New Optus NAT Layer?

Wireless broadband over 3G/4G
Post Reply
k3nstyl
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: Newcastle

New Optus NAT Layer?

Post by k3nstyl » Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:10 pm

Hi

Im just wondering of Optus have added a new firewall in the last week or so, as i can no longer access inbound services (CCTV cameras), that i had setup previously.

I am on the S9 Mobile plan.

Also i notice that the WAN IP address in the router is different to the one portforward.com is giving me.

stevecJ
Forum Admin
Posts: 1041
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:48 am

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Post by stevecJ » Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:55 pm

k3nstyl wrote:Hi

Im just wondering of Optus have added a new firewall in the last week or so, as i can no longer access inbound services (CCTV cameras), that i had setup previously.

I am on the S9 Mobile plan.

Also i notice that the WAN IP address in the router is different to the one portforward.com is giving me.
Hi,

Could you please PM me your service number so I can check whether there were any changes done to the service.
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

samarium
Posts: 376
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:17 am

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Post by samarium » Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:32 pm

I logged ticket 5816062 to that effect on 30-Oct-2012. If you have been protected until now, I guess you have either been lucky, or haven't looked?

Seems like half an internet connection is the only game in town with Optus standard plans.

It is a PITA, but hardly surprising given the scarcity of IPV4 addresses.

It would be less of a hassle if Exetel & Optus would provide IPV6 transit for ADSL & 3G/4G, but I'm not holding my breath.

shoner
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 2:50 pm

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Post by shoner » Mon Apr 22, 2013 4:54 pm

samarium wrote:
It would be less of a hassle if Exetel & Optus would provide IPV6 transit for ADSL & 3G/4G, but I'm not holding my breath.
I could happen in the future, but there are no current plans for something like this to happen over night.
"Helping Making a Better World"

Log a fault ticket Here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

thomashouseman
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Toongabbie
Contact:

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Post by thomashouseman » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:00 pm

shoner wrote:
samarium wrote:
It would be less of a hassle if Exetel & Optus would provide IPV6 transit for ADSL & 3G/4G, but I'm not holding my breath.
I could happen in the future, but there are no current plans for something like this to happen over night.
Yeah, but it's been almost 5 years since it was first asked: viewtopic.php?f=230&t=28257&p=216510&hilit=ipv6#p216510

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1991
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Post by James » Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:50 am

Thomas, how much sway do we have over Optus' network policies?

thomashouseman
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Toongabbie
Contact:

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Post by thomashouseman » Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:02 pm

:D Fair call.

Post Reply