yagi antennas

Wireless broadband over 3G/4G
Conduit
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:51 pm
Location: Hervey Bay , Qld

Re: yagi antennas

Post by Conduit » Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:34 pm

jokiin wrote:
Conduit wrote:
If anybody is interested , I'll take photos and put them up on photobucket.
that would be good actually as I'm sure others would find some installation ideas useful
No worries , these brackets were a 2 hour operation to make so they're not as pretty as they could be with more time spent , but here's some pics , I'll put one photo in this thread and links only for the rest.

Image

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v433/ ... _0094s.jpg ( Bottom bracket detail )

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v433/ ... _0096s.jpg ( top bracket detail )

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v433/ ... _0098s.jpg ( bottom riser on hinge )

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v433/ ... _0097s.jpg ( entire installation view )

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: yagi antennas

Post by jokiin » Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:55 pm

Conduit wrote: ( entire installation view )
didn't realise just how big your install was until I got to this one, nice job

JakeK
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: Victoria

Re: yagi antennas

Post by JakeK » Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:56 pm

Hahaha, I live on an Army Barracks. I don't see myself doing that ;).

Larry242
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 10:40 am

Re: yagi antennas

Post by Larry242 » Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:10 am

Does anybody know of a way to check which frequency you are able to get in a particular area ? and I don't mean by using the optus coverage checker. When I use the optus coverage checker on a friends address in a rural area, it is right on the borderline of both frequencies,900 and 2100, as in very close to the brown and yellow areas. I have used my USB modem to connect from their address but the signal is flaky and I can't get any coverage inside the house at all. Before I go to the expense of buying them a Yagi antenna, is there any utility/software etc that can tell me which freq. I am receiving? I don't want to buy a 900Mhz antenna when I would need a 2100Mhz antenna or vice versa.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: yagi antennas

Post by Dazzled » Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:58 am

There are expensive instruments which a pro might bring out for a fee. You could also try out two different antennae, but you want to avoid that expense. Then you could make your own with enough ingenuity - see http://www.usbwifi.orconhosting.net.nz/

This shop advertises dual band - http://www.rfshop.com.au/Default.aspx?t ... na&Level=3

Log Cabin
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: Near YEA Victoria

Re: yagi antennas

Post by Log Cabin » Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:12 pm

Hi,

Do the Exetel Yagi Antenna's with the 13m of coax come with a plug to connect into the E169..?

Cheers

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: yagi antennas

Post by jokiin » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:35 pm

Log Cabin wrote:Hi,

Do the Exetel Yagi Antenna's with the 13m of coax come with a plug to connect into the E169..?

Cheers
the coax cable is quite thick as you could imagine so there is a small fly lead that connects the antenna lead to the modem connector

Log Cabin
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: Near YEA Victoria

Re: yagi antennas

Post by Log Cabin » Sat Aug 29, 2009 8:48 am

Thanks for the onfo jokiin. :D

Cheers

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: yagi antennas

Post by ForumAdmin » Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:13 pm

Conduit wrote:
jokiin wrote:
Conduit wrote:
If anybody is interested , I'll take photos and put them up on photobucket.
that would be good actually as I'm sure others would find some installation ideas useful
No worries , these brackets were a 2 hour operation to make so they're not as pretty as they could be with more time spent , but here's some pics , I'll put one photo in this thread and links only for the rest.

Image

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v433/ ... _0094s.jpg ( Bottom bracket detail )

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v433/ ... _0096s.jpg ( top bracket detail )

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v433/ ... _0098s.jpg ( bottom riser on hinge )

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v433/ ... _0097s.jpg ( entire installation view )
Would you be interested in us doing a write up on your installation for the web site?

Conduit
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:51 pm
Location: Hervey Bay , Qld

Re: yagi antennas

Post by Conduit » Sat Aug 29, 2009 8:11 pm

ForumAdmin wrote -
"Would you be interested in us doing a write up on your installation for the web site?"

Go for your life , with my blessing . I give you my official permission to use the photos above
and any comments I have made about it , sing out if you want any more pics.
The flat bar used to make the brackets was 50mm x 6mm ,
bolts are 3/8" and recently we had a fairly gusty / windy day here , movement at the top of the
pole was visible but negligible , so I'm confident that no guy wire supports will be needed ,
however in the event of a cyclone or major storm , I can lower the entire unit down onto the
ground in under a minute , should I feel the need to do so.

Apart from the fact that the antenna gave me a fantastic quality reception ( nothing usable without it ) ,
using clamping brackets , whether like mine or adapted to mount off a patio rail etc. is unlikely to
upset a landlord for those who live in rented premises . I own my home but still did not want to go drilling
holes in timber unnecessarily . Each situation is different ofcourse .

I've been getting by on dial-up for years as I'm not a big downloader , cost is a factor as any pensioner
will tell you , Exetels' wireless broadband is the best thing I've done for myself for a long time , LOVE IT !

I WAS paying about $90 per year for dial-up , plus about $40 per quarter for dial-up call costs , my next step
is to get a home phone VOIP setup going through the wireless via a modem/router with ATA , then I will also
stop paying line rental for a phone line , more savings :-) It's not all about money either , page download times are
satisfyingly fast , I would guesstimate 15-20 times faster than dial-up , on average . I'm happy with that :-)

ForumAdmin , the above comments are for you to cherry pick and use any comments ( or none ) as you see fit .


Regards , Conduit.
Last edited by Conduit on Sun Aug 30, 2009 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pundi
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: yagi antennas

Post by pundi » Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:48 am

Mixed results so far with the exetel yagi antenna. My parents have a holiday house in an optus 900Mhz fringe area (no gsm coverage without an antenna at the house - but somewhat usable 3km down the road) - and I signed them up on a 5Gb account. Had intended to use a woktenna to improve the signal (see blog here: http://pundi.blogs.exetel.com.au). With the woktenna and yagi setup side by side at ground level both where showing a 3/10 bars signal when aligned to their best position. However the yagi was only maintaining a 5KB/sec link vs. the woktennas 160KB/sec (ozspeedtest.com). I tried different polarizations but no luck. The end result is that I've installed the woktenna on the roof of the house and am now getting a stable 300KB/sec connection in an area that has no/poor optus reception - very happy. I'm going to have to spend some more time stuffing around with the yagi before I can provide anything more positive about it.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: yagi antennas

Post by jokiin » Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:04 pm

pundi wrote:Mixed results so far with the exetel yagi antenna. My parents have a holiday house in an optus 900Mhz fringe area (no gsm coverage without an antenna at the house - but somewhat usable 3km down the road) - and I signed them up on a 5Gb account. Had intended to use a woktenna to improve the signal (see blog here: http://pundi.blogs.exetel.com.au). With the woktenna and yagi setup side by side at ground level both where showing a 3/10 bars signal when aligned to their best position. However the yagi was only maintaining a 5KB/sec link vs. the woktennas 160KB/sec (ozspeedtest.com). I tried different polarizations but no luck. The end result is that I've installed the woktenna on the roof of the house and am now getting a stable 300KB/sec connection in an area that has no/poor optus reception - very happy. I'm going to have to spend some more time stuffing around with the yagi before I can provide anything more positive about it.
seems odd that they show the same signal strength but the throughput is dramatically different, did you check that the YAGI hasn't been damaged in transit, anything look out of alignment, kinks in the cable, damaged connector etc, anything like that at all?

Conduit
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:51 pm
Location: Hervey Bay , Qld

Re: yagi antennas

Post by Conduit » Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:16 pm

I've just done the ozspeedtest and the results are for wireless - line speed 766 kbps , download speed 96 KB/s .
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v433/ ... edtest.jpg

By comparison , the ozspeedtest on the other computer with dial-up ( for another month ) gave the results ,
line speed 41 kbps , download 5 KB/s .

Conduit
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:51 pm
Location: Hervey Bay , Qld

Re: yagi antennas

Post by Conduit » Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:37 pm

and am now getting a stable 300KB/sec connection in an area that has no/poor optus reception
pundi , are you sure you don't mean 300 kbps rather than 300KB/ sec ? Interesting post about the woktennas on your blog , I enjoyed that , thankyou :-)

pundi
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: yagi antennas

Post by pundi » Sun Aug 30, 2009 11:45 pm

Test Results from Oz Broadband Speed Test
----------------------------------
Test run on 30/08/2009 @ 08:43 AM

Mirror: Exetel
Data: 3 MB
Test Time: 9.06 secs

Your line speed is 2.71 Mbps (2705 kbps).
Your download speed is 338 KB/s (0.33 MB/s).
I was hoping for something stable around 100KB/s so the above is a great result - hopefully the cell doesn't get saturated as hspa pickup increases. Surprisingly the woktenna maintained a stable signal despite some significant wind induced swaying. Moderate rain didn't attenuate the signal too much either.

I've setup a Billion 7404VGPX linked to a cordless phone setup, and voip is working flawlessly with a very clear outcome on 711alaw codec (originally 729 was a little patch). I'm a little concerned with how the modem will handle a 40degree day - but I'll have to wait and see on that one. I'll update the blog latter with the complete setup.

Post Reply