Free Wireless with ADSL questions

Wireless broadband over 3G/4G
datax1969

Free Wireless with ADSL questions

Post by datax1969 » Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:51 pm

I'm pretty good with computers and networking and all that stuff but I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to mobiles. I'm currently on Z/21INCTEL and I'm thinking of switching to one of the new ADSL2 plans with 100Mb of free Wireless Broadband, probably OTBW. I can't find a complete set of answers anywhere else on the forum, so maybe having all these questions in one place might help others as well as myself. So as not to appear too dumb, I will frame the questions as statements for which I would like confirmation. A simple yes or no as a response to each item should be enough in most cases.

By the way, I only want the wireless for a mobile phone device, most probably an iPhone (I don't need a whole bunch of anti-Apple people telling me to get something else :-) By the time I finally make a move the Google Nexus thingummie might be here and I'll consider that). So all these questions relate only to the mobile phone aspect of wireless broadband.

As I understand it I get a SIM card with which:

a) I won't be able to make outbound calls on the GSM network at all.

b) Outbound calls will be done entirely through some sort of VOIP mobile app.

c) Incoming calls will use GSM and thus won't count towards the wireless data usage.

d) I can port an existing mobile number for use in this way.

e) I have 2 add-on packs with my ADSL service; 100 calls for $5 and 50mins of mobile calls for $5. Will outbound VOIP calls from the mobile device also come from these packs? For example, in one month I could make 20 mobile VOIP calls and 80 calls using ADSL2 VOIP and still pay the same $5? In the same manner I could also mix and match mobile-mobile VOIP and ADSL-mobile VOIP for a total of 50mins and still pay $5.