Back to dialup speed again (well, almost)

Wireless broadband over 3G/4G
Post Reply
petemoss
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:22 pm

Back to dialup speed again (well, almost)

Post by petemoss » Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:23 pm

Noticed the last few days, the speed with the HSPA has been terribly slow.

Exetel speed test shows ..
Your current bandwidth reading is:

107.10kbps

which means you can download at 13.39 KB/sec. from our servers.
and the results from speedtest.net as follows:
Date IP Address Download Upload Latency Server Distance

1/19/2011 2:28 AM GMT 220.233.***.*** 0.35 Mb/s 0.06 Mb/s 125 ms Sydney < 50 mi

1/18/2011 11:54 AM GMT 220.233.***.*** 0.08 Mb/s 0.03 Mb/s 392 ms Tokyo ~ 4850 mi

1/1/2011 10:05 AM GMT 220.233.***.*** 0.87 Mb/s 0.33 Mb/s 138 ms Sydney < 50 mi

1/1/2011 9:32 AM GMT 220.233.***.*** 0.23 Mb/s 0.31 Mb/s 113 ms Sydney < 50 mi

1/1/2011 9:31 AM GMT 220.233.***.*** 0.22 Mb/s 0.28 Mb/s 204 ms Sydney < 50 mi

9/4/2010 1:22 PM GMT 220.233.***.*** 1.04 Mb/s 0.33 Mb/s 212 ms Sydney < 50 mi

Notice the last time I needed to test it, was Sept. last year, it has been approx. at that same speed since then (no noticeable change). Since the first of Jan, it died though.

Some ping results ..
PING http://www.l.google.com (66.102.11.104) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=1 ttl=57 time=115 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=3 ttl=57 time=127 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=4 ttl=57 time=386 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=6 ttl=57 time=127 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=7 ttl=57 time=127 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=8 ttl=57 time=127 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=9 ttl=57 time=139 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=10 ttl=57 time=135 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=11 ttl=57 time=115 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=12 ttl=57 time=114 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=14 ttl=57 time=127 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=15 ttl=57 time=126 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=16 ttl=57 time=125 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=17 ttl=57 time=124 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=19 ttl=57 time=118 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=20 ttl=57 time=117 ms
64 bytes from syd01s01-in-f104.1e100.net (66.102.11.104): icmp_seq=21 ttl=57 time=116 ms
Any reasons for this please ?

Pete

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Back to dialup speed again (well, almost)

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri Jan 21, 2011 1:28 pm

petemoss wrote:Any reasons for this please ?
*Shrug* Reception or tower congestion?

You might want to test the speeds a bit more by taking it to a different location. But basically, 3G is always going to be subject to more fluctuations in speed than ADSL. It is extremely location dependent.
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

petemoss
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:22 pm

Re: Back to dialup speed again (well, almost)

Post by petemoss » Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:19 pm

This is happening again. At first I thought it was the new router, see viewtopic.php?f=54&t=38224

Timeouts on 99% of websites, email is timing out, etc,etc.

By why, when I cannot get access to other sites, is the Exetel forum so fast ???????

Pete

petemoss
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:22 pm

Re: Back to dialup speed again (well, almost)

Post by petemoss » Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:24 pm

After 2 logins, I get to reply (sigh, when are Exetel going to fix that)
By why, when I cannot get access to other sites, is the Exetel forum/site so fast ??
Anyone ?

Pete

User avatar
nuranj
Exetel Staff
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Back to dialup speed again (well, almost)

Post by nuranj » Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:04 pm

So therefore for further investigate this case, could you please kindly provide us three speed test results from http://www.exetel.com.au/speed during the time when the service is connected and no other downloads are occurring.

Also kindly get ping test results for the following below IP addresses.
- optus.com.au
- 115.70.16.32

Also kindly confirm whether you are connecting 3G or 2G

Please confirm the below.

- Color of the LED device? Does the colors change?
- What is the signal strength? Does the signals varies?
- Are you accessing from a house or a building ? If a building in which floor?

petemoss
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:22 pm

Re: Back to dialup speed again (well, almost)

Post by petemoss » Thu Jun 23, 2011 5:25 pm

nuranj wrote:So therefore for further investigate this case, could you please kindly provide us three speed test results from http://www.exetel.com.au/speed during the time when the service is connected and no other downloads are occurring.
4:22 pm Your current bandwidth reading is: 77.00kbps which means you can download at 9.63 KB/sec. from our servers.
4:30 pm Your current bandwidth reading is: 83.80kbps which means you can download at 10.48 KB/sec. from our servers.
4:56 pm Your current bandwidth reading is: 484.40kbps which means you can download at 60.55 KB/sec. from our servers.
5:23 pm Your current bandwidth reading is: 286.70kbps which means you can download at 35.84 KB/sec. from our servers.
nuranj wrote: Also kindly get ping test results for the following below IP addresses.
- optus.com.au
- 115.70.16.32
$ ping optus.com.au
PING optus.com.au (203.13.127.32) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=1 ttl=247 time=119 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=2 ttl=247 time=2204 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=3 ttl=247 time=1203 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=4 ttl=247 time=254 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=6 ttl=247 time=97.7 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=7 ttl=247 time=3053 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=8 ttl=247 time=2077 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=9 ttl=247 time=1090 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=10 ttl=247 time=91.2 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=11 ttl=247 time=115 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=12 ttl=247 time=118 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=13 ttl=247 time=124 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=14 ttl=247 time=117 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=15 ttl=247 time=128 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=16 ttl=247 time=1850 ms
64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=17 ttl=247 time=870 ms
^C64 bytes from 203.13.127.32: icmp_seq=18 ttl=247 time=114 ms

--- optus.com.au ping statistics ---
18 packets transmitted, 17 received, 5% packet loss, time 107350ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 91.232/801.848/3053.797/925.840 ms, pipe 4
:~$
:~$ ping 115.70.16.32
PING 115.70.16.32 (115.70.16.32) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=1 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=8 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=9 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=10 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=11 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=12 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=13 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=14 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=15 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=16 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=17 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=18 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=19 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=20 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=21 Time to live exceeded
From 58.96.2.1 icmp_seq=22 Time to live exceeded
^C
--- 115.70.16.32 ping statistics ---
26 packets transmitted, 0 received, +16 errors, 100% packet loss, time 25049ms
, pipe 7
nuranj wrote:Also kindly confirm whether you are connecting 3G or 2G
3G
nuranj wrote: Please confirm the below.

- Color of the LED device? Does the colors change?
- What is the signal strength? Does the signals varies?
- Are you accessing from a house or a building ? If a building in which floor?
The LED is cyan (HSDPA) , but of course it sometimes switches to blue (WCDMA) , which is what the modems are designed to do. Regards signal strength, see this thread for a discussion on that. We are in a house, single storey.

Pete

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Back to dialup speed again (well, almost)

Post by Dazzled » Thu Jun 23, 2011 7:01 pm

115.70.16.32 doesn't respond to ping. You will get an interesting result from tracepath 115.70.16.32, or traceroute, mtr, hping2, etc.

petemoss
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:22 pm

Re: Back to dialup speed again (well, almost)

Post by petemoss » Thu Jun 23, 2011 8:18 pm

The tracepath went and queried the router 3 times, and then showed 'no response'.

Post Reply