What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Services provided via NBN Co, Opticomm, Open Networks, Red Train, LBN Co, and TPG FttB
howardt
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 5:19 pm
Location: Sydney

What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by howardt » Tue May 11, 2010 9:05 am

In order to share the internet and run VoIP, ideally to get an all-in-one unit.

A suggestion is

Cisco - WRP400-G4 which is a 4 port router with 2 FXO VoIP lines supported.

JeremyP
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle NSW

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by JeremyP » Wed May 12, 2010 3:43 pm

Any router that has an ethernet WAN port and LAN ports (either via a built in switch or external) and either in built VoIP or using external ATAs connected to the router will suffice.

thalamic
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:40 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by thalamic » Tue May 18, 2010 3:21 pm

JeremyP wrote:Any router that has an ethernet WAN port and LAN ports (either via a built in switch or external) and either in built VoIP or using external ATAs connected to the router will suffice.
My Billion ADSL2 router 7404VNPX has all the features you described, but Exetel's fibre FAQ seems to rule out all adsl2 routers?
Q12. Can I use my ADSL/Cable Router for Exetel's Fibre services?

No. If you require more than one PC/Device to connect to the ONT(Fibre Terminal) then you must aquire a router that has both WAN and LAN port(s) (and indeed any extras like wireless). ADSL2 routers do not have a WAN port which is needed if you intend to connect multiple machines to the Internet via Fibre Broadband.

JeremyP
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle NSW

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by JeremyP » Tue May 18, 2010 3:30 pm

thalamic wrote:
JeremyP wrote:Any router that has an ethernet WAN port and LAN ports (either via a built in switch or external) and either in built VoIP or using external ATAs connected to the router will suffice.
My Billion ADSL2 router 7404VNPX has all the features you described, but Exetel's fibre FAQ seems to rule out all adsl2 routers?
Q12. Can I use my ADSL/Cable Router for Exetel's Fibre services?

No. If you require more than one PC/Device to connect to the ONT(Fibre Terminal) then you must aquire a router that has both WAN and LAN port(s) (and indeed any extras like wireless). ADSL2 routers do not have a WAN port which is needed if you intend to connect multiple machines to the Internet via Fibre Broadband.
No, the Billion 7404VPNX does not have an ethernet WAN port, it has a DSL port.

ADSL2 modems are not compatible with these services.

For these services you need a router only, not a modem router, just a router that has an ethernet WAN port and LAN ports (or wireless).

To be honest there is only 1 available Billion 'router' only that is still being sold (officially): BiPAC 6404VGP

sable
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 9:28 am
Location: NSW

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by sable » Tue May 18, 2010 5:59 pm

To be honest there is only 1 available Billion 'router' only that is still being sold (officially): BiPAC 6404VGP
The BiGuard series meets the criteria but none have VoIP and are relatively expensive for home use, they are specialist VPN routers.

See here http://au.billion.com/product/biguard/biguard30.php

JeremyP
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle NSW

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by JeremyP » Tue May 18, 2010 6:07 pm

sable wrote:
To be honest there is only 1 available Billion 'router' only that is still being sold (officially): BiPAC 6404VGP
The BiGuard series meets the criteria but none have VoIP and are relatively expensive for home use, they are specialist VPN routers.

See here http://au.billion.com/product/biguard/biguard30.php
The 6404VGP is compatible and has VoIP.

thalamic
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:40 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by thalamic » Tue May 18, 2010 7:28 pm

JeremyP wrote: No, the Billion 7404VPNX does not have an ethernet WAN port, it has a DSL port.
In modem configuration I can see "EWAN" available for WAN port (the other 2 are adsl and 3G), so that was why I thought it has an ethernet WAN port.

6404VGP is just wireless G and has no gigabit. It would feel kind of funny to upgrade the line but downgrade the router.

JeremyP
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:22 pm
Location: Newcastle NSW

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by JeremyP » Tue May 18, 2010 7:59 pm

thalamic wrote:In modem configuration I can see "EWAN" available for WAN port (the other 2 are adsl and 3G), so that was why I thought it has an ethernet WAN port.
Actually i stand corrected, despite there being no such information for this function/feature provided on the Billion website, using 'EWAN' you would use ethernet port 1 on that billion device as the WAN port and the remaining 3 LAN ports for LAN.
thalamic wrote:6404VGP is just wireless G and has no gigabit. It would feel kind of funny to upgrade the line but downgrade the router.
You would only be downgrading the router in regards to data transfers affecting LAN services (well mainly).

Even with 10/100 ports you can still reach the maximum download/upload as per the maximum available fibre service eg. 100mbit.

The only limiting factor would of course be the wireless G, which is only 54mbit, but that is still more than reasonable speeds.

Bru012
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 11:17 am
Location: Point Cook

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by Bru012 » Sat May 22, 2010 10:12 am

I am considering the Apple Airport Extreme, Netcomm NP802n or ASUS RT-N16 . Any one see a problem with any of these ? Then of course I have to consider a VOIP option.

Munka
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:22 pm
Location: Rural NSW

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by Munka » Sat May 22, 2010 3:17 pm

Bru012 wrote:I am considering the Apple Airport Extreme, Netcomm NP802n or ASUS RT-N16 . Any one see a problem with any of these ? Then of course I have to consider a VOIP option.
I know little to nothing about fibre, but I would be willing to learn :D
But I would choose the ASUS RT-N16 because of it's extended RAM (128MB) and ability to run on 3rd party software- DD WRT http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/index,
I believe it is Gigabit on the LAN and the WAN side too.
Munka

StereoHead
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:37 pm
Location: Pt Cook

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by StereoHead » Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:45 pm

I had an old ethernet router lying around... it works... I think it cost me $40...

if it is just the one PC you dont even need it... you can just use your network card in your PC to dial.

Surfn Chick
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 2:45 pm

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by Surfn Chick » Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:15 pm

I have to purchase a new router in order to network my home computers and use VOIP. The router that Exetel is recommending Netcomm (N300 or NP804n) is not suitable as it doesn't have VOIP.

What I find interesting is that NBN trial is being offered to me in Kiama Downs & Exetel have sent a second email within 3 days of initial email to sign up yet without a router (only my old ADSL2 NB9W) yes I would have fibre but no home network and no voip.

I would prefer if Exetel where to recommend a router.

Your earliest post would be appreciated for me to reply to your sales team.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by jokiin » Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:27 pm

Surfn Chick wrote:I have to purchase a new router in order to network my home computers and use VOIP. The router that Exetel is recommending Netcomm (N300 or NP804n) is not suitable as it doesn't have VOIP.

What I find interesting is that NBN trial is being offered to me in Kiama Downs & Exetel have sent a second email within 3 days of initial email to sign up yet without a router (only my old ADSL2 NB9W) yes I would have fibre but no home network and no voip.

I would prefer if Exetel where to recommend a router.

Your earliest post would be appreciated for me to reply to your sales team.
keep in mind that when you get the NBN trial your existing ADSL2 service is still up and running so you can take advantage of the trial and see if it you're happy with it but still have your existing setup in place for your other PC's, VoIP etc

There are Billion models that are compatible with ADSL and NBN, I'm sure there are others, any that are cable modem compatible would work, I use a Fritz!Box 7390 which is NBN capable, might be over the top for your needs though (they're expensive)

Surfn Chick
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 2:45 pm

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by Surfn Chick » Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:58 pm

Thanks jokiin.

I understand your message.

Thank you for your good advice because it will give me time to have a look at your recommendations.

Reader
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:15 am
Location: Tasmania

Re: What Modem/Router Do I Need For A Fibre Service?

Post by Reader » Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:13 pm

Is there anyone who has successfully used the Netcomm NP802n on fibre?
Two Exetel customers in Scottsdale Tasmania (one of the first NBN towns to be connected) both starting with this model router when the NBN was turned on. Internet dropped out many times each day but they persisted for months because we weren't sure the problem was the router. Replaced the NP802n with Linksys WRT54G2 and connections have been rock solid ever since.

Post Reply