Fibre FAQ

Services provided via NBN Co, Opticomm, Open Networks, Red Train, LBN Co, and TPG FttB
User avatar
slave1
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:59 pm
Location: Toowoomba QLD

Re: Fibre FAQ

Post by slave1 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:47 pm

Not sure if this has been answered elsewhere, but will Exetel know when each of its customers are eligible for NBN? Just curious that's all - e.g via some automated email system whereby Exetel's customer database is checked against NBN live areas, and if so are those customers notified? Thanks in advance.

User avatar
remosha
Exetel Staff
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:32 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Fibre FAQ

Post by remosha » Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:44 pm

slave1 wrote:Not sure if this has been answered elsewhere, but will Exetel know when each of its customers are eligible for NBN? Just curious that's all - e.g via some automated email system whereby Exetel's customer database is checked against NBN live areas, and if so are those customers notified? Thanks in advance.
You may use this link to check for NBN Service Availability: http://www.exetel.com.au/residential-fibre-sq.php

User avatar
slave1
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:59 pm
Location: Toowoomba QLD

Re: Fibre FAQ

Post by slave1 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:53 am

remosha wrote:You may use this link to check for NBN Service Availability: http://www.exetel.com.au/residential-fibre-sq.php
Thanks Remosha, have seen that link already. Do you guys have some sort of 'waitlist' aswell?

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6000
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Fibre FAQ

Post by Dazzled » Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:18 pm

The NBNCo issues a newsletter, as well as the coloured maps.

Franpa
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:44 am
Location: Australia, QLD

Re: Fibre FAQ

Post by Franpa » Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:53 pm

It looks like the first post can do with a bit of an update, specifically in regards to what speeds are achievable via Fiber (is it still 100/8Mb/s?) and the Basic Plan Package is now 25/5Mb/s instead of 25/1Mb/s.

Also the FAQ seems to exclude any mention of FTTN? It would be nice to have some info saying FTTN requires a compatible VDSL modem for example.
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i7 920 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 24GB DDR3 1520MHz RAM | MSI Gamer 1080Ti 8GB | Integrated Sound Card | Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply | Exetel ZTE H268 Modem

User avatar
Amila Fernando
Forum Admin
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:59 am
Location: Australia

Re: Fibre FAQ

Post by Amila Fernando » Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:56 pm

Franpa wrote:It looks like the first post can do with a bit of an update, specifically in regards to what speeds are achievable via Fiber (is it still 100/8Mb/s?) and the Basic Plan Package is now 25/5Mb/s instead of 25/1Mb/s.

Also the FAQ seems to exclude any mention of FTTN? It would be nice to have some info saying FTTN requires a compatible VDSL modem for example.
Hi Franpa,

This has been mentioned on Fibre FAQ. Please refer following link - https://www.exetel.com.au/broadband/nbn-faq#eight

-Quote-

Your FTTN/B VDSL connection will require a modem router that is compliant with the NBN VDSL2 equipment specifications. Modem routers purchased from Exetel are compliant.

If your VDSL2 modem router is not registered as compliant with NBN, then NBN as the network supplier may, in some some circumstances be unwilling to investigate or repair a fault associated with your service. In some cases NBN may place a service into a Repair Profile and/or Suspend a service if they determine that the VDSL2 equipment is causing detriment to other services. It is not enough for a modem to just have VDSL2 support – it must support all of the required NBN features and have them switched on.

This is why we STRONGLY advise purchasing our recommended VDSL2 modem routers as these have been certified to work and are registered with NBN. This means we can ensure your service works as expected and provide full support.

-Unquote-
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

Franpa
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:44 am
Location: Australia, QLD

Re: Fibre FAQ

Post by Franpa » Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:43 pm

I did specifically mean the FAQ in the first page of this topic but I suppose you could simply add a URL to the newer website FAQ to the top of the first post.
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i7 920 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 24GB DDR3 1520MHz RAM | MSI Gamer 1080Ti 8GB | Integrated Sound Card | Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply | Exetel ZTE H268 Modem

User avatar
Amila Fernando
Forum Admin
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:59 am
Location: Australia

Re: Fibre FAQ

Post by Amila Fernando » Wed Apr 26, 2017 10:06 pm

Franpa wrote:I did specifically mean the FAQ in the first page of this topic but I suppose you could simply add a URL to the newer website FAQ to the top of the first post.
Thank you for your suggestion & we will forward it to relevant team.
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

Post Reply