Slow - 100/40Mbps

Services provided via NBN Co, Opticomm, Open Networks, Red Train, LBN Co, and TPG FttB
MatthewC
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:39 pm
Location: Lyndhurst, Victoria

Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by MatthewC » Sun Apr 26, 2015 3:05 pm

Hi

There seems to be a current theme to the forum at the moment and that is the amount of people complaining about slow speeds. Now I myself over the past week have noticed the drastic drop in speeds, it doesn't matter which speed test I conduct I'm getting consistently slow speeds. I'm in Victoria.

Here are a couple of recent tests from today (26/04/2015):
Image
Image

And last week (19/04/2015):
Image

But the speed drop isn't always constant (19/04/2015):
Image

Which leads me to wanting an explanation.

This is an unacceptable drop in quality of service, generally I don't have any issues with Exetel. However without an explanation of why this is happening and to so many customers at once? I don't feel this is an isolated case to specific users, I pay for 100/40 and thats what I expect or very close to it. Can you please look into this? If it was just due to peak times I would expect a slow recovery in speeds but this is either crap speed or normal, something is wrong somewhere..

Thanks

saadbafik
Exetel Staff
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:12 pm
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by saadbafik » Sun Apr 26, 2015 4:38 pm

Hi

I've sent an e-mail with some tests, please complete them and send us the results for further investigation.

Apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Regards,
Saad B

MatthewC
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:39 pm
Location: Lyndhurst, Victoria

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by MatthewC » Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:04 pm

Thank you Saad B. I will conduct the tests and let you know the results, thanks for the speedy service.

MatthewC
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:39 pm
Location: Lyndhurst, Victoria

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by MatthewC » Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:35 pm

Still awaiting a response to my tests, this really is getting ridiculous. Why am I paying so much per month for top speeds when I'm getting less then the lowest plan..

29/04/2015
Image

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by ShaminG » Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:46 pm

MatthewC wrote:Still awaiting a response to my tests, this really is getting ridiculous. Why am I paying so much per month for top speeds when I'm getting less then the lowest plan..

29/04/2015
Image
We apologize for the delay in response. Looking at the test results, I could see the speed is affected during peak time. We will investigate the matter and provide you an update tomorrow.

MatthewC
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:39 pm
Location: Lyndhurst, Victoria

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by MatthewC » Thu Apr 30, 2015 6:42 pm

Received an email today that it has been escalated to your wholesaler, thank you for the email. I look forward to some answers to a normally faultless service.

Thank you
Matt

MatthewC
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:39 pm
Location: Lyndhurst, Victoria

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by MatthewC » Tue May 05, 2015 10:14 pm

Hi

Are there any updates from the wholesale supplier regards to this issue? Ref No. 9056622.

Image

This just seems to be dragging on, I'd normally work from home and it's at the point where I just can't get anything completed. It'll be coming up to a full month soon where the speed has not been up to standard. I don't have time to sit on the phone to check the status of this so either an email or reply in the forum would be appreciated.

Thank you.

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2544
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by KavindaS » Tue May 05, 2015 11:52 pm

MatthewC wrote:Hi

Are there any updates from the wholesale supplier regards to this issue? Ref No. 9056622.

Image

This just seems to be dragging on, I'd normally work from home and it's at the point where I just can't get anything completed. It'll be coming up to a full month soon where the speed has not been up to standard. I don't have time to sit on the phone to check the status of this so either an email or reply in the forum would be appreciated.

Thank you.
Unfortunately supplier status still under investigation. We will follow up and update you once we get their response.

MatthewC
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:39 pm
Location: Lyndhurst, Victoria

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by MatthewC » Mon May 11, 2015 5:20 pm

Image

Still awaiting an update or further information..

ShaminG
Exetel Staff
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by ShaminG » Mon May 11, 2015 7:00 pm

MatthewC wrote:Image

Still awaiting an update or further information..
We will follow up the matter and provide you an update before the close of business tomorrow.

MatthewC
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:39 pm
Location: Lyndhurst, Victoria

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by MatthewC » Thu May 14, 2015 9:00 am

Thank you all for your assistance getting the problem resolved it's very much appreciated :D

johnhennessy
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:20 pm

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by johnhennessy » Mon Nov 23, 2015 8:14 pm

Looks like you had better luck than I did. They just told me to look for another ISP. Still paying for 100/40 and getting 35/35. Welcome to Exetel.
John Hennessy
10yr member in September

MatthewC
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:39 pm
Location: Lyndhurst, Victoria

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by MatthewC » Sun Feb 14, 2016 9:19 pm

Seems silly to start another thread for the same issue cropping up again. Last month I went over my quota so I didn't think too much of it, however I did purchase additional data and the connection was still slow. Now the usage month has reset and I have horrifically slow speed

Results from Exetel speed test.
Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 9.08.53 PM.png
Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 9.08.53 PM.png (83.01 KiB) Viewed 2695 times
Last Result:
Download Speed: 15796 kbps (1974.5 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 38801 kbps (4850.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 17 ms
Jitter: 12 ms
14 February 2016 at 9:08:44 PM AEDT

I've run the test a few times throughout the day and have similar speeds, this is no where near the normally faultless 100/40 Mbps. Can someone please investigate.

Thanks
Matt

Amila Fernando
Forum Admin
Posts: 373
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:59 am
Location: Australia

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by Amila Fernando » Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:31 pm

MatthewC wrote:Seems silly to start another thread for the same issue cropping up again. Last month I went over my quota so I didn't think too much of it, however I did purchase additional data and the connection was still slow. Now the usage month has reset and I have horrifically slow speed

Results from Exetel speed test.
Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 9.08.53 PM.png
Last Result:
Download Speed: 15796 kbps (1974.5 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 38801 kbps (4850.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 17 ms
Jitter: 12 ms
14 February 2016 at 9:08:44 PM AEDT

I've run the test a few times throughout the day and have similar speeds, this is no where near the normally faultless 100/40 Mbps. Can someone please investigate.

Thanks
Matt
Hi Matt,

I have dropped an email to your nominated email, requesting some troubleshooting. Kindly go with the troubleshooting requested and send us the results so we can effectively investigate the incident.
To Log a fault ticket, please click click here or alternatively call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)

=================
Exetel Support Portal
=================

MatthewC
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:39 pm
Location: Lyndhurst, Victoria

Re: Slow - 100/40Mbps

Post by MatthewC » Wed Feb 17, 2016 5:37 pm

Hello Amila

I have replied to your email with the tests. Also just wanted to let you know the Speedtest_Exetel_Mac.sh file didn't work for me as it just opens as a text file. I renamed it to Speedtest_Exetel_Mac.command so it would just run in terminal as you would expect but the file didn't have permissions so I fixed that. Then the file was in a DOS text format which uses carriage return and line feed pairs as their newline characters, Unix text files have the line feed as their newline character so I had to fix that before it would finally run.

Not sure if you've had any issues in the past with it. I can't attach it in the forums but I can send it to you if needed, other wise someone will just need to fix the file for others.

Post Reply