Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Wireless broadband over 3G/4G
felix
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 11:41 pm
Location: Orange, NSW, Australia
Contact:

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by felix » Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:48 pm

http://www.joiku.com/ also supports quite a few different models of phones.

I'm not on Exetel anymore (switched to Telstra due to the Voda coverage issue dilemma and before the optus plans) and I use Joiku.

Be worth asking Exetel if Wi-fi tethering like this will bring the wrath of Optus on the cap plans.

martyyyy
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 10:20 am

Tethering an Android phone with Exetel?

Post by martyyyy » Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:28 am

Has anybody tried using an android phone for tethering on one of the CAP plans?
Someone told me "yes you can use your mobile as a modem, but as it is not a 'supported feature' ".

In an email from Exetel they said "Network operators can identify when tethering is used". Not sure how they can tell with an Android phone as you use the same APN.

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Tethering an Android phone with Exetel?

Post by jokiin » Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:26 pm

martyyyy wrote:Has anybody tried using an android phone for tethering on one of the CAP plans?
Someone told me "yes you can use your mobile as a modem, but as it is not a 'supported feature' ".

In an email from Exetel they said "Network operators can identify when tethering is used". Not sure how they can tell with an Android phone as you use the same APN.
I think it has something to do with the user agent reported, a computer comes up differently in log files than a phone does

pssturges
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:26 am
Location: Blue Mountains

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by pssturges » Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:03 am

Well, after reading this thread I'm still completely confused. I have a jail broken iPhone 3G running ios 4.2.1 on an Exetel mobile cap 19 plan. Should I be able to tether or not? It was working a few months ago. But it's not now.

Thanks
Phil

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by jokiin » Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:03 am

pssturges wrote:Well, after reading this thread I'm still completely confused. I have a jail broken iPhone 3G running ios 4.2.1 on an Exetel mobile cap 19 plan. Should I be able to tether or not? It was working a few months ago. But it's not now.

Thanks
Phil
you can set a JB phone up to tether easy enough, I think your plan doesn't allow it though so I suspect you may get charged separately for any data used while tethering

User avatar
shoner
Forum Admin
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 2:50 pm

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by shoner » Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:10 am

pssturges wrote:Well, after reading this thread I'm still completely confused. I have a jail broken iPhone 3G running ios 4.2.1 on an Exetel mobile cap 19 plan. Should I be able to tether or not? It was working a few months ago. But it's not now.

Thanks
Phil
At present tethering is not available for cap plans.
"Helping Making a Better World"

Log a fault ticket Here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

pssturges
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:26 am
Location: Blue Mountains

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by pssturges » Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:03 am

It seems another Optus reseller is now offering iphone tethering inculded. Perhaps its time exetel revisited this issue with the wholesaler. If optus allow other resellers to have tethering, I see no reason why exetel can't? I'm sure many extel users would love to have this facility.


Check out the FAQ
http://www.amaysim.com.au/mobile-plans/ ... mited.html

Cheers
Phil

User avatar
udara
Exetel Staff
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by udara » Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:39 am

pssturges wrote:It seems another Optus reseller is now offering iphone tethering inculded. Perhaps its time exetel revisited this issue with the wholesaler. If optus allow other resellers to have tethering, I see no reason why exetel can't? I'm sure many extel users would love to have this facility.


Check out the FAQ
http://www.amaysim.com.au/mobile-plans/ ... mited.html

Cheers
Phil

Hi Pssturges,

Exetel too allows tethering but only under strict guidelines :)

- Tethering is an opt-in service via the Exetel members facility. It is not enabled by default.
- Warnings for the use of tethering must be agreed to before enabling.
- The correct input of the APN (access point name) must be adhered to. These are outlined at the point of enabling Tethering.
- If an incorrect APN is used, there will be severe implications in terms of high data charges which are payable by you, the customer.
- Be warned, mobile data usage is charged at $1.43 per MB if an incorrect APN is entered and you consume data usage with your handset.
- Exetel strictly takes no liability for any possible high data charges which may apply as a result of incorrect data usage.
- Correct APN’s by handset and plan are listed at the point of enabling tethering.

You can find more information on the Exewiki and your Members facilities

- ExeWiki (link) - http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php? ... thering.3F
- HSPA Members area - Once logged in ---> go to Mobile/Mobile Broadband ---> there you will find a link that says "Tethering" (You may enable tethering from that page and find more information)

Cheers :!: :!: :wink:
To Log a fault ticket, please click Here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

==============
Exetel Support Portal
==============

pssturges
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:26 am
Location: Blue Mountains

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by pssturges » Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:51 pm

Wow, that's great! I've set mine up and it's working like a charm. I assume this is something relatively new? All this talk about having the correct apn, I assume my iPhone 4 would have the correct settings by default as they really can't be seen/edited?

Cheers
Phil

User avatar
jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by jokiin » Fri Jul 22, 2011 9:29 am

pssturges wrote:Wow, that's great! I've set mine up and it's working like a charm. I assume this is something relatively new? All this talk about having the correct apn, I assume my iPhone 4 would have the correct settings by default as they really can't be seen/edited?

Cheers
Phil
the iPhone will use whatever the default settings are based on the SIM you're using unless you change them to something else, if you do edit the APN (there are a few ways of doing this) then it is considered an unsigned carrier bundle and Tethering is not available to use anyway, in other words Tethering can only work if the APN is at its carrier default setting

tomdavies
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 3:22 pm
Location: Petersham
Contact:

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by tomdavies » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:52 am

So for someone like me on a WM-B plan, I'm still out of luck: I need to use the exetel1 APN, which means a non-carrier profile, so even with tethering enabled in user facilities, my iPhone still says "contact OPTUS" :-(

User avatar
shoner
Forum Admin
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 2:50 pm

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by shoner » Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:04 pm

tomdavies wrote:So for someone like me on a WM-B plan, I'm still out of luck: I need to use the exetel1 APN, which means a non-carrier profile, so even with tethering enabled in user facilities, my iPhone still says "contact OPTUS" :-(
Please PM me your service number.
"Helping Making a Better World"

Log a fault ticket Here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

SpaceMonkey
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 9:23 pm

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by SpaceMonkey » Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:35 pm

shoner wrote:
tomdavies wrote:So for someone like me on a WM-B plan, I'm still out of luck: I need to use the exetel1 APN, which means a non-carrier profile, so even with tethering enabled in user facilities, my iPhone still says "contact OPTUS" :-(
Please PM me your service number.
Hi Shoner,

I'm having the same problem, have also sent you my service number.

tomdavies
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 3:22 pm
Location: Petersham
Contact:

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by tomdavies » Tue Jul 03, 2012 9:22 pm

Shoner wasn't able to help me, so please update thus thread if you have any joy.

Tom

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Tethering iPhone With Exetel

Post by ShaminG » Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:48 pm

You could refer the link below, which clearly explains the APN for each mobile plan and the availability of tethering.

http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php? ... N_Settings

Post Reply