Page 1 of 1

New Optus NAT Layer?

Posted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:10 pm
by k3nstyl
Hi

Im just wondering of Optus have added a new firewall in the last week or so, as i can no longer access inbound services (CCTV cameras), that i had setup previously.

I am on the S9 Mobile plan.

Also i notice that the WAN IP address in the router is different to the one portforward.com is giving me.

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Posted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:55 pm
by stevecJ
k3nstyl wrote:Hi

Im just wondering of Optus have added a new firewall in the last week or so, as i can no longer access inbound services (CCTV cameras), that i had setup previously.

I am on the S9 Mobile plan.

Also i notice that the WAN IP address in the router is different to the one portforward.com is giving me.
Hi,

Could you please PM me your service number so I can check whether there were any changes done to the service.

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Posted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:32 pm
by samarium
I logged ticket 5816062 to that effect on 30-Oct-2012. If you have been protected until now, I guess you have either been lucky, or haven't looked?

Seems like half an internet connection is the only game in town with Optus standard plans.

It is a PITA, but hardly surprising given the scarcity of IPV4 addresses.

It would be less of a hassle if Exetel & Optus would provide IPV6 transit for ADSL & 3G/4G, but I'm not holding my breath.

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Posted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 4:54 pm
by shoner
samarium wrote:
It would be less of a hassle if Exetel & Optus would provide IPV6 transit for ADSL & 3G/4G, but I'm not holding my breath.
I could happen in the future, but there are no current plans for something like this to happen over night.

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Posted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:00 pm
by thomashouseman
shoner wrote:
samarium wrote:
It would be less of a hassle if Exetel & Optus would provide IPV6 transit for ADSL & 3G/4G, but I'm not holding my breath.
I could happen in the future, but there are no current plans for something like this to happen over night.
Yeah, but it's been almost 5 years since it was first asked: viewtopic.php?f=230&t=28257&p=216510&hilit=ipv6#p216510

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:50 am
by James
Thomas, how much sway do we have over Optus' network policies?

Re: New Optus NAT Layer?

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:02 pm
by thomashouseman
:D Fair call.