edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Wireless broadband over 3G/4G
samarium
Posts: 376
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:17 am

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by samarium » Mon May 23, 2011 2:37 pm

thejeg wrote:
granny1 wrote:Hi,
Thank you for your help ....Mine is still showing ver: 0.01-01r615
Phone usage for the 10 days in Melbourne was terrible the reception was that bad and scratchy couldn't talk on the phone at all.... MOST DISAPPOINTING...
Just using OPTUS on its own the Phone was great ,but exetel was a no go.
I don't know how to update csipsimple.
Regards Granny
Can you please try selecting G7711µ law to see if the Scratchy noise disappear?
Or in CSipSimple terms G711 ulaw is PCMU 8kHz.

My settings are the same for both narrowband and wideband: PCMU, PCMA, G729. I have disabled all other codecs. You might have to enable advanced configuration to get to these settings. I tried to use G729 before and the voice quality was not appreciated by the person at the other end, so swapped to PCMU

thejeg

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by thejeg » Tue May 24, 2011 12:32 am

samarium wrote:Or in CSipSimple terms G711 ulaw is PCMU 8kHz.

My settings are the same for both narrowband and wideband: PCMU, PCMA, G729. I have disabled all other codecs. You might have to enable advanced configuration to get to these settings. I tried to use G729 before and the voice quality was not appreciated by the person at the other end, so swapped to PCMU
Yes or you may also try G711A which is designed to use in all countries.

samarium
Posts: 376
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:17 am

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by samarium » Tue May 31, 2011 3:48 pm

I've updated my codec list to PCMA, PCMU, G729.

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by granny1 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:51 pm

Hi All,
Thank you for the info, I have just updated the codecs also.
I am heading back to Melbourne next week so I will find out if it works any better.
Regards granny

samarium
Posts: 376
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:17 am

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by samarium » Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:15 pm

granny1, did the CSipSimple update allow you get settings->network->incoming/outgoing->use3G and have it stick?

thejeg

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by thejeg » Thu Jun 02, 2011 4:45 pm

samarium wrote:granny1, did the CSipSimple update allow you get settings->network->incoming/outgoing->use3G and have it stick?
Hmm!!! I'm also interested in knowing that :D

Baldrick
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:10 am

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by Baldrick » Fri Jun 03, 2011 8:04 pm

thejeg wrote:
samarium wrote:granny1, did the CSipSimple update allow you get settings->network->incoming/outgoing->use3G and have it stick?
Hmm!!! I'm also interested in knowing that :D
Fwiw, this is a problem with CSipSimple only if you try to use the 'easy configuration' menu after you have changed things in 'network' settings.
For some silly reason the easy configuration menu will override anything you may have customised such as turning off gprs, edge, other networks, etc.
Simple rule, once you get things how you want never touch the 'easy configuration' menu again...

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by granny1 » Sun Jun 05, 2011 6:57 pm

Hi,
No it doesn't stick, I am just checking it each time before I ring out..... pain in the bh
Regards granny :roll:

samarium
Posts: 376
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:17 am

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by samarium » Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:15 pm

granny1, given Baldrick's statement above, try switching to exper configuration and then selecting 3G.

Since I always like to see all the options, I always pick expert configuration, so maybe that is why it works for me.

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by granny1 » Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:58 pm

Hi samarium,
Just back from Melb.
Don't know how or why but it seems to be sticking to 3g now....
I also used the GPS for the first time ...what a fantastic invention.... no road rage from other half such a peaceful week driving all around Melb, love it.
Regards granny

samarium
Posts: 376
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:17 am

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by samarium » Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:50 pm

Good to see things are working for you with CSIPSimple

Yes, Google Navigation is pretty good. I live how it will take into account projected trafic densities and use that in planning a quicker route. I'm looking forward to full offline support sometime in the future.

granny12
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 1:02 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by granny12 » Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:48 pm

Hi samarium,
It is me granny1..... lost my password and had to re-register....
Just an update..since being back in Tassie for a few days it has gone back to the not sticking .... most annoying.
Regards granny :cry:

samarium
Posts: 376
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:17 am

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by samarium » Thu Jun 23, 2011 6:45 pm

granny12 wrote:Hi samarium,
It is me granny1..... lost my password and had to re-register....
Just an update..since being back in Tassie for a few days it has gone back to the not sticking .... most annoying.
Regards granny :cry:
Couldn't you do a "lost password" thing in the forum and get it to email you an old/new one?

I wonder if this CSIPSimple behaviour has anything to do with the availability of the 3G signal where you are?

I don't expect the app to have location specific glitches.

So by not sticking, you are talking about the 3G incoming/outgoing network setting in CSIPSimple?

Or about whether you can see the CSIPSimple icon up the top left saying it has a connection to the SIP server and is listening for incoming calls?

granny12
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 1:02 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: edge and gprs on Android phone using MOIP

Post by granny12 » Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:39 pm

Hi,
When I say it's not sticking I mean it doesn't just stay on the 3g it turns all the others on as well which runs the battery down pretty quick, when it stays just on the 3g battery is fine.
the coverage map shows that we have good 3g coverage also my son and grand daughter both have 3g phones no problem.
So I don't know...
Regards granny :?

Post Reply