an old(ish) Motorola Razor V3 mobile phone? From reading the FAQ and various other information it appears that I need to use a modem/USB for this SIM. Forgive my ignorance and lack of keeping up with the times :)

I activated my HSPA SIM card earlier this evening (following instructions in email and letter that came with the new SIM) and I have "unregistered SIM" on the phone's display. I read mention of up to 2hr delay for activation, and also of business hours of 8am to 8pm and public holidays/weekends etc, but expected the SIM activation to not be subject to those time frames (ie: only activated during business hours)...

User avatar
paulp
Exetel Staff
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:13 am
Location: Sydney

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by paulp » Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:53 am

Hi Basshead,
This might've already been asked before, but is a quick question I am sure someone would be able to answer quite simply...

Will the HSPA SIM work on an old(ish) Motorola Razor V3 mobile phone? From reading the FAQ and various other information it appears that I need to use a modem/USB for this SIM. Forgive my ignorance and lack of keeping up with the times :)

I activated my HSPA SIM card earlier this evening (following instructions in email and letter that came with the new SIM) and I have "unregistered SIM" on the phone's display. I read mention of up to 2hr delay for activation, and also of business hours of 8am to 8pm and public holidays/weekends etc, but expected the SIM activation to not be subject to those time frames (ie: only activated during business hours)...
I believe I have the right phone when I check your specs here;
http://www.gsmarena.com/motorola_razr_v3-853.php

It appears it only supports GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900

3/3.5G requires UTMS capability on 900/2100 MHZ spectrum and alas, it appears your phone wouldnt be capable to receive these speeds.

It most likely also means why you are receiving the 'unregistered sim' as your phone appears to hand only 2.5G USIM. Of course,you can always PM me your details and I can confirm this.

User avatar
basshead
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:52 pm
Location: Sydney NSW

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by basshead » Tue Feb 01, 2011 5:03 pm

My wife called me from the mobile today and it worked fine :)

It was simply a matter of waiting for the office staff to start work at 8am to start the registration process...

Looking at getting a new mobile phone anyway, so will make sure it has the features as you have provided. Thanks for the reply.

User avatar
basshead
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:52 pm
Location: Sydney NSW

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by basshead » Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:54 pm

I wonder if the old phone is the cause of my excessive (>$1/min!) call costs...

See here: viewtopic.php?f=59&t=37727

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by jokiin » Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:22 pm

basshead wrote:I wonder if the old phone is the cause of my excessive (>$1/min!) call costs...

See here: viewtopic.php?f=59&t=37727
call costs will be to do with whatever plan is attached to the SIM, which plan is it?

User avatar
basshead
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:52 pm
Location: Sydney NSW

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by basshead » Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:10 am

jokiin wrote:call costs will be to do with whatever plan is attached to the SIM, which plan is it?
CAP19

It seems there is a discrepancy between what Exetel advertises their call costs to be on their plan pages compared to the call costs indicated in their terms and conditions when you change plans through the member facilities.

https://www.exetel.com.au/members/mobile_plans.php says 99c/min

http://www.exetel.com.au/residential-mo ... -plans.php says 15c/min for "per minute" plans but 99c/min for "capped" plans...

Looks like I was wrong, and misread the "per minute" plans as "capped" plans...


Ooops. :)

Kayla
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:34 am
Location: Wangaratta

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by Kayla » Sun Mar 25, 2012 8:18 pm

Hi admin,

I am on a WI C 2gb prepaid plan with voip and wish to upgrade to a WP5 5gb prepaid plan with voip.

How do I go about this ?

Thanks

Hope I'm on the right thread

Kayla
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:34 am
Location: Wangaratta

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by Kayla » Sun Mar 25, 2012 8:54 pm

Kayla wrote:Hi admin,

I am on a WI C 2gb prepaid plan with voip and wish to upgrade to a WP5 5gb prepaid plan with voip.

How do I go about this ?

Thanks

Hope I'm on the right thread

All fixed - no response required
Thanks

barryron
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:02 am
Location: Redhead NSW Australia

Re: HSPA FAQ

Post by barryron » Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:46 am

I sent this to residential support
"I recently bought a replacement SIM card from Exetel for a HSPA service . I’m using it in a E169 dongle. The problem is that whist it works fine for accessing the WWW it has a problem with email. O/G mail fails because of an error 550 which stops me relaying. I think this may be related to my having to use an APN of “connect” instead of “exetel1”. exetel1 doesn’t work."

I received this reply
Thank you for your e-mail.
Please configure your device with the APN : CONNECT and check your service

I've used another SIM card in the same E169 using APN "exetel1"and everything works fine.
The trouble is I can't keep this SIM card.
The question is do some Sim cards require APN "connect" and others "exetel1"?

Post Reply