Page 1 of 2

Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:47 pm
by tomdavies
I'm using an exetel level 2 Optus SIM in a Vodafone branded E220, connected to a d-link dir-412, connecting via WiFI from OS X.

The E220 works perfectly well connected straight to a computer, and seems to be working now, i.e.

- E220 light is steady blue

- DIR-412 reports successful connection:

Local address:220.233.60.139
Subnet Mask:255.255.255.255
Peer address:10.64.64.64
Primary DNS Server:220.233.0.3
Secondary DNS Server:220.233.0.4

- Computer (OS X) can traceroute name server:

traceroute to 220.233.0.3 (220.233.0.3), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 * * *
2 57.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au (220.233.2.57) 280.689 ms 388.982 ms 419.587 ms
3 139.6.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.6.139) 410.284 ms 332.274 ms 514.468 ms
4 mx2.exetel.com.au (220.233.0.3) 406.645 ms 449.567 ms 498.022 ms

But all web page requests time out.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Tom

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:25 pm
by Chalin
tomdavies wrote:I'm using an exetel level 2 Optus SIM in a Vodafone branded E220, connected to a d-link dir-412, connecting via WiFI from OS X.

The E220 works perfectly well connected straight to a computer, and seems to be working now, i.e.

- E220 light is steady blue

- DIR-412 reports successful connection:

Local address:220.233.60.139
Subnet Mask:255.255.255.255
Peer address:10.64.64.64
Primary DNS Server:220.233.0.3
Secondary DNS Server:220.233.0.4

- Computer (OS X) can traceroute name server:

traceroute to 220.233.0.3 (220.233.0.3), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 * * *
2 57.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au (220.233.2.57) 280.689 ms 388.982 ms 419.587 ms
3 139.6.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.6.139) 410.284 ms 332.274 ms 514.468 ms
4 mx2.exetel.com.au (220.233.0.3) 406.645 ms 449.567 ms 498.022 ms

But all web page requests time out.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Tom
----------------------

Hi Tom,

Please note that I have made some changes to your connection. Could you please unplug the device and plug it back again and check the service.

I have also created a ticket on the help-desk [4514256] ; if you need further assistance kindly quote the ticket ID.

Regards,

Chalin

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:41 pm
by tomdavies
Thanks for the quick response Chalin, but power cycling the modem and the DIR-412 didn't help.

Note that the DIR-412 allows you to test a ping -- this times out, to a host which I know replies to ping (67.221.237.13), so the problem doesn't seem to be between the computer and the DIR-412.

Just out of interest -- what change did you make to my connection?

Thanks again,
Tom

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:27 am
by KavindaS
tomdavies wrote:Thanks for the quick response Chalin, but power cycling the modem and the DIR-412 didn't help.

Note that the DIR-412 allows you to test a ping -- this times out, to a host which I know replies to ping (67.221.237.13), so the problem doesn't seem to be between the computer and the DIR-412.

Just out of interest -- what change did you make to my connection?

Thanks again,
Tom
Hi Tom,

We have done a internal IP change from our end. Since it has not improved the connection, Could you please connect the relevant service and once it is connected update this thread ASAP. In order to do the testings from our end your connection should be connected and online. Once you confirmed we will do the tests and update you. :)

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:35 am
by tomdavies
Thanks -- I won't be able to set up the connection again until about 6pm Sydney time -- I'll update this thread when I do...

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:10 pm
by tomdavies
Connected now

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:55 pm
by Chalin
tomdavies wrote:Connected now
Could you please connect the USB device directly into the computer and try to do the trace routes and check if you are experiencing the same browsing issues ?

Thanks

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:22 am
by tomdavies
Connected directly to the OS X machine it works perfectly -- here's the traceroute:

traceroute to 220.233.0.3 (220.233.0.3), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 * * *
2 37.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au (220.233.2.37) 183.504 ms 141.442 ms 159.349 ms
3 139.6.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.6.139) 157.646 ms 178.459 ms 162.681 ms
4 mx2.exetel.com.au (220.233.0.3) 158.168 ms 138.493 ms 158.695 ms

It seems that the problem is to do with the DIR-412, but what problem could give the symptoms I'm seeing, i.e. DNS works, it seems to think routing works, but no traffic seems to actually get through?

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:51 am
by nuranj
Could you please kindly check now and confirm the service.

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:21 am
by tomdavies
I'll check this evening -- thanks for the help.

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:42 am
by KavindaS
tomdavies wrote:I'll check this evening -- thanks for the help.
No worries, You may check any possible time and update the thread if require further investigation. :)

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:03 pm
by tomdavies
Still no change. I'm sure it's something to do with the DIR-412, as things are fine directly connected to the E220. But I can't see any config parameter that might make a difference.

I notice "Could not determine remote IP address: defaulting to 10.64.64.64" in the DIR-412's logs. Does that indicate a problem?

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:59 pm
by nuranj
tomdavies wrote:Still no change. I'm sure it's something to do with the DIR-412, as things are fine directly connected to the E220. But I can't see any config parameter that might make a difference.

I notice "Could not determine remote IP address: defaulting to 10.64.64.64" in the DIR-412's logs. Does that indicate a problem?
Please note that in that case definitely an issue with the configuration of that device. I would suggest you to re-try again by re-configuring it as below method.

Please connect the USB stick to the device and then kindly log into the web interface of the router, the Setup > Internet page will appear.
Click the Internet Connection Setup Wizard button to quickly configure your router using the setup wizard.

Then Click Next to continue.

Create a new password and then click Next to continue.

Select your time zone from the drop-down menu and then click Next to continue.

Configure your 3G Internet Connection settings as below and then click Next to continue.

In that page,
- remove the tick for "AUTO CONFIG"
- Make sure the username and the password is left blank
- Dial number is = *99#
- APN = exetel1
- Authentication Protocol = AUTO
- Reconnect modem = Always on
- Maximum idle time = 0
- MTU = 1492

Then finally Click Connect to save your settings. Once the router has finished rebooting, click Continue. Please allow 1-2 minutes to connect.

Please check and if you still have the issue then i would suggest you to contact the modem manufacturer since the connection is working when the USB stick is connected directly.

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:01 am
by nuranj
Also in addition to my previous post, make sure no IP addresses has been assigned manually on your PC's / Laptops and kindly do a factory reset to the router before configuring it.

Re: Can traceroute nameserver, but no http

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:47 am
by tomdavies
That fixed it -- I think I had all those settings before, except the MTU -- I had tried various MTU settings, some below 1492, but never exactly 1492.

Thanks for your persistence.