SNR Question

Fibre broadband and trials

SNR Question

Postby diaz on Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:33 pm

I am connected to NBN FTTN and am currently on the 25/5 plan and am very happy with the performance and stability.

In my router it says my maximum line rate is 78056 kbps down / 39346 kbps up.
My SNR is 27.3 dB down / 19.6 dB up and attenuation is 13.1db down / 23.6db up.

From my reading, VDSL2 performs stably down to 6dB so was wondering if my maximum line rate is being capped becasue I simply don't need it for the plan that I'm on. As such, my modem and the node has negotiated an appropriate speed based on this.

If this is the case, does that mean if I eventually ordered a higher tier (although Exetel doesn't offer 100/40 on FTTN) I could sync higher than my current max line rate?
diaz
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Lambton

Re: SNR Question

Postby KavindaS on Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:01 pm

diaz wrote:I am connected to NBN FTTN and am currently on the 25/5 plan and am very happy with the performance and stability.

In my router it says my maximum line rate is 78056 kbps down / 39346 kbps up.
My SNR is 27.3 dB down / 19.6 dB up and attenuation is 13.1db down / 23.6db up.

From my reading, VDSL2 performs stably down to 6dB so was wondering if my maximum line rate is being capped becasue I simply don't need it for the plan that I'm on. As such, my modem and the node has negotiated an appropriate speed based on this.

If this is the case, does that mean if I eventually ordered a higher tier (although Exetel doesn't offer 100/40 on FTTN) I could sync higher than my current max line rate?


Usually the modem sync rate indicates the maximum capability of the respective line that could go with the speed. Therefore as you said, based on the provisioned plan the speed has limited with the programing end. If the supplier system allows, still Exetel can provision a 100/40 on FTTN service. According to the current sync rate there is a high chance of getting a better speed with a higher plan.
User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 1635
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: SNR Question

Postby diaz on Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:38 pm

KavindaS wrote: If the supplier system allows, still Exetel can provision a 100/40 on FTTN service.


Do you mean that there is a possibility of requesting 100/40 even if it isn't listed as an option in myexetel? Thanks
diaz
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Lambton

Re: SNR Question

Postby KavindaS on Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:54 pm

diaz wrote:
KavindaS wrote: If the supplier system allows, still Exetel can provision a 100/40 on FTTN service.


Do you mean that there is a possibility of requesting 100/40 even if it isn't listed as an option in myexetel? Thanks


I will arrange a call from the sales department to further explain on this.
User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 1635
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: SNR Question

Postby diaz on Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:44 pm

Thanks Kavinda, received the call today. It's good to know that 100/40 is available on FTTN just have to call and request it. At $79.99 for 500Gb it's quite competitively priced too :-)
diaz
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Lambton

Re: SNR Question

Postby Surfn Chick on Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:43 pm

Best to know how far you are from the Node. I am aware of some residents getting 75 Mbps but they have the node out the front of their home. So if it is 800 m (which some are) from your home this will reduce the speed also.

diaz wrote:
KavindaS wrote: If the supplier system allows, still Exetel can provision a 100/40 on FTTN service.


Do you mean that there is a possibility of requesting 100/40 even if it isn't listed as an option in myexetel? Thanks
Surfn Chick
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:45 pm


Return to Fibre services

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest